We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value new hotel -very enjoyable stay in an old part of HK Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Ranked #101 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2012

If you are after a great value hotel on HK Island that is well located to MTR and Airport Express then this new hotel is it. Located in the old part of the Island- this hotel offers exceptional value in an area that is away from the hawkers and hookers of Kowloon.
the rooms are small/compact but really well set up. your stay will be more enjoyable if you are not travelling with huge amounts of luggage.
Public transport is the best way to get around from here.
only about 3 minutes from the A2 exit at Sheung Wan MTR- and it is an easy connection from Airport Express HK to MTR Central then on to Sheung Wan ( just one stop).
Great quality well priced restaurants in the area.
My tarrif includes an " express" breakfast. that mean plastic plates/disposable cups but an absolutetly fine concept which saves cost as reflected in the tarrif.
Broadband is included and good speed. I will certainly be staying here whilst the quality of the stay and current rates are current.

Room Tip: travel light if you want to get around easily.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAMA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,276)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed at hotel during the first week of opening in late Sept and couldn't have chosen a better place. After several visits to Hong Kong I would rate this hotel as excellent value for money when looking for a good location - Tram stop and MTR station (Sheung Wan) both less than 2 mins walk away & only a 5 min walk to start of escalator where you can get to numerous bars and restaurants. From the moment we first set foot in hotel we were greeted by very friendly staff especially Candy on reception who was extremely helpful and always cheerful - just the kind of start you want to your holiday! Our room was very comfortable with queen size bed, large relaxing arm chair (which makes 3rd bed if required), office style chair and small desk area. The bathroom was ample with very large showering area and the room even comes supplied with a small fridge. There are a couple of shops & bars nearby with a seven eleven just round the corner. I would definitely look to use this hotel again on any future visits to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. Harbour is on one side, and the peak hills on the other!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJHigher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at this new hotel for a week during a recent visit to Hong Kong. It's important to judge a hotel by the right benchmarks - it wouldn't be fair to compare this budget hotel to a luxury hotel, for example - and this is one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stayed at.

As the hotel is new, there is some renovation/completion work going on, but this is explained clearly and since it only occurs during the day on weekdays, it caused no inconvenience. The fact the the breakfast is currently being served in the top floor meeting room while the restaurant on the second floor is completed is, if anything, a bonus, since the view from the top floor is so much better.

We appreciated having a refrigerator in the room, a room safe, free wifi throughout the hotel including in the bedrooms (with a strong signal), newspapers at reception - and the cheap well-equipped laundry and ironing room which had a sofa and tv while you wait.
The housekeeping staff provided two complimentary bottles of water every day, which was also appreciated since the tap water in the bathroom was not drinkable. The electric-opening/closing curtains were a fun novelty.

The brand new beds were very comfortable. The staff were helpful and attentive.

We would be happy to use this hotel again in future.

Room Tip: rooms above floor 30 have a better view, but a longer elevator ride.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank airstream77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This hotel has only been open for a few weeks. The rooms are small but well thought out. There is a good work area, and they have complimentary internet access, which is fairly good. The air conditioning works well, but only seems to have two settings - on/off, as it does not seem to stabilize at a set temperature. The only complaint about the room is the night light that is connected to the entry light - you can only have on or the other on. The problem is at night, the night light is on in the entry way, which shines into the bathroom were the shower stall is made of frosted glass. The whole wall lights up with this, making it hard to get to sleep. The solution was to put one of the towels over the night light. Where the hotel falls down is the quality of the complimentary breakfast. This is not very good, and has no variety. After 3 days, I started going to McDonalds (1 block away) for breakfast. The hotel has gone to great lengths to point out that the breakfast is provided by a third party (who happen to run a golf course) and that they have no control or responsibility for the breakfast. That may be, but it does not reflect well on the management of the hotel. I would stay here again if I need to be on the island, but there are a lot of hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harold H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

It was a clean and comfortable place, it was not a large room but it was nice.
Candy receptionist was very helpful when ask for help or assistance. I like the idea it was near the metro station also Hollywood street where all the restaurant and tourist hang out. I would come back again.

Natacha L.
Acossi jeans

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NatachaL-Acossijeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Small HK std hotel rooms, but very budget accommodation just a great location in the real Hong Kong.
No bar fridge or shampoo/conditioner so remember to bring your own.
Paper thin walls & not the most business traveller friendly.
Good for tourists as its near an MRT

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nabonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I stayed only one night at the hotel. It was the one of the best experience I ever had and it was due to friendly reception staff named Candy. She was very helpful explaining the facilities in the hotel, offered me the promotions and also made me sign the membership card. I think that was brilliant for a staff to put efforts in order to promote company products. Defiantly recommend for tourist to stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank U A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,124 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#55 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#158 of 721 in Hong Kong
234 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#97 of 721 in Hong Kong
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Address: 83 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £80 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo be your home away from home for your next visit to Hong Kong. Conveniently located at Sheung Wan, we are close to a number of prosperous areas such as SoHo, Lan Kwai Fong, the Central (the financial hub of Hong Kong), IFC Mall, the Hong Kong & Macau Ferry Terminal as well as the famous Hollywood Road (Antiques Street) and Upper Lascar Row (Cat Street). Travel easily to other parts of the city with 5 mins walk to Sheung Wan MTR station or readily available taxis. All guestrooms are equipped with flat screen TVs, comprehensive TV channels, work desk, complimentary Smart Breakfast & free high-speed Internet access with Wi-Fi. Our Superior Room is located on a high floor & features a Victoria Harbour View. Our hotel has harbour view meeting rooms on the 38 floor and all necessary facilities which serve the needs of commercial clients. Last but not the least, kids under 18 can stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo is the first hotel in the world to achieve four platinum or equivalent of Green awards: (1) LEED new construction by United States Green Building Council (2) BEAM Plus by Hong Kong Green Building Council (3) Green Mark by Singapore Building & Construction Authority (4) Three Star Green Building Label, China - China Green Building Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing