We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family-friendly hotel and conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong
Ranked #110 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We traveled with a party of 6 and reserved 2 rooms. Our hotel experience overall was very good. When things did not go as planned, the hotel staff was very efficient about rectifying the problems. For instance, while we booked 2 adjacent, nonsmoking rooms, we were given one room on a smoking floor, the other on a nonsmoking floor. We were told that the smoking room would be "air freshened". Of course, we did not accept that response. We politely asked that our RSVP request be honored, and the front desk rep (Judy) quickly gave us a corner room on the 15th floor (a nonsmoking floor). Judy then explained that adjacent rooms can't be guaranteed but was able to put our travel companions on the 15th floor with us after the first night. For the rest of our stay, our companions were only one door down, so it worked out very well. The corner room was ideal for us as we were with 2 young children who could get quite loud at times. The room was also very spacious with enough room for the kids to play. Beds were comfortable, and we liked the pillow options (firm vs. soft). Housekeeping did a great job and concierge was always very helpful. We used room service a couple of times, and found the food to be good. We had breakfast at the hotel Bistro once, which was excellent, although quite pricey. For the rest of the stay, we found lots of great bakeries nearby for breakfast. There is also a nice supermarket across the street by the MTR where we purchased fresh fruit and drinks. Our view from the 15th floor was of a tenement high rise structure, but this was not a turn off. Afterall, you'd see the same thing from a midtown hotel in NYC! Actually, our view changed in a few hours when we found the building across our room to be covered with bamboo scaffolding, with a few construction workers dangling perilously from up high. Some men were tethered, some not. Bottom line is that the location makes this hotel ideal-- MTR, malls, museums, convenience stores, ferry all nearby. Staff was professional and made the trip very enjoyable. Facilities were clean & pleasant as well. We are actually surprised to hear about the negative comments about the state of the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pugua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,063 - 2,069 of 2,853 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2011

We stayed just one night whilst transiting to Japan. Easy to get to via airport train and shuttle bus - though our bus stopped across the road from the hotel making for a fraught road crossing with luggage. Room was very good with 3 twin beds accommodating the four of us. Many HK hotels seem to limit rooms to 3 guests so this was a very good feature of the hotel. Location very good to throw yourself into the bustle of Nathan Road and a short walk down to the Star ferry terminal for great harbor views. Close to MTR stations. We caught cab back to airport for early departure which was cheaper and faster at that time of day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guidedbythelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Have staye at this hotel many many times. This stay, I was put in a room facing Mody Road, close to the 7-11 store. Unfortunately I could not sleep at night-noise and rowdiness from this location was totally unacceptable. It is not the Hotel's fault, just the lack of policing at this location-from the bedroom window you can just see what is going on-prostitution, drug dealers and drunks. Hong Kong is not what it makes it out to be - IT IS GETTING QUITE DANGEROUS. This is unfortunate.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEVIN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I can hardly believe the good reviews this hotel has here. I was on a Globus Tour of Japan and China, Hong Kong being the last stop. Thankfully, Globus no longer uses this hotel, hopefully, they had many, many complaints about this place. The room I had was described as a singles room and it was deplorable. Very old furniture, old moss green carpet with cigarette burns, old bathroom furnishings and plumbing. When I opened the drapes to let in some light I was treated to a disgusting rear view of a slum apartment building. Had to keep the drapes shut to not feel like I had crossed into the Twilight Zone after the nice hotels in Japan and China. The only possibly good thing I could say about this hotel was the location, the lobby was nice. Otherwise, forget this place, I wish I could have.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jerryinKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed for a 2 night stopover on our way back from a skiing trip in Canada to take the kids to Disneyland and help them recover from jetlag. The hotel is in a great location, close to Tsim Sha Tsui MTR train station (we took the train to Disneyland rather than brave the HK traffic in a taxi) and the shopping district of Nathan Rd. We had a deluxe family room for ourselves and our two children aged 5 and 6, which consisted of 3 double beds in a good sized room. The bathroom was small but nicely refurbished. The decor was tasteful and stylish for a midrange hotel. We were able to check-in early at 9.30am which was a huge relief after a longhaul flight with the kids, and checkout is 12 noon which allowed us to stay in our hotel right up until our airport transfer for our afternoon flight. The buffet breakfast in the bistro is one of the best for variety, presentation and quality of fare, far beyond that expected for a midrange 4 star hotel. My only criticism was that the valet rolled his eyes when he saw how much luggage we had (skiing trip with 2 young kids - it is hard to travel light!) which was an irritating start to an otherwise enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarKri02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 14 March 2011

Dear CarKri02,

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Golden Mile and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Premier Triple Rooms. We are one of the few hotels in Hong Kong that offers a room with 3 double beds. When we designed this room type, families like yours were what we had in mind. We wanted to provide families with children a spacious room which allows the whole family to stay in the same room, without the need of having the children share the same bed.

We apologize for your experience with our valet staff. We will address our valet team as such service attitude certainly does not meet our standard. We hope our friendly service from other team members were able to make up for the first impression you had.

Thank you for review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Golden Mile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

The service received was exceptional and UK Holiday Inn establishments could learn much from the standards and service that this organisation offers its customers.
Excellent communication prior to travelling and this was the case throughout or stay. No question was too much trouble to answer.
As an existing Priority Club member we were upgraded to an executive room and this included a buffet breakfast and access to the Club Lounge within specified times, providing drinks, cocktails, evening snacks and access to the internet. The location is very central to transport , shops and eating outlets.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to any business or leisure traveller.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulSSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 March 2011

Dear PaulSSS,

We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for your compliments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the services provided in our Executive Club. In addition to the services you had a chance to experience on this stay, the lounge also provides all-day tea, coffee and pastries, plus complimentary DVD rental and late check out until 3PM (subject to availability). We hope you will be able to make full use of the benefits our Executive Club has to offer next time.

Thank you again for your compliments and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Holiday Inn Golden Mile

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed for a week at this hotel. We upgraded our room which was worth it with 2 kids running around. We were in a renovated non-smoking room which was perfect. Clean, roomy (by HK standards) and a view of Mody Street/Nathan Road. The breakfast was fantastic and the staff during breakfast were always very friendly, chatty and willing to help. The hotel is central to shops, eats, MTR (which was so easy to use) and the Star Ferry. You would not get a safer place to stay, except the only drawback would be the 7-Eleven on Mody St which appears to be a 'hangout' for some suspicious and sometimes loud people. Initially we found them a bit scary, but they didn't bother us when we went into the shop. All up this is a great city hotel with very helpful staff from the front desk to the housekeeping staff. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#47 of 727 in Hong Kong
3,002 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
Hotel Panorama by Rhombus
#100 of 727 in Hong Kong
2,729 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#26 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Address: No.50 Nathan Rd, Tsimshatsui, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#93 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £122 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the very heart of Kowloon’s bustling city centre, the Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong offers business and leisure travellers a vibrant location, contemporary conveniences, and all the luxuries of home while away. The hotel provides 621 invitingly comfortable twin, double or king size beds equipped guest rooms and suites, Executive Club floors, award-winning restaurants, bar, function rooms, a landscaped rooftop pool, a state-of-the-art health club, free Wi-fi and entertainment. The hotel also installs handy smartphone in all its guest rooms. Guests can use the phone throughout the stay, with unlimited data and calls to Hong Kong, Australia, India, China, Taiwan and UK included for free. Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong is adjacent to the Mass Transit Railway (MTR) which leads to Hong Kong’s major commercial and tourist districts. The famous Star Ferry is within five minutes walking distance and Hong Kong International Airport is just a forty-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hotel Hong Kong
Holiday Inn Hong Kong
Hong Kong Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Golden Mile Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing