We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Nearby Hotels
The Upper House(Hong Kong)
US$701
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Peninsula Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$936
US$684
The Peninsula
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
US$592
US$547
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$917
US$785
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$293
US$231
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$675
US$413
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$643
US$571
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$365
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
US$317
US$216
Hotel Direct
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,375)
Filter reviews
1,375 results
Traveller rating
374
766
205
25
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
766
205
25
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssheung wanhi expressdim sum squareself service laundrymacau ferry terminalairport expressthird partylaundry roomwalking distancemtr stationfree breakfasthollywood roadshower doorfrosted glassnoodlesthe breakfast areafree shuttle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
594 - 599 of 1,375 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is pretty spot on for a short city break in Hong Kong. The design of hotel including all common areas and the bedrooms is modern and clean looking. Staff are ok on front desk - pretty courteous and helpful but could possibly smile a bit more. Good news is the lobby smells amazing - like a lot of the big lobbies in HK hotels or businesses!
Beds are very comfortable and although rooms are small, they are pretty cozy. Views from my room were awesome - definitely go for Harbour View.
Forget about eating breakfast here - why would you bother in HK where there is food on every corner and there are numerous Dai Pai Dong near hotel for brekkie noodles!
Overall value for money is really good here as the hotel does everything it needs to and the location puts you in the heart of everything with many things in walking distance. I would stay again definitely.

Room Tip: Go for a harbour view room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
3  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Holiday Inn Express is a nice, modern hotel with all the basics covered. The location is good, near Central. For going to Lan Kwai Fung area, either take a 10-15 walk or hop one station by MTR.
Rooms are clean, modest, good shower, aircon. Personally I don't fancy the bathroom design where it is only separated from the main room by a milky glass wall. The bed is good, but hard for my preference. The three elevators have trouble coping with the morning traffic. We were on the 30th floor and had to wait quite awhile before we could ride them down going to breakfast on 2nd floor. Good is free and unlimited wifi. Just connect to the router and you are on. No limitations and no password troubles.
Breakfast is OK, but during our stay quite crowded, with waiting lines for 10 minutes or so. The air conditioned area is always full and there is an outside terrace as fall back. In summer quite hot. I find the overall price quite steep. Having lived in Hong Kong for 7 years, I prefer the TST area for almost anything (bars, dining, shopping) and hotels are cheaper there with similar level of services. The MTR brings you across the Harbour in 10 minutes anyways for any activity on the Island. We took taxi service to the hotel from airport. It costs us 320hkd, including the tunnel fees. Alternatively you can take the airport express. For two people that costs 220hkd. But still you would need to walk from Central station to hotel or pay for a small taxi ride. Staff was prompt and friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ErikHK28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIESoho, Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear ErikHK28,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to comment on our hotel and giving great and fair commentaries of our product.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed quite a number of our services and attributes, such as convenient location, free wifi, helpfulness of our operation departments and easy accessibility to airport. Whereas, we are sorry to hear that some of our parts are not up to your expectation. This is definitely what we are working on it, such as lifts’ travelling pattern and value. We wish to thank you for your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future so that we could have the opportunity to demonstrate our improvement to you.

Best Regards,
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Soho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel was perfect for sightseeing in Hong Kong. We had 3 people in a standard queen room w/sofa bed. The sofa bed was about as wide as a cot and not incredibly comfortable, but it worked. The room was small, of course, but we had plenty of room for our suitcases even with the sofa bed extended. The hotel staff was great - very helpful and accommodating. One day, the housekeeping staff accidentally broke my mom's razor. It was not an expensive one and we may not have even noticed, but the staff immediately went out and purchased an even nicer replacement and apologized profusely. The replacement razor was there before we even knew ours was broken! I was very impressed.

Breakfast each day was great - I did not expect much from reading previous reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. There were plenty of options and the food was always good.

The hotel is ideally located near the Sheung Wan MTR station, walking distance from many restaurants, bars, and shopping.

A few (small) drawbacks - I wouldn't recommend this hotel (at least the standard queen room) unless you are totally comfortable with those you are staying with. The bathroom walls were translucent, which was a bit awkward. Also, we wished there was a pool to cool down in after walking around the hot city!

All in all, it was an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ginnyh4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights at the end of June and it ticks all these boxes:
- great price which includes daily breakfast
- great location on HK island
- easily accessible by airport express and free shuttle
- close distance to Sheung Wan MTR station
- service was excellent: staffs fixed mistakes straight away
- staffs were all friendly with smiles and helpful to provide any needed information
- room wasn't too small and has everything we need including adaptor, fridge, safe, good tea/coffee making facility, and most importantly, everything was clean
- hot water in the shower was available in two seconds!
Additional point: there is a laundry shop around the corner outside the hotel which offers really cheap laundry service.
We will definitely stay here again when we visit HK!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Their staff are helpful and efficient at all levels. Breakfast is busy and plentiful. The location is quiet and really convenient. The airport bus/train stop is at the hotel. The laundry facilities are good but we used the local dry cleaner for a bag wash. We had no time to wash and waste time.
I'll be going back there next time.

Room Tip: none. The rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank velogiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews