We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Ranked #104 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We stayed here because it's almost brand new, just opened on the 29th of September. The lobby feels 5-star. They give a very good welcome to Priority Club members. Unfortunately, there are not seats at the lobby.

The location is exactly 3.5 minutes by above average walking speed to the entrance of the Sheung Wan MTR station. The location is a very real Hong Kong, not touristy Tsimshatsui. There are a bunch of local eating places around the block, the most popular one is Dimsum Square where even food tours visit. You can also walk 10 minutes to the shopping area of Central.

They gave us a nice floor on the 28th floor with nice building views. The room is very impressive. Despite it's size, the attention to detail is incredible. Great textures, layout, and very modern design. I also like the warm LEd lighting.

This hotel is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a high floor and register with Priority Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John Alexander Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2012

After our flight home to the US was cancelled because of bad weather, we had to move from our expensive initial hotel (Courtyard, which was very nice) and we found this brand new property online. I only wish we'd spent our entire six days here!

The rooms are small but very efficient. The building brags about being LEED certified in energy saving tech, but none of it affects guests' stay (things like motion detector lights in the halls). The rooms are about then size of a cabin on a cruise ship but have everything you need. Hotel also offers do it yourself laundry, a real plus after 2 weeks on the road. Great (free) wi-fi and free breakfast.

The Metro is just a few minutes away, but the one way streets mean you won't find a taxi right in front of the hotel. Views are great from the upper floors and there are plenty of cheap restaurants and convenience stores on the block.

If you're traveling on a budget, give this place a try. The staff is very friendly and helpful and at least the front desk all speak English.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Cameron06820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We loved our stay here. The staff was so helpful and kind right off the bat - especially Candy and Tommy. They went above and beyond to give us the best advice and suggestions for sightseeing/food etc. The hotel is new so it is very clean and modern (especially the bathroom). The breakfast was decent, but the view from the top floor is breathtaking (espeically if its your first time in HK). The only negative thing about the rooms (if you are staying with more than 2 guests) the pull out bed/couch. Terribly uncomfortable. However, i would choose to sleep on that bed 100 more times over being back at work in NYC!

Cab drivers also had a very difficult time trying to find the address of the hotel so remember to take the little business card with the map on it at the front desk!!! (and remember landmarks nearby in case that doesnt help either!)

Thanks for the memories!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RChafetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

Very nice room. Clean and modern. Wrong room number and floor given on check in. Upon check out. Asked about getting a taxi. Told to walk down to main road to flag one down. I would of thought a taxi could have been called for a entrance pick up. I would stay here again. As usual. Hotel prices too expensive in Hk.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cortinatf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

If you are after a great value hotel on HK Island that is well located to MTR and Airport Express then this new hotel is it. Located in the old part of the Island- this hotel offers exceptional value in an area that is away from the hawkers and hookers of Kowloon.
the rooms are small/compact but really well set up. your stay will be more enjoyable if you are not travelling with huge amounts of luggage.
Public transport is the best way to get around from here.
only about 3 minutes from the A2 exit at Sheung Wan MTR- and it is an easy connection from Airport Express HK to MTR Central then on to Sheung Wan ( just one stop).
Great quality well priced restaurants in the area.
My tarrif includes an " express" breakfast. that mean plastic plates/disposable cups but an absolutetly fine concept which saves cost as reflected in the tarrif.
Broadband is included and good speed. I will certainly be staying here whilst the quality of the stay and current rates are current.

Room Tip: travel light if you want to get around easily.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RAMA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Stayed at hotel during the first week of opening in late Sept and couldn't have chosen a better place. After several visits to Hong Kong I would rate this hotel as excellent value for money when looking for a good location - Tram stop and MTR station (Sheung Wan) both less than 2 mins walk away & only a 5 min walk to start of escalator where you can get to numerous bars and restaurants. From the moment we first set foot in hotel we were greeted by very friendly staff especially Candy on reception who was extremely helpful and always cheerful - just the kind of start you want to your holiday! Our room was very comfortable with queen size bed, large relaxing arm chair (which makes 3rd bed if required), office style chair and small desk area. The bathroom was ample with very large showering area and the room even comes supplied with a small fridge. There are a couple of shops & bars nearby with a seven eleven just round the corner. I would definitely look to use this hotel again on any future visits to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view. Harbour is on one side, and the peak hills on the other!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RJHigher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed at this new hotel for a week during a recent visit to Hong Kong. It's important to judge a hotel by the right benchmarks - it wouldn't be fair to compare this budget hotel to a luxury hotel, for example - and this is one of the best Holiday Inn Express hotels we have stayed at.

As the hotel is new, there is some renovation/completion work going on, but this is explained clearly and since it only occurs during the day on weekdays, it caused no inconvenience. The fact the the breakfast is currently being served in the top floor meeting room while the restaurant on the second floor is completed is, if anything, a bonus, since the view from the top floor is so much better.

We appreciated having a refrigerator in the room, a room safe, free wifi throughout the hotel including in the bedrooms (with a strong signal), newspapers at reception - and the cheap well-equipped laundry and ironing room which had a sofa and tv while you wait.
The housekeeping staff provided two complimentary bottles of water every day, which was also appreciated since the tap water in the bathroom was not drinkable. The electric-opening/closing curtains were a fun novelty.

The brand new beds were very comfortable. The staff were helpful and attentive.

We would be happy to use this hotel again in future.

Room Tip: rooms above floor 30 have a better view, but a longer elevator ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank airstream77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,135 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 723 in Hong Kong
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#170 of 723 in Hong Kong
234 reviews
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#95 of 723 in Hong Kong
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Address: 83 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#81 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £82 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo be your home away from home for your next visit to Hong Kong. Conveniently located at Sheung Wan, we are close to a number of prosperous areas such as SoHo, Lan Kwai Fong, the Central (the financial hub of Hong Kong), IFC Mall, the Hong Kong & Macau Ferry Terminal as well as the famous Hollywood Road (Antiques Street) and Upper Lascar Row (Cat Street). Travel easily to other parts of the city with 5 mins walk to Sheung Wan MTR station or readily available taxis. All guestrooms are equipped with flat screen TVs, comprehensive TV channels, work desk, complimentary Smart Breakfast & free high-speed Internet access with Wi-Fi. Our Superior Room is located on a high floor & features a Victoria Harbour View. Our hotel has harbour view meeting rooms on the 38 floor and all necessary facilities which serve the needs of commercial clients. Last but not the least, kids under 18 can stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo is the first hotel in the world to achieve four platinum or equivalent of Green awards: (1) LEED new construction by United States Green Building Council (2) BEAM Plus by Hong Kong Green Building Council (3) Green Mark by Singapore Building & Construction Authority (4) Three Star Green Building Label, China - China Green Building Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing