We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location, Tiny Room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #186 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great location, Tiny Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Its located pretty much near all the action, there are many tiny places where they serve good Indonesian Cuisine and there are many more to choose from. There are a lot malls located close-by as well. The streets will be full of people all the time. This ain't Mainland China, so you can't expect people to be as helpful and polite as they generally are in Mainland China.

The room pretty small, could barely more around.The staff were very polite and front desk was pretty quick. But pretty expensive considering the rooms size.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    294
    149
    32
    21
See reviews for
69
112
59
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

On our trip to Hong Kong to visit family and do some sight seeing we stayed at the Rosedale in Causeway Bay on Hong Kong island. We stayed for a total of nine nights and had a thoroughly pleasant experience with our hotel. The staff were excellent, attentive and so helpful. Our accommodation was lovely and spotlessly clean. The hotel ensured that our teenage daughters were put in a room alongside to us. Do visit the rooftop bar to relax with a happy hour cocktail and enjoy the views.
The location of the hotel was perfect - quiet but not too far away from the areas we wished to visit. The transport is extremely efficient throughout the day so catching buses and trams (and taxis when we were just too tired from our adventures) was so easy.
There is a superb Italian restaurant just around the corner from the hotel when needing a break the local dishes.

Room Tip: Higher floors for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 190sal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stayed here during the Hong Kong rugby 7's and this is the perfectly positioned property to attend the event as the stadium is just a few minutes walk away . There are also many shops nearby as well as a subway , mcdonalds, 7-11, watsons ,starbucks etc . Transport options are great with the mrt nearby and trams on your doorstep.Rooms are very clean and well appointed with nice touches and very comfortable beds. Ate at the sky bar this trip and food was very reasonably priced and good quality . Staff were very helpful and even gave us a complimentary meal due a little bit of a wait for our dinner - it was very busy so we did expect a wait but it was a nice surprise to be looked after. Thank you - we will be back again next year !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling10151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I stayed at Rosedale on The Park for 1 nights on 5 April 2014 and checked out on 6 April 2014.

This is the summary of my experience:

Location: Convenient! Just a 5 min stroll to Causeway bay MTR.

Amenities: Shops and food joints all around the hotel. Everything seems to be just a quick stroll away.

Room: VERY Spacious by HK standards. Bed and sheets were comfy and the pillows were fantastic! There was an iron, mini bar, coffee maker and a couple of arm chairs. The room looks a little tired and well-worn but housekeeping kept the rooms very clean.

Soft finishing : A little dated. Lots of wood and green elements.

Tech stuff : Free wifi in room and lobby area ( reasonably fast!). TWO x Flat screen TVs.

Bathroom: Bath tub,Shower and vanity table. Toiletries were provided. Spacious bathroom but décor probably needs some updating.

Service: Very warm and attentive service. When they found out it was my partner's birthday on the day of check-in, they immediately upgraded us from a superior room to a junior suite. The concierge team were friendly and very service-focused. We actually booked the room at a very discounted price at a discount site so it was nice that they gave us a birthday upgrade without us even asking.

Pros: Good location, spacious comfortable and clean room, decent facilities and very friendly, efficient and warm service. Fuss-free check in/check out.

Cons: Design is quite dated and some room décor elements look a little tired. Also, taxis are not able to drive to the lobby of the hotel as the building is at a road corner. However, the very friendly porter will carry your luggage, even in the rain! I felt so bad for him as he was getting drenched, so I tried to shelter him with an umbrella. ( The hotel provides guest umbrellas)

Breakfast selection was below average and service at the breakfast café was quite abrupt and dismal overall. But to be fair, they looked really busy and over-whelmed and were probably short-handed? But I'm not too perturbed as I'm not quite a breakfast kind of person.

Overall : I would stay at Rosedale on the Park again ! Very Good value and excellent service!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fatcat2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Booked this hotel for 10 nights.
Paid just over £100 per night for a suite.
The suite was a decent size with TV in both rooms, a small sofa and bathroom with bath.
Room was on the 26th floor so it had a decent view facing inland.
Some of the furniture in the lounge was a bit worn, but it was clean and everything worked.
Suite had fridge, microwave, safe, ironing facilities and a good selection of toiletries, toothbrush etc.
The breakfast was very Chinese, but there were some western options, cereal croissants etc.
There are only 3 lifts in the place and if it's busy you have to wait a bit on occasions especially if one isn't working.
The gym is a small room with 3 pieces of equipment.
The hotel is mainly used by Chinese, but there are some westerners and most staff speak reasonable English.
The Wi Fi is free and very fast it works throughout the hotel.
The hotel is located on the tram line, the tram takes about 20 minutes into Central.
Overall the staff are friendly and I would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite or a room on a higher floor. You may have to wait on the lift, but you'll hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jameshill007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley on Klip, South Africa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at Rosedale On Park during The Hong Kong 7's tournament 2013...it is located about 750 metres from the stadium and our room even had a great view of it when it wasn't misty as it often was during our stay. It was the perfect location for the event with a great breakfast available if you make it on time. We partied long into the wee small hours and didn't always make it on time. The rooms are quite small for a couple but this understandable for a place like Hong Kong as you will spend only sleeping time there.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McGuigan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This hotel is located on Shelter Street, adjoining a typhoon shelter zone in Victoria Harbour. It is ideally located if you like to use the island tram system to get around. Reception is very prompt and friendly. The room which I think is standard size was compact to say the least. Not a lot of room to move around. The decor is early 80s and could use a smarten up. The bathroom was similarly compact - proportional to the bedroom. There is free wifi available. I didn't use any of the dining facilities but the room has tea making facilities. The immediate area has all of the usual fast food outlets and a Chinese bakery is also close by. The hotel is within walking distance of Causeway Bay so you can easily shop until you drop and make it back to your room relatively quickly. Overall, a reasonable experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tai Kok Tsui
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
Rosedale Hotel Kowloon
#120 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#71 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Fortress Hill
The Empire Hotel Hong Kong - Causeway Bay
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong

Property: Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong
Address: No. 8 Shelter Street | Causeway Bay, Hong Kong 852, China (Formerly Rosedale On The Park)
Region: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#121 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong rests at the corner of Causeway Bay, Hong Kong's most vibrant and energetic area for shopping, dining, entertainment and business. With a view over the historic Victoria Park and the iconic Victoria Harbour, Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong brings you a hotel for tranquility and comfort right at the edge of excitement and life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotelopia and Booking.com so you can book your Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale On The Park Hotel Hong Kong
Rosedale Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing