We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mongkok hotel alternative”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Ranked #124 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We encountered this Hotel rather last-Minute and gave it a try - and we were not disappointed! The rooms are small - that is typical for HKG unless you spend a fortune - but well equipped with all the necessary amenities even with ironing facilities. We had Executive Rooms on the 20th floor. Very impressive is the bar at the 30th floor - mainly because of the view and the great Lobster dinner which is very fair priced. Crazy view on Kowloon and partly HKG Island especially beautiful when night kicks in. We all enjoyed the breakfast - but be informed it is not European style. They offer plenty of different stuff, incl. salads, noodles, congee and of course toast, eggs, ham (no cheese!) and deliciously prepared fresh fruit. The Fitness room is XS but ok for an infrequent workout. The Service was very efficient and contrary to other comments they were all very friendly. I have the feeling that the somewhat basic English gets often misinterpreted as unfriendly but we found all the staff friendly and helpful! The Location is quite interesting. It is only a 5 min walk to the next MTR Station (Olympic with direct connection to Kowloon and Tsing Yi to switch to the Airport Express). Plenty of restaurants if you walk around the Hotel - we had twice dinner in a fabulous Restaurant w/o spotting any tourists - only Chinese locals. So if you want to have decent luxury at an affordable price close to real HKG life than you should book your rooms!

Room Tip: Book an Executive room - the rooms have breakfast included and start on floor 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ilike2travel99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (864)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 864 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stayed in this hotel. Loved the deco in lobby and common areas. Small rooms are a normal thing in HK so we didn't expect a bigger one. Room was well equipped and very clean. Despite been small, the room distribution was very clever. The bar on the 30th floor was great and had a nice view.
The one-way shuffle bus is a plus - the hotel location is great - just 5 minute walk to the MTR Olympic station and Olympic shopping centre ( there is a nice food court in there)
Only 2 complaints: the beds were really hard.
we requested a queen sized bed and we got 2 twins instead - we asked the staff to change them and they never did it. As we didn't spend much in the room we didn't bother.
We didn't have any problems with bad smells and the AC like other reviewers. Free wifi in the room worked perfectly fine. Overall we had a good experience. We would stay in this hotel Again!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AlexBrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The bed is comfy, but what's up with all the mirror stripes? It's plain weird and seriously, if the function is to make the room look bigger, put a LARGE mirror and not a thin stripe. A) not functional B) just plain weird

Aircon is noisy, so if you're a light sleeper, better that you switch it off before you go to bed. I was very unlucky with the internet, that network just won't work. The hotel staff are helpful and friendly. Really willing to try to help. Although the first 2 staff failed, but the efforts to try and willingness to help has gone a long way. Thank you for those who has come up to help late at night, appreciated :)

The street across the hotel, Ivy street, is full of cool restaurants. Anything from local HK, Jap to SE Asian food. There's also a 24 hour convenience store. Very convenient.

Okay, getting out of the area isn't so easy. The subway is hard to find, approximately 15min walk (via some buildings + turning left & right etc). Taxi is the way to go (approx HKD35 to TST).

Breakfast is a waste of time. Get yourself across the street and buy some local food or whatever. The choices is far too narrow. E.g. only boiled egg is available (no scramble, no sunny side up etc), zero oatmeal... very basic things that you'd expect when you pay approx USD180 for the room

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank do_rei_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The room was pretty small, but it was very clean, it had all the standard amenities of the Asian hotels, toothbrushes, combs, shower caps, etc for free, it had a large comfy bed. The staffs were very friendly. We will stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb415415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Rosedale is located not too far from Mongkok and the Hotel Shuttle drops you to various spots to enable you to take Metro or other transport. The room was bigger than most other hotels are in HK. The bar on the top floor is cool and the view is awesome. The provided amenities in the room are ideal for the businessman or a tourist. There is Wellcome store, McDonalds etc. nearby. Overall a good experience..

Room Tip: Go the higher floors,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

the hotel is nice but the room is small the front office staff and staff in the restaurant need to put lil bit off smile on their face ..the skyzone is a nice place to chill out and it have a nice view.the room is lil bit small but still cozy ,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prosezine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel was located in Kowloon close to the Olympic MTR station (about 5 minutes walk). The rooms were only small, but I believe that this is not unusual for Hong Kong. The room was clean and tidy and well stocked with toiletries the were refreshed each day.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

Our room came with included breakfast which was adequate, but somewhat limited in variety.

The location was very good, being close to Olympic MTR station. The hotel also provided a one-way shuttle bus to Mong Kok, Harbour City and Kowloon Airport link Station. It was also easy walking distance to the Mong Kok district (about 20 mins).

The bed in the room was very hard and had little softness. If you did not like hard beds, this would be a problem for you.

Overall I would recommend the hotel for a stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 725 in Hong Kong
3,782 reviews
Mong Kok
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
Stanford Hotel Hong Kong
#92 of 725 in Hong Kong
676 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
Silka West Kowloon Hotel
#192 of 725 in Hong Kong
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#115 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,772 reviews
Mong Kok
Lodgewood by L'hotel Mongkok Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Hotel Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Hotel Kowloon

Address: 86 Tai Kok Tsui Road, Hong Kong 00000, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tai Kok Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#103 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £69 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosedale Hotel Kowloon 4*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon is an environmentally friendly designed hotel surrounded by some of Hong Kong's shopping malls, entertainment complexes and famous local markets. Featuring 435 elegant and tastefully decorated rooms and suites with complimentary Wi-Fi and handy smartphone that guests can stay connected while exploring Hong Kong. Health enthusiasts will enjoy the modern fitness room featuring latest equipment opens 24 hours a day. Dining options include Sonata all-day-dining restaurant and SkyZone Deck & Lounge on the 30th floor serving drinks, BBQ and light snacks. The hotel offers strategic access to MTR subway stations and major business locations as well as Hong Kong's tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rosedale Hotel Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing