We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent, clean and safe place to stay while in Hk” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Ranked #86 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent, clean and safe place to stay while in Hk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is about an hour form the airport though it is easily accessible by MTR or bus. The lobby is very simple but clean looking. Front desk staff are pleasant far cry from some of the locals we met along the way. Room is simple but clean with the basics. We stayed in a triple sharing room, which had 3 single beds and amenities good for three. It is a haven after a long trip around the city. Breakfast was served in one of the available function rooms in Crown Plaza.Breakfast is just the basics nothing to look forward too. Service is so-so. They changed around 2 items on the 2nd day but the rest of the choices were the same( congee, hard boiled egg, sausage and fried rice). Check -out was a breeze, the check-out staff were very helpful although we were given wrong information which caused us to waste around 2 hours of our time.Overall, it's a decent place to stay while in Hong kong. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank run_the_world00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    263
    81
    13
    9
See reviews for
121
151
62
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Great hotel, great value for money.

As a hotel its very good and spacious room. Breakfast is fabulous and even vegetarians can find variety for breakfast.

The only pain is its far from all the major tourist attractions and you will spend considerable time in local travel. But, good part is hotl is attached to MTR station and hence MTR station is just integral part of the complex. But, it is far from all tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel, if you can get Ibis hotel Central and Sheung Wan at better price, as Ibis is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myselfHyderabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

First time we stayed here several months ago, I enjoyed the cleaness of the place and the comfortable beds. Breakfast was paid extra back then, but not great. I ended up writing a comment to the hotel, which was answered personally by its manager (Mr. Carlos Souza). It consisted basically about some points I thought it was worth looking, such as a weird herb smell on the walkways whenever the cleaning staff was around, and water leaking from the shower areas into the bedroom carpet.

Being reasonably priced and very well located, just above a mall and a MTR (subway/underground), I decided to try it once again, this time two rooms, for me and a friend who is visiting. The weird herbal smell is clearly gone, at least on the 23rd floor. The shower area still leaks into the bathroom and into the bedroom carpet, which is clearly a design flaw from the area, but nothing has been developed to get that changed.

This time around, breakfast was included in the price, no longer paid separate, which is supposedly always welcome considering how much it costs to eat out in HK. Boy, was I wrong? I got to the breakfast area and I was stunned by a "ballroom" filled with people, not enough seats, not enough food, NO PLATES, NO SPOONS, dirty trays, dirty tables, dirty floor, nearly no staff... Nightmare.

I've had better breakfast venues in US$10 inns in Thailand and Laos, and I eat better, more comfortable in fast food like McDonald's. I left there hungry and angry (both come together), and asked the reception if I had paid extra for that waste of time. They truthfully told no, this is now included in the price, and they are not the ones providing breakfast, it's served by the nearby associated hotel Crowne Plaza. I do not know the relation between them, but I urge Holiday Inn to either make them fix breakfast properly, or make it themselves decently. Alternatively just cancel breakfast so people don't have to go through that horrible experience right after a well deserved night of sleep and before going into business or leisure for the day. It did ruin my morning and might spoil other's stay as well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank LeoViotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear LeoViotti

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies regarding your breakfast experience. Both Crowne Plaza and Holiday Inn Express are operated by the same management team, due to the limited space in Holiday Inn Express, we have shifted the breakfast to Crowne Plaza and served as a simple buffet for a more pleasant dining experience. Alternatively all in house guests can enjoy a discount at Crowne Plaza’s full breakfast buffet at HK$138. We will take your feedback into account and will further review the breakfast experience.
Regarding the water leaking from shower areas into bedroom carpet, it will be rectified by installing glass gasket to the bathroom door in all guest rooms.

Again, thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Hotel is well situated with an access to the underground Tseung Kwan O , Pretty much connects you with the whole city , a bit far from Hong Kong Island tho , Nice rooms , Fully Equipped , The internet wasn't that great as it kept disconnecting , Good Staff Helpful and Friendly , For the Breakfast it was absolutely appalling just basic Chinese breakfast had to stick to butter and jam . all in all the stay there was Ok not that great to be honest

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherif K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very nice hotel but it's more accurate to state it is located in the New Territory, far from Kowloon and nearly an hour to the airport by taxi, multiple stops by subway. Cool high-end shopping mall under the hotel. The modest bay view may soon disappear with the construction of another skyscraper a short distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimHallPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear TimHallPDX

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Our hotel is located atop MTR Tseung Kwan O station, only 20 minutes to Causeway Bay and 30 minutes to Tsim Sha Tsui and Mongkok for travelling around the city. Alternatively taxis will be an option which can shorten your journey at a reasonable price. For airport transportation, you may take airport bus E22A to hotel at HK$24 or Airport Express to Kowloon Station then taxi which take an hour and cost around HK$200. A 45-minute taxi will cost around $350 and the journey will be similar to other city hotels.,

We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Best regards
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel located in Tseung Kwan O, if you have no problem with your time travel, sure I recommend this hotel. The room is spotless, bed is also comfortable. Breakfast is very variety.
Wifi is very fast. I asked an adapter for charging and the staff was very helpful gave us one. Overall It was a very satisfying stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Georgia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Hats off to the Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East!!! My co-worker and I stayed here while visiting Disneyland Hong Kong. We were there for three nights and four days. It was SO easy to find the subway (you stay just above it). The rooms were cleaned and the staff was very cordial and above all they speak ENGLISH! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Will definitely consider them when bringing my family back to Hong Kong. The location at the mall is a wonderful idea!!!! Great marketing strategy!!!! Well done!!!

Room Tip: While the hotel is beautiful, do your homework before arriving. If you aren't use to taking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Berniece T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Mong Kok
Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Mongkok
Sheung Wan
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG SOHO
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ovolo Aberdeen Harbour
#60 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
pentahotel Hong Kong, Kowloon
#66 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#58 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Property: Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST
Address: Tower 4, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan, Kowloon, Hong Kong 00000, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#85 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find reliability and comfort at Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East.The new Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East offers you sincere service and attractive facilities, all at a great value.We are conveniently located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn shopping mall. Just minutes drive from many of Hong Kong's famed shopping and leisure venues, 20 minutes from Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC) and a short 45-minute drive from Hong Kong International Airport Travelling to other parts of the city is easy and swift.Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Holiday Inn Express Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Southall Travel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express HONG KONG KOWLOON EAST

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing