We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time staying at HI Express and it just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Ranked #83 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Macau, Ilhas, Macau
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First time staying at HI Express and it just perfect!”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

I booked this hotel for my short trip to Hong Kong. I am staying there as a GOLD member using my Rewards night. The hotel is quite far from the town center but very convenience as the "MTR Tseung Kwan O station" is just right at the hotel basement.

Check in staff is excellent, he greeted me by name after acknowledged that i am their member. The room is well prepared even i am check in early than a normal check in time mentioned. The problem is i did made a reservation for a Twin bedroom through the website because i can't find the king bed. I just realized that the hotel have no king bed but queen size bed instead. I ask for a change to queen bed and it take just a few minute to get the new room. Excellent staff.

The room i got is a partial sea view room, love it!! Room not small as i expected clean, colorful and comfortable. There are two type of pillow placed on the bed, firm and soft. It's another detail that i like, i just have a great sleep.

As a member i get complimentary breakfast. However, i was too lazy to wake up for breakfast just my friend who enjoying it.

Overall, apart of the distance from town center, the rest is just excellent. Brand new, good for escape from crowded city but you may not love it if you have only short time in Hong Kong. Good for tourist which not in a rush!!


I love its green and colorful in the room. Will back to this hotel again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mister_AaR0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    273
    84
    13
    9
See reviews for
130
157
65
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I am actually going to stay here for the second time this weekend. It sounds as if this place is far away from Hong Kong, but its not too bad. Its new and very clean. The service was what really amazed me though, the people were so polite and kind. I would recommend for anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepoetictraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

According to the staff, the hotel has been open less than six month. It is one of the few reasonably priced hotels in Hong Kong. The hotel, as noted in other reviews, is attached to an upscale shopping mall with direct access to the MTR. It was a good place to stay while exploring HKG. 30 minutes from Causeway Bay and Golden Mile about an hour from airport. Staff was great, very friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there on next trip to HKG.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomt48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Very good property with direct access to the adjacent mall and the MTR station under the mall. This is one place which allows you to move around anywhere in the city without spending a dollar on the Taxi.

On the 19th floor he view was good and the staff is extra polite and very friendly, one will fall in love with the courtesy extended.

Room Tip: Look for the sea view rooms, they may cost a little extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandix69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
239 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Booked the hotel because a friend is also staying in the same hotel. Location is 30 minutes away from Mongkok by MTR, an hour away from the airport. Enjoyed my stay at the hotel , breakfast could use a good variety of choices and hopefully , a 24 hour convenience store within the hotel after the shops closes at Popcorn and Edge mall. Away from the hustle and bustle of TST , but close enough to shopping in Kwun Tong and Kowloon Bay. If you want a quiet time away from the usual crowd of HK , then this hotel is for you. I would stay here again if I want to a chill-out time in Hong Kong ! I have to make special mention that when we had a medical emergency in the middle of the night , the front desk staff we're very helpful and adept in what to do, what hospital to go to , and got us a cab for the ride to the hospital. Very commendable service !

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors always command a good view of the housing complexes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DauphinJonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

The staff at the hotel is so obedient and warm that you would feel yourself at home. The service extended by the staff members is very warm. The whole ambience at the hotel right from reception area timm rooms is awesome.

Room Tip: Corner and Higher Floor Rooms are always welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulandarneja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Recently opened, so everything looks new. Views out of the hotel on the sea side are pretty good. Rooms are larger than the usual Hong Kong hotel rooms, even the other HI Express. Breakfast is usual HI Express type, but here there is no buffet. There are breakfast sets and you are handed a tray with a plate of what you asked for, juice and tea/coffee.

Atop MTR Station - Popcorn Mall which makes it convenient to walk through with your luggage, but you need to change trains (get out of one and walk in to another) at North Point and then at Central/Hong Kong Station for the Airport Express. Has Bus Station next door and the bus ride to airport is about 45 minutes after every 30 minutes or so. Thus, connectivity is pretty good even though the hotel is about 30 minutes subway journey to Central. Night buses at a lower frequency can get you back to the hotel if stalled in the city for some reason.

Given that there isn't a big difference in room cost with HIE Soho it might not make sense to stay here wasting time traveling in to the city at work on a normal Hong Kong day. On special event days in Hong Kong, the other HIE at Soho becomes a lot more expensive and it would make sense to stay here if the difference goes beyond HKD 300 and upwards.

Crown Plaza is next door, Popcorn mall is connected with 3 other malls and normally all the usual brands for shopping are available and so are Jusco, Park 'b' Shop, etc. Food and eats and many restaurants in these malls including bakery and convenience stores.

All and all nice for a business stay, not sure if it is going to be great for families wanting to go around Hong Kong with a scanner.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tourbador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#71 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#60 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
#66 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Address: Tower 4, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan, Kowloon, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find reliability and comfort at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East.The new Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East offers you sincere service and attractive facilities, all at a great value.We are conveniently located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn shopping mall. Just minutes drive from many of Hong Kong's famed shopping and leisure venues, 20 minutes from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) and a short 45-minute drive from Hong Kong International Airport Travelling to other parts of the city is easy and swift.Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing