We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“confortable and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Butterfly on Hollywood
Ranked #91 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“confortable and friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The staffs on duty is very helpful, polite and smile is always on face (night and morning shift). The gals (duty staff) give us a guidance on where to having supper at night and guidance to the airport as well. The staff arrange three rooms together on the same floor (higher floor), which initially only allow for booking of quarto room, that is sweet! We having a great time at HK and will drop by in short future for this hotel =)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ericfong13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
It is very heart warming to hear you had such a great time at our hotel. Our guest services team is more than happy to hear you appreciated their services as they all try their best to offer you a memorable stay. For large traveling parties, feel free to contact our reservation team so we can make arrangements for you and your friends! Thank you and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    590
    798
    241
    42
    31
See reviews for
255
461
299
310
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A little on the expensive side, but I am told that those the the prevailing prices for Central Hong Kong. Very pleasant service, and definitely in the center of the all happening things in HK. I would recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: Upper floors - choose the garden view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cintidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks for your nice review. We are glad you liked our hotel location and enjoyed the assistance from our guest services team. Do not hesitate to contact us directly for arranging your upcoming reservations, we look forward to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puchong New Village, Selangor, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stay here for 5 night, overall - room small, smelly for the toilet partition, dusty, but staff very friendly, helpful, and we have surprise birthday cake for my hubby and children, thank you very much.
Location very good, nearby got a lot of hk style restaurant, "Lan Gui Fong" just walk for 10mins, the famous "dim sam restaurant" call "Lian Xiang Ju", also 5mins walk, and 10mins walk to MTR, cab very easy to get from outside the road, only hk dollar 20 to MTR per trip. Opposite also have a lot of Western Bar, Pub.

But the hotel very noisy when people talk or walk, you can listen very clear.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irischong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
It is great to hear you enjoyed our surprise. We hope you had a great time exploring the nearby restaurants as they offer some of Hong Kong’s most signature dishes. Thank you for your time and we would love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Once I got orientated the location was good for Cental and the MTR was only a 10 min walk away, I will be back
Staff friendly and nothing was too much trouble , the room was cosy but not too small.
After visiting HK for 25 years I have found a hotel that won't break the bank but has all one needs when away from home

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1010IJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your time. We are glad you had a great time at our hotel and that our services and accommodations were up to your liking. Thank you and we look forward to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived at 7 in the morning and expected to just drop our bags at the hotel and have to come back later in the day to check in. When we arrived we found out we were able to check in straight away and go to our room. This was excellent news after 8 hours of travelling!
The location is brilliant, I have no idea why there are not more hotels in the area, you are right in the middle of everything, yet it isn't as crazy as Central or Kowloon side.
There is around a 10 minute walk to the Sheung Wan MTR station which is one stop away from Central, this station connects you to every other line in Hong Kong, plus all the tourist spots.
I would suggest if you are getting the Airport Express etc and have suitcases that you get a taxi from Sheung Wan MTR to the hotel as it’s all uphill, with a lot of steps!
The hotel is also brilliantly located for restaurants and nightlife, with lovely modern bars along Hollywood road and about a 10 minute walk/5 minute taxi ride to Lang Kwai Fong and the mid-level bars. (I personally recommend you have a drink and pizza at the bar 208 across the road from the hotel, lovely waiters and great people watching location, and they have buy one get one free happy hour between 5-8).

The hotel itself is very smart, when booking a metro hotel you expect quite a basic set up with basic furnishings, Butterfly has really gone all out on the Hollywood theme, with every room and corridor relating to a different year from the Oscars. The little personal touches in the rooms were a lovely surprise too, with the rose pillow with the "hug me" card and the butterflies for the choices of pillows.
There are only a couple of small issues: I would be cautious if you are sleeping in a twin room because there is no door on the toilet, it is just tucked around the corner. This lead to a couple of "turn the TV sound up to the max" moments... The rooms are TINY and I mean, the twin beds are pushed together and 2 people can't stand up in the room at the same time kind of tiny, but this is well expected in a place like Hong Kong where space is so limited, and you shouldn't be spending that much time in a hotel anyway so who cares about the space!
The walls are quite thin too so expect to hear the full blown conversations of the occupants next door!
The reception staff were great, every morning we asked them how to get to specific tourist sites or area of the city and they showed us on a map the easiest and fastest way of getting there, they give you a card with “I would like you to take me to….” And the name of the place in Chinese to give to the taxi driver, a very clever little touch.

I would definitely use this hotel again and look forward to my second trip there next year.

Room Tip: if you can afford more than a standard room then go for that for more space and maybe a toilet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thanks for such a detailed review. It looks like you had a great time in Hong Kong and we hoped our services and accommodations made your trip even more worthwhile. Thank you for your compliments for our in house furnishing as our team did put in a lot of efforts in designing the hotel décor and details.

At Butterfly Hotel, guest comments are always valued as they can help us continue to improve for the future. Please rest assured that your concerns regarding our room layouts will be taken seriously and addressed to our management team for further considerations.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights (2 adults, & 2 young kids) in the Family Quad room.
Pro's:
Located in a cool area. Several trendy restaurants, bars and cafes within easy walking distance. A cute city park with a good play area is right next to the hotel, my kids loved it.
One of the few hotels that guaranteed interconnecting/family rooms.
Hotel arranged a limo transfer to the airport and this was worth it when travelling with young kids.
Room had all the essential amenities you need; TV, toiletries, hairdryer,Ipod dock, free wireless etc
Con's:
Room was even smaller than I had expected, but its not a problem if you aren't spending much time in your hotel.
Room didn't feel thoroughly clean.
Quite a long walk to the nearest Metro. We used taxi's or walked instead.
Still feels like an expensive stay, given the lack of facilities in the hotel.
I'd recommend the hotel to other families, just don't expect a luxury hotel brand feel!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. We’re really glad to hear you had a great time with your family in our family quad room! We are sorry that you felt the room quality was in question; we will address this concern to our housekeeping team to ensure all our rooms are in top quality. Thanks for your recommendations; we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I agree that the location is not bad (although still quite a walk to reach the Mid-Levels Escalator or the nearest MTR station), and that the reception staff are generally helpful, to the extent of running into the street to hail a cab for you.

But the rooms are ridiculously small - and I lived in Hong Kong for five years in the past, so I've managed my expectations as best as I could. Once you open the door, you are staring at a toilet bowl. The quasi-bathroom corner isn't big enough to accommodate a basin, so the basin sits next to the TV, practically on the bed. There is NO SPACE whatsoever to put down your luggage, and the distance between the bed and the surrounding walls is about 8 inches. TV programs are limited to BBC News and NatGeo; the rest are mostly Cantonese channels.

In this depressing capsule setting, the 'Hollywood' theme (i.e. lift lobbies and common areas cluttered with wires, director's chairs, light projectors etc.) becomes inexplicable, and a wicked waste of the little square footage there is. For what it's worth - Hong Kong's Hollywood Road predates L.A.'s Tinseltown by decades; it was already there in the 1840s - so no historical connection to movies at all.

If your employer pays for your trip, ask them to put you up someplace less masochistic. If you're on holidays and reluctant to spend US$1,000 a night for a human-sized hotel, just give Hong Kong a miss altogether, or explore the neighboring destinations like Macau and China, not to mention Southeast Asia.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allele_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are regretful to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as we expected. According to your comments, we could have done a better job in offering you a more pleasant stay by arranging you a Hollywood Deluxe Room or Business Room with room sizes that should fit your needs better.

Anyway, as most travelers understand, hotel rooms in Hong Kong in general are definitely less spacious than that in China & Southeast Asia. We just wish to point out that when comparing with hotels of similar class and location in Hong Kong, Butterfly hotels are always offering better experience in terms of room condition and overall quality.

We hope you would consider another chance to stay with us in the future, and we are confident to offer you a much improved experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,195 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#79 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,391 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#65 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,809 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#52 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Hollywood

Property: Butterfly on Hollywood
Address: No.263 Hollywood Road, Central, Hong Kong 000, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your own place among the stars at our Hollywood-inspired 148-room hotel and stay right by the city's most happening and eccentric neighbourhood. Begin your journey right on your doorstep, the "cool" end of Hollywood Road where quirky boutiques, cafes, art galleries and speakeasies dot all over its side streets. Covering the antique cluster of Upper Lascar Row, stretching pass Man Mo Temple, the booming art scene near Tai Ping Shan Street all the way to PMQ - a new shopping and working centre dedicated to "create-preneurs" - lower Hollywood is the go-to style hub for those in the know. Then when you need to head down to Central, hop on a taxi and you'll arrive in five minutes. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Designed with the right contemporary vibe to suit both work and play, Butterfly on Hollywood fuses designer décor, premium comforts - think 24 hour front desk, multimedia docking station, free Wi-Fi, branded amenities and 'Local Ambassadors' - with a touch of glamour to offer a top boutique experience at a coveted corner of town. You'll even be treated to a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features to keep your life in sync. Come here if you want your trip to be as perfect as a Hollywood ending. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Sheung Wan MTR subway station. - 10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Butterfly on Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Hollywood Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing