We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East
Ranked #48 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful Oasis”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

As a first-time visitor to this part of the world, I was a bit overwhelmed by the traffic, noise, and sea of humanity that greeted me as I left the airport and sped from one end of the island to the other in a taxi. Arriving at the Crowne Plaza, I felt as if I had arrived at an oasis of calm and efficiency. Our room was ultra modern and fully appointed. My favorite spot was the Rooftop Bar where we ended our busy days sipping champagne and marveling at the spectacular view of the city lights and the bay. A most memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    730
    469
    67
    21
    14
See reviews for
274
380
112
308
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf/Germany
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

.... because of the excellent service, friendly staff, the large rooms, comfortable beds as well as the hotels infrastructure and efficient MTR link. Public transport to and from the hotel is about as fast as by taxi, but much cheaper. Super the view from 'Heaven'(Cielo), the Italian Restaurant on the 47th floor, and very convenient, the nice, clean swimming pool which was closed during our first stay in this hotel earlier this year.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilf40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Despite a bit of a distant location (trip from the airport using public transportation takes around one hour), Crowne Plaza is an excellent choice for both business and pleasure. It is practically "glued" to a shopping center and a MTR train station. Moving around Hongkong by train is extremely easy: while on the train the passenger is notified on the current location and the next station at all times.
Trains might be a bit overcrowded during rush hour, but if you travel light or you used the city check-in option (excellent service), it is surely the fastest and most convenient way to travel.
We booked a special"club" room, which included lots of benefits like complimentary breakfast, free drinks around noon, free afternoon tea and evening cocktails accompanied by food (cold buffet)and a late check out.
The staff was really helpful and very kind-they made us feel welcome there.
Our room was located on the 41 floor and the view from the window was really cool, for a person not afraid of heights
The room had everything a traveller needs, from a hairdryer to a big flat screen TV. The bed was really comfortable and the walls sound proof!

The hotel has a nicely equipped gym and a swimming pool, definitely worth popping by after a long trip.

The breakfast was also really good, with lots of choices of Asian warm foods.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Room is very nicely furnished especially the ambience of the bathroom.
Hotel is connected to a MTR station shopping mall. Mall selection is fairly good -MTR Mall quality type of stores, but still, pretty nice, especially considering that there are lots of restaurants and food outlets in the mall.
A bit far from the tourist shopping areas in Kowloon ( need transfer on the MTR lines) but is relatively convenient to take another MTR line to all Hong along Island stations.
If you are cabbing to the hotel from the airport, it can be expensive - in Hong Kong price point, but ok if you are used to paying North American cab fare from the airport. Can get there via MTR but will need 2 to 3 transfers ( you can go almost everywhere in Hong Kong along by MTR as their rapid system is extensive. You just need to buy an Octopus Card at the airport and you can use it on all modes of transportation and even pay for items at the 7-11, which awe everywhere including at every MTR Station. you can top it up easily us ing the machines at the station using either cash or credit.)
The only 2 things I don't like are the restaurants in the hotel. They have a formal restaurant at the hotel but if is quite pricey, I paid HK$900 for a good size steamed grouper ( about $120 Canadian). The dinner costed us CAN$600+ for a party of 9). Fish was tasty but the rest were just ok - not worth the money. Could have better food at the MAtR Mall restaurants for less than half the price. Service was good though.
Their breakfast / lunch restaurant area is very large bug the ambience was not that great. It got very, very noisy as it approached lunch period. I was trying to have a relaxing late breakfast while catching up on my emails. Too noisy to really enjoy myself. Service was not good.
We will stay at this hotel again. However, we will definitely NOT go to any one of the hotel restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in the crown midpoint east , rooms are very well equipped , very nice bed and super bathroom , everything works out great , gym,pool all very. Convenient , hotel is on top of a mall so if you want to travel by subway do it cheap and quick into dazzling Hong Kong
2 minors , if you need a late checkout it's pricey, 600+ for 3 hours , had a business meeting so I needed a few hours more , that influence my choose the next time , service level is not high , they are counting top dollar
Minor 2 , no free wi-fi , even not in the lobby , sorry people , that is not from this planet to rip people for internet , a business hotel should accommodate and deliver full pacage service , guess I go back to my last a dress in Hong Kong next month
Gr Pete

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos S, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Peter A

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our guestroom and facilities.

Regarding wifi service, we provide wired and wireless broadband internet access in our guestroom at HK$100 for 24 hours, which valid up to 5 connections per room. And free wifi service is provided at hotel lobby. You may sign up as IHG@ Rewards Club members to enjoy free internet and complimentary extended check-out on your next visit. Please note late check-out subject to availability.

We hope to have another opportunity for us to renew your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Location: This hotel is not located in one of the places that are considered to be prime or central by HK standards. It is a bit out of the way in a sense, located in Tseung Kwon O. That said, I think that is where the negatives end. The hotel is right next to an MTR line so you can easily to get to any place from this hotel (the bus stop is also right there if you fancy taking the bus). It is also adjacent to the Popcorn Mall which makes shopping for food and other stuff to be quite easy and convenient.

Hotel: Because it is not located that centrally, it is not premium real estate so the rooms are really nice and spacious. The service is quite good as well. The pool is a big 25m one. The sauna and steam room are also really nice.

Food: Aside from the many options at the Popcorn mall, the hotel has restaurant options. Given the nice hotel, I found the food is overpriced. But the quality is good. The bar on the top floor is really nice. In the late evenings, it is a great place for a drink.

Service: The staff is generally quite friendly and helpful. They speak English well enough so it is easy enough for foreigners to get by.

Overall, I think this is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for four nights and loved our time here. The staff were friendly and engaging, the room was huge with a massive panoramic window, and it was incredibly well appointed. I can easily endorse the various awards it has been given.

There were no problems on check in, the restaurant has a huge variety of food, and by the second morning the staff knew our coffee preferences. The cocktail bar "Cielo" on the 47th floor displayed even more customer focus, as well as exciting views over the cityscape.

The lobby opens almost onto the Metro station, so getting there was never a problem; all queries were received with a smile and genuine warmth. If all hotels were this good, Trip Advisor would be redundant !!!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, as high up as possible for your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeBrownsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
Hotel Madera Hong Kong
#29 of 718 in Hong Kong
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Park Hotel
#51 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#28 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,841 reviews
Kwun Tong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
Dorsett Kwun Tong, Hong Kong
#67 of 718 in Hong Kong
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Property: Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East
Address: Tower 5, 3 Tong Tak Street, Tseung Kwan O, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#19 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#24 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#31 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#46 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East 4.5*
Number of rooms: 359
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the contemporary Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East. The spectacular Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East is an international hotel located atop Tseung Kwan O MTR Station and PopCorn Shopping Mall, providing an easy starting point to travel freely around the city. The hotel is just 20 minutes to Hong Kong Convention and Exhibition Centre (HKCEC). If in a leisurely mood, visit Sai Kung town for a fresh seafood lunch overlooking the beautiful South China Sea. All 359 guest rooms offers excellent city views, dining choices range from the all day dining buffet restaurant to Cantonese dining and a roof-top Italian restaurant. Hi-tech connectivity makes it easy to stay in touch with business associates, friends and family. Fitness center and a soothing spa featuring seven private treatment rooms will make you feel rejuvenated and restored. Enjoy a 25-meter outdoor swimming pool (closed during winter). Enjoy seamless service in one of Hong Kong’s largest, well equipped Grand Ballroom; it can accommodate 1000 guests with an energy that inspires success and is the ideal place for weddings. Be it for work, shopping or holiday, make Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East your first choice in Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Hong Kong Kowloon East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing