We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Nearby Hotels
US$207
US$166
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$268
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$514
US$449
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$333
US$273
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$151
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$134
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
US$196
US$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$603
US$410
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$245
US$224
Shangri-La.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Upper House(Hong Kong)
US$673
US$626
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,376)
Filter reviews
1,376 results
Traveller rating
374
766
205
26
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
766
205
26
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssheung wanhi expressdim sum squareself service laundrymacau ferry terminalairport expressthird partylaundry roomwalking distancemtr stationfree breakfasthollywood roadshower doorfrosted glassnoodlesthe breakfast areafree shuttle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
711 - 716 of 1,376 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

My second stay in the hotel for the year and I still enjoyed it!

For the price that I am paying, it's location is superb! Very near to Sheung Wan MTR as well as the pier. Coming from the airport via taxi is convenient as the route consisted mainly expressways which avoided most of the jams.

There are plenty of local food around which is another big plus! For those who craves convenience, just across the road there is a McDonald's, Subway and 7 Eleven.

Though the for a no frills hotel, it has everything that I needed. Free wifi in the whole hotel is another big plus. Got to try the complimentary breakfast this time round and it is of good quality.

Especially loved the bed. Have choice of soft or hard pillows and we have no trouble getting to sleep even on the first night. Will come back again if I visit Hong Kong.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank PCSim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Holiday Inn Express HK Soho for 3 nights for a short getaway. Since the focus of our trip is food and shopping, being so close to Sheung Wan MTR station (less than 5 min walk) is simply superb. With just one stop away from Central, we can reach anyway on HK island and Kowloon without much hassle. It is also within reasonable walking distance to Wellington road where the famous Yung Kee roast goose is located.

Room wise, it is small as expected of any hotel in HK. But what we like is that the bed is firm unlike some hotel beds which are too soft for proper back support. There is also free wifi and breakfast. There is a self operated launderette on 3rd floor too.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on vacation; it was our first time in HK. The hotel is a little difficult to locate and there is now a coffee shop on the corner where the large Holiday Inn sign used to be (the one shown in pictures). Rooms are small but that's to be expected for a value hotel in HK. Breakfast was better than some reviews lead you to believe. Many hotel items, both western and chinese plus coffee, tea and fresh fruit. The moth ball smell in the restaurant is overwhelming, though, and it's generally kept very cold so bring a sweater. We used the self-service laundry once and it was fine. Wifi was good; several English channels on the TV. The name is a bit deceiving as the hotel is not really located in Soho; probably a 10-15 minute walk away. Nonetheless, the train station Sheung Wan is nearby, about a 5 minute walk, so everything in HK is reachable pretty easily. Highly recommend the dim sum place across the street with the black and white sign (sorry don't know the name) and the O cafe in the Ovolo Hotel building about a block away is also good. Plus a 7-11 right across the street so very convenient. We had a high floor with a view of the Harbor (through several sky scrapers) so pretty nice that way. Not sure if we would stay again if we went to HK as there are many many options.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MustLoveDogz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YukiShiu, Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear MustLoveDogz,

Thank you for sharing your satisfaction with us and recognizing our product quality and convenience. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel location while giving a special attention to our breakfast quality.

We hope that we can welcome you back again on your next trip to Hong Kong.

Yours Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Good things about this hotel:
- Hotel is (relatively) new so the overall look and feel is nice.
- Very good location. Just a few minutes walking from IFC shopping mall e.g. Just 2 min walking from Queens Road.
- Service was really nice. Staff helped me for example with my luggage without me having to request help.
- Hotel room was (for Hong Kong standards) relatively big. (Single occupancy/queens size bed).
- Views from higher floors are nice... very metropolitan.
- Hotel is full of camera's which added to a safe feeling.

Factors of minor improvement:
- The breakfast, although rich looking and served, could be a bit more diverse. The taste of breakfast could have also been better.
- The restaurant staff could be a bit more proactive and the overall organization of the restaurant could improve. Sharing tables is not really a problem but the seating process was a bit slow and chaotic.

My previous and recent experience at ANOTHER Holiday Inn (Chelsea, New York, USA) was everything but perfect. But I've regained trust in the IHG group and will remain a member of their loyalty program.

With regards to Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho: I'll certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure to request, when you booking or upon arrival, a high floor room!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTraveler1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Chose this hotel for its location because we were only staying for one night en route to Macau. Turned to be a brilliant choice.

1) Service: Right from the absolutely smooth check-in to the friendly staff directing us to places we needed to get to to any requests for stuff we required in our rooms and even the breakfast service, it was wonderful, no complaints at all.

2) Location: Biggest plus. We walked to LKF to party and walked back. We walked next day morning to the ferry terminal. We walked around the SoHo area to shop for lunch, etc. I walked to IFC for a meeting. I hope you get it. EVERYTHING was walkable.

With HK's brilliant infrastructure, there is a direct bus from the airport to drop you very close to the hotel.

3) Rooms and view: Great rooms, good value for what we paid. And a nice view of the skyline.

All in all, if you're looking for a budget stay, business purpose or as a stopover, definite recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SidShanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews