We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and Urban”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Butterfly on Hollywood
Ranked #93 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stylish and Urban”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Central location in trendy west Soho neighbourhood. Small lobby with no bar or food (but that is OK as the front desk staff make good recommendations and there are many many choices nearby). Rooms are compact but comfortable. We had a 'classic' view from 12th floor of half a dozen gritty Hong Kong style apartment blocks and a park. Very urban. Need to run the air con in the room to keep the humidity in check; the windows in the morning had a tropical rain shower feel. As others have mentioned the staff are great; the doorman/concierge stood in the rain tirelessly flagging difficult to find taxi's repeatedly. Stylish and feels a part of the city ie not anonymous but also not polished and perfect. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmorgan1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Many thanks for your positive and encouraging review. Beside the hotel design and facilities, our guest services team are our greatest asset that always bring our guests impressive and pleasant experience. We can't wait to welcome you back with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    741
    229
    39
    29
See reviews for
231
434
283
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Very Nice staff, and great location. Staff are very helpful, and the hotel is so close to the central Hongkong, MRT, bus stops and ferry terminal. The room is the average size for Hongkong, but it's quite clean. Will stay there again next time.

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shermanlin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
It's lovely that you liked our hotel location as well as our guest services team so much. Thanks a lot for your support and we are confident your next stay would be as enjoyable as your recent one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Good service is hard to come by these days, and genuinely helpful, happy staff is even more rare. Great stay at this hotel because of the amazing staff, namely Yuko and Angel. If you need a taxi to anywhere at all, they will personally see to that as well. My only disappointment was that the water temperature in the shower tends to fluctuate between hot and cool quite often, but none of the times being ice cold.

Other than that, please keep up the good work, team! Will definitely recommend Butterfly to visiting friends.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amandawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
It's extremely excited reading your wonderful comment, we can't be more pleased than having you impressed so much by our guest services team. Yuko, Angel and everyone at Butterfly on Hollywood are looking forward to welcome you back for another spectacular hotel experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Clean, Comfy, Excellent Service & Contemporary Design. Variable western cafes around. Nice old school dim sum restaurant nearby. Many antique shops.
Only thing is that MTR is just a liltle further than usual.
Overall was an excellent stay with impressive customer service i ever experienced in HK.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwnick83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for making Butterfly your choice in Hong Kong. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked spending your time in the hotel neighborhood. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with personalized, intuitive and caring service, and we are so pleased to learn that our guest services team was successful in achieving this with you. We look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I am not sure how the owner has the audacity to sell rooms with this equipment. The air-condition is so old that it doesn't exchange the air in the room. So after taking a shower your windows are basically dripping from the water. When you leave and come back after hours, the room has a terrible smell.
Additionally, the rooms are so damn loud that you cannot sleep at all. If one guy takes a shower next to you or on the next floor, he wakes up the whole surrounding rooms with the noise of the water-pipes.
This was a nightmare and I don't think anyone should stay there. Any youth-hostel is a better stay than this. We are seriously upset about this kind of quick money-making customer rip-off attitude. Shame on you, dear owner! Why don't you stay there for a night, huh?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gumbolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us. It's definitely disappointed to understand that you have not enjoyed a pleasant stay with us as we expected. We should have done a much better job by recognizing your feedback immediately and to arrange you a guest room with much higher quality, please accept our sincere apology for that. Base on your comment, we will surely pay more effort to investigate the hardware condition in all specific guest rooms and to make sure all of them are in top notch condition for our guest enjoyment.

We take our commitment to guest satisfaction very seriously, and it's our highest concern to offer our guests a comfortable environment for their stay. We really hope to have a chance to be at your service again and to regain your confidence in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
104 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The hotel is about 7 minutes walk from the subway in an area that is gentrifying, so you find high-end restaurants beside lower end shops. Rooms are nicely decorated and practical, but extremely small. That being said the rate is a bargain for this area of Hong Kong. Service is excellent, as with the other hotels in the chain.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajuniaxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thanks so much for your wonderful words about our group's services standard, we are very glad that you enjoyed a great stay with us and liked the hotel room décor. Hope you welcome you back in Butterfly hotels again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Butterfly on Hollywood is very conveniently located right on Hollywood road, between Hong Kong Central District and Sheung Wan, allowing you to walk to the city center in approx 15 minutes, and letting you live right in one of Hong Kong's uprising areas, Soho / Sheung Wan, with loads of bars and restaurants around. However.. if not for the rooms this hotel would be great. You are simply paying too much for the tiny, dark rooms. Don't be fooled by their "official" bright photos on the webpage and tripadvisor, HDR Photoshopping much. It's certainly a good spot to stay for a weekend if you don't plan on spending much time in your room or the hotel facilities, but otherwise, skip it. Don't stay here as a family with kids. The rooms are simply too small and the walls too thin. The personelle is nice but the bell boys don't speak english very well. Didn't try breakfast here, not even sure if they have.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Stay: 2 Nights
When: October 2013
Room: Standard Double
Price: 160 SGD
Breakfast included - NO

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngryAngMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butterfly_Hotels, Group Guest Services Manager at Butterfly on Hollywood, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your comment and your compliment about our hotel location and guest services. On the other hand, it is definitely disappointed to know that your overall experience is not as good as we expected. There are in fact room with different room size and layout we are capable to offer to you, and it's unfortunate that we did not take the initiative to make necessary room change arrangement for meeting your need better during your stay.

We hope we will have another chance to serve you again and to offer you a much more impressive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#78 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Butterfly On Morrison
Butterfly On Morrison
#75 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#51 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,666 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#54 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly on Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly on Hollywood

Property: Butterfly on Hollywood
Address: No.263 Hollywood Road, Central, Hong Kong 000, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sheung Wan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#54 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Butterfly on Hollywood 3.5*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your own place among the stars at our Hollywood-inspired 148-room hotel and stay right by the city's most happening and eccentric neighbourhood. Begin your journey right on your doorstep, the "cool" end of Hollywood Road where quirky boutiques, cafes, art galleries and speakeasies dot all over its side streets. Covering the antique cluster of Upper Lascar Row, stretching pass Man Mo Temple, the booming art scene near Tai Ping Shan Street all the way to PMQ - a new shopping and working centre dedicated to "create-preneurs" - lower Hollywood is the go-to style hub for those in the know. Then when you need to head down to Central, hop on a taxi and you'll arrive in five minutes. To fulfill travellers' need for seamless, connected travel experience, the hotel now offers "4G Pocket WiFi Device" to keep your life in sync! Bring WiFi with you around town and stay in touch with the mobile hotspot (unlimited local data) that instantly connects your devices (up to 5 smartphones, tablets or other wireless portable devices) to the Internet anywhere the coverage is available. Straightforward and effortless - this is how travel should be! Designed with the right contemporary vibe to suit both work and play, Butterfly on Hollywood fuses designer décor, premium comforts - think 24 hour front desk, multimedia docking station, free Wi-Fi, branded amenities and 'Local Ambassadors' - with a touch of glamour to offer a top boutique experience at a coveted corner of town. You'll even be treated to a free smartphone, offering unlimited local calls and 3G data, a city guide as well as all sorts of interesting info and features to keep your life in sync. Come here if you want your trip to be as perfect as a Hollywood ending. How well connected are we? - 8-minute walk to the Sheung Wan MTR subway station. - 10-minute taxi ride to the Airport Express Hong Kong Station for direct train connection to Hong Kong International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Butterfly on Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly On Hollywood Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing