We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay but don t bank on great breakfast (by a Hol Inn regular)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Ranked #98 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
631 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“Good stay but don t bank on great breakfast (by a Hol Inn regular)”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

HI is not a 4 star hotel chain in the USA which is carried by their sister hotels, Inter continental and other related chains. In Asia, HI has a good brand premium in Asia

Above stated is for dumbing down your expectations as "what you pay is what you pay". For HI space in HK is super premium and expecations are to be compromised unless you wanna to pay US$200 more ie (US$300-400 pn) for the Hyatt or the Shang

Our small room was shrunk further once the sofa was rolled up into single seater, next to the double for the 3 of us. Once unfolded, you hardly have any room to sit and write the writing table.. As for water/harbour views, don t expect any out of your window - you are blocked by older and new high rises

As with every HI (at least most), expect good standard service but mediocre (lousy) breakfast ) eg oily vegan noodles here with sausage /ham(not the gourmet type), weak coffee, orange cordial and not OJ.

Unless you are scrimping, you will need to put up with strangers at breakfast during peak hour (just eat and go).

. If you have deep pockets, head next door to the chinese restaurant named dim sim Square which has yummy dim sum but which will set up easily by HK$180 (US$25+) for 3 pax on 11 dishes of dim sim. Besides dim sim, there are other restaurants eg Macau-nese and malaysian cuisine around the corner..

Above are not meant to dampen your stay and as i m regular with the HI brand/segments world wide this would be my hotel of choice for consistent approach re clean rooms, towels and rewards with free nights.Whatever negatives (including little lobby/waiting room) is compensated by their competitive prices in good locations.

You will save a few bucks more by taking their shuttle from H1 doorway on arrival on the airport express to Hong Kong Station. The snag is standing in a quiet corner outside the hotel exposed to sun and rains as there is no bus shelter. All you need to do as the bus whizzes by and if you are on opposide side of road (corner of hotel), just wave your hands vigorously when you see the bus coming, The drivers are normally good and they know you are a free loading shuttle passenger. .

Have a happy stay at HI.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Highadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    687
    185
    20
    3
See reviews for
234
330
150
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
415 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Although i know not to expect much from a Holiday Inn EXPRESS hotel, this really let me down in a few areas.

I stayed here for three nights over a weekend and the price was from 1,000HKD-1800HKD per night.
The breakfast, although free, was terrible. If you like half cooked runny scrambled eggs then this might be the place for you. The whole breakfast was a disaster. Food was terrible, it wasn't clean, there was not enough room and there was always someone watching you so you would hurry up and eat and get out so they could reset your seat and have someone else sit down. They're lucky this is a free breakfast! Still, they could lift the quality just a touch and it would be a lot better than what it was the 3 mornings i ate here.

The rooms are very small! In the bathroom you can touch the toilet, sink and shower head if you stand in the middle, so dont expect much room in there.

The location is alright. it's close to some of the main streets where there are good plcaes to eat and drink, and its close to LKF where there are many bars and great nightlife.

The reception staff were friendly and they always seemed to have plenty of front reception staff on to handle people checking in and out, well done!

Dont expect anything fancy with this hotel, but its rather cheap if you book in advance. I don't think i would stay here again, there would be better places around, but it was a last minute decision for me.
The beds are so uncomfortable. It felt like you were sleeping on an ironing board!

Maybe time to update the mattresses with something more comfortable perhaps Holiday Inn?

I think overall the hotel could improve with not to much of a change, but for now, its cheap, free (horrible) breakfast, and rather a good location.

Stay at your own risk! ha!

Room Tip: All rooms are small. Not room is a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OzTravels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YukiShiu, Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Oztravels80,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho and taking your valuable time to share your view of experience.

We are glad to know that you were satisfied with our hotel location, such as easy access to Lan Kwai Fong and friendly experiences from front office staff. However, it is our deep regret that we are not able to address certain of your expectation. Please assure that we have taken note and seek for way of improvement. Your comment is vital to us and serves as a catalyst for our moving forward.

We hope you would return in the future to provide us another opportunity to serve you right and better.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
631 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Positives

Location near to Taipei Station *which is conveniently near to the Metro (150m) , Airport Bus Terminal (150 m) and Ximenting (15 mins easy walk). Fast local, western and Japanese food outlooks all around.

Service is good but reception should not offer airport transfer at NT1300 (unless asked) when it costs NT$900 by normal cab you can find across the street. Don t for the sake of a commission leave an impression of 'cheat !" for us to take home as nobody likes to be rip off. However on the next the conceige was able to offer advice how to go to the airport terminal by express airport bus for NT$ 135 (snag if you got big luggages you may be a cab to ferry you a 100 meter away

As for the hotel, very chic indeed and the 3 persons room was absolutely spacious and the double bed gigantic.

I like the wooden floors (carpets are not the vogue in Asia except 5 star hotels).

Negatives ?

There were no wardrobe as such and if you have a long gown or trousers whom do you hang these.

There are no window (so if you are claustrophobic being forewarn) so there is no view to the outside world.

Bathroom glass panels are translucent and if you got a prude and have young children, you can pull down the blinds

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I loved the location of this hotel - the local area is buzzing with authentic Chinese retailers, antique stalls, bars and restaurants, and it's only a short walk from the MTR and ferry ports. The room was relatively small but not, I believe, that small by Hong Kong standards! Our room on the 27th floor had a view of the harbour between two buildings. The twin beds were comfortable and the air conditioning effective. The bathroom is small but the shower was decent. I didn't partake in the breakfast but it looked perfectly sufficient - basic and limited but given that it's included in the room rate wouldn't expect anything different. Given the location and reasonable price I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone looking for a great value base in HK.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piglet-Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghaziabad
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

very comfortable locale, all good restaurants are near by .
free wifi and internet is good.
Breakfast is little disappointing . can have food more suited to so many indians visiting .
staff and service is excellent . all my requets were attended in less than 5 minutes .
douglas at reception was great .

Room Tip: try and ask them for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel is near the 上環 MRT station. We can walk to the hotel about 5 mins. If you go the Hong Kong Island by airport express. You can also take the shuttle bus of H1 line (blue) to Hotel. And it is free due to the airport express ticket. The Hotel lobby and restaurant is a little small. If the weather is raining, you maybe got to line up for a while. But the breakfast is good. The standard room is a bit of small, but very cleanliness. Just like the other Holiday Inn Express Hotel in other countries. I had a good stay.

Room Tip: The room in High level has a great view! Especially, the odd number room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REICHENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had superior a room with a harbour view. Good wifi, comfy bed, good shower, 7-11 opposite, lots of food/places for a drink in same street and nearby. Welcome supermarket is next street over. Sheung Wan MTR is close. Breakfast wasn't all that memorable. Great Thai restaurant in same building. They were happy to look after our luggage for the day after check out.

Room Tip: Superior with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#34 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,083 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Sheung Wan Hotel
#95 of 718 in Hong Kong
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#53 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,138 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Hollywood
Butterfly on Hollywood
#92 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,672 reviews
Sheung Wan
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
The Bauhinia Hotel - Central
#159 of 718 in Hong Kong
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Address: 83 Jervois Street, Sheung Wan, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#82 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo be your home away from home for your next visit to Hong Kong. Conveniently located at Sheung Wan, we are close to a number of prosperous areas such as SoHo, Lan Kwai Fong, the Central (the financial hub of Hong Kong), IFC Mall, the Hong Kong & Macau Ferry Terminal as well as the famous Hollywood Road (Antiques Street) and Upper Lascar Row (Cat Street). Travel easily to other parts of the city with 5 mins walk to Sheung Wan MTR station or readily available taxis. All guestrooms are equipped with flat screen TVs, comprehensive TV channels, work desk, complimentary Smart Breakfast & free high-speed Internet access with Wi-Fi. Our Superior Room is located on a high floor & features a Victoria Harbour View. Our hotel has harbour view meeting rooms on the 38 floor and all necessary facilities which serve the needs of commercial clients. Last but not the least, kids under 18 can stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong SoHo is the first hotel in the world to achieve four platinum or equivalent of Green awards: (1) LEED new construction by United States Green Building Council (2) BEAM Plus by Hong Kong Green Building Council (3) Green Mark by Singapore Building & Construction Authority (4) Three Star Green Building Label, China - China Green Building Council. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing