We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many Chinese tourists and poor toilets and loud air-conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Ranked #83 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too many Chinese tourists and poor toilets and loud air-conditioning”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel is supposed to be brand new when I first stayed there but there were so many problems with the hotel:

The toilet won't stop flushing if you hit the lid by mistake;
The air conditioning is loud;
You can smell cigarette in a non-smoking room;

Also the hotel was populated by Chinese group tourists that a lot of the extras such as travel adapter and laundry bags - and they can be really noisy and disturbing. I heard door slamming and kids singing and running out loud in the corridor.

The free breakfast is not a buffet - it's a set. It's actually taste very nice - it's good if you are in a hurry.

I don't think I'm willing to pay more than HKD 800 for something like this.

Room Tip: Check your room before settling in. If you can't tolerate cigarette smell, get a room on 23rd fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPHBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Dear CPHBear

Thank you for sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East. Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the inconvenience you encountered while staying with us.

Regarding the non-stop flushing and the noise generated from the air conditioning, we have already rectified the problems with our technicians. We also reminded our housekeeping staff to pay attention the smell of cigarette in non-smoking rooms when servicing the rooms.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    279
    85
    14
    9
See reviews for
132
159
70
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
guangzhou
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel is great if you have time to spend on the metro and you are not in the rush. The rooms are clean and big, the service is fine the price is good for HK. But you must spend min half an hour to get into town. Around the hotel there is not mutch to do. The "seaview" is basically means when you look out from your window you can see the sea in between two residental tower so dont go there for the view either. The breakfast is a disgrace. All together I can only recommend this hotel for people who go to HK often, need a clean room to sleep in and thats all.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsofiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Zsofiaw

Thank you for your valuable time on sharing your experience at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East. We are glad to hear that you are satisfied with our rooms, service and pricing.

Our hotel is located atop MTR Tseung Kwan O station, we provide an easy starting point to travel freely around the city, only takes 20 minutes to reach Causeway Bay. There are 3 shopping malls nearby the hotel, also only a 20-minute drive to Sai Kung town for a fresh seafood lunch, dinner or boat cruise, and many more surrounding areas are worth to visit.

Please accept our sincere apologies with regards to the breakfast experience you encountered. We understand that it was not up to your expectation. The set breakfast is to offer travelers an uncomplicated breakfast experience at good value. Please rest assured that we are reviewing the breakfast with the restaurant management and currently working on improving our breakfast experience.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Best regards
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Holiday Inn Express Kowloon East came up when I was confused selecting Hotel for my visit to HK this early April. Read about other comments saying about small room, but when I was arrived there, the room is considering spacious in my opinion compare to other Hong Kong Hotels at the same price. There are soft and firm pillow in bed. Clean and almost no smell of cigarette in room, even though my room is on smoking floor due to no more non-smoking room available when I was there. Bathroom is clean and fresh with complete amenities, and if it didn't you could ask Hotel staff to deliver any incomplete item to your room (there was no mineral water on my 2nd day and they delivered those in 5 minutes without much difficulty). The Receptionists are also helpful and efficient. Those are what made me happy with my choice to stay in this Hotel. There are also Lift with direct access to Pop Corn Mall below and MTR station is within walking distance from the Mall. The location is also nice, if you don't like the frenetic of HK cities, and wish for good night sleep, this place is just perfect for you. Breakfast come with 4 choices of set menu: Western, Chinese, Healthy and Vegetarian Menu. It would be a bit boring for you who stay more than 4 nights, hope they can improve on that...Overall my stay was wonderful, would plan to stay here again when I visit Hong Kong.

Room Tip: ask for higher level of rooms if you want better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nency P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MELBOURNE
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Nice room with good bed and clean but small but effective bathroom. Breakfast is a bit average but love the free wi-fi and good access to MTR but this hotel is along way from just about everything - but nice price , nice room , nice staff

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicTRIPvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Stayed here in March and the location was super convenient! 3 mins walk to the popcorn mall that connects 2 other shopping centres and 5 mins to the MTR station. The only draw back is that the room is a bit small and the bathroom sink area is kinda tiny. Would be good if Holiday Inn Express can have king size beds. I wouldn't mind paying a bit more :) not to mention, they have free breakkie which is gd!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittydia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Stayed at this location bewteen March 26- April 05. Loved the direct access to the Popcorn mall and Tseung Kwan O MTR station. I've been staying at various hotels in Hong Kong, and probably I feel this Holiday Inn is one of the more satisfying stays I've had. The rooms feel really fresh and spacious... very comfortable stay. This location does not provide any in room amenities such as: shower and bath gel and refridgerator. Although it wasn't a big issue to me, but these little details may be significant to others. But I would prefer to have a fridge in my room. Holiday Inn by standard in the United States offers buffet breakfast, at this location in Hong Kong it offered set meals. We were given vouchers to redeem for breakfast each morning, although never happened to wake up early enough each morning. One thing it probably irritated me was that, one morning a foreigner guest was having breakfast in the restaurant, alongside with her meal she asked for a dish of fruits that was served. Therefore I thought it was okay for me to ask for a plate of fruits as my partner would've appreciated it. The server advised me that my voucher was only valid for one set, and fruits wouldn't be part of it. I understood that totally, but I was dissapointed to see inconsistency within their service. I value very customer service very much as myself, I work in the travel service industry as well. Overall, the stay was nice and comfortable and at a Hong Kong standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daaaviddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ichikawa, Japan
Level Contributor
185 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

This hotel is located in now developing suburb of Kowloon. It is situated above a shopping mall. And number of malls are connected by air conditioned bridge. You can buy all of the goods in the city except high end branded items.
Staffs are trained very well. They are able to satisfy your needs and more.
Since hotel is new, rooms are very clean and efficiently made. But my room had no fridge.
As HI Express, you get a free breakfast but at this hotel you have to choose from 4 prefixed breakfast menus. I was not impressed with this system. I would prefer more choice.

I recommend this hotel to anybody that has business on Kowloon side.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NineDragons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
Metropark Hotel Mongkok
#27 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,159 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
411 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Address: Tower 4, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan, Kowloon, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find reliability and comfort at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East.The new Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East offers you sincere service and attractive facilities, all at a great value.We are conveniently located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn shopping mall. Just minutes drive from many of Hong Kong's famed shopping and leisure venues, 20 minutes from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) and a short 45-minute drive from Hong Kong International Airport Travelling to other parts of the city is easy and swift.Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing