We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,158)
Filter reviews
2,158 results
Traveller rating
901
946
222
51
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
901
946
222
51
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews western district hku mtr station cafe malacca kennedy town rooftop pool the club lounge harbour view hotel shuttle top floor free shuttle hotel is located rooms are small convenient location causeway bay guchi hong gym
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,376 - 1,381 of 2,158 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Although not central in Hong Kong, this hotel is within easy reach by the tram system, has hourly courtesy buses to central areas and ferries, good pleasant staff, reasonable food at good prices and the rooms very good. Could not ask for more.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My first trip to HK and i stayed here for 4 nights, got an up graded room with a nice view,
The hotel is clean and very up to date; all wifi, free internet, dvd player, TV, kettle in the room, swimming pool, gym etc, i have absolutley no complaints about this hotel, they put on a free bus service every hour to some of the main drop off points in HK.
Also the staff are very helpful when asked for the best ways to get to tourist places etc and the bell-boy even steps out into the road to flag down a taxi for you and explains to the taxi driver exactly where you wish to go (which is nice as not all the taxi drivers can speak English)
Some useful points...
Most of the places i needed to go to from the Hotel such as; The Airport Express terminal (train station) The ferry port for Kowloon, The Tram / Sky cart to get to the HK view point, The Central–Mid-levels escalators in Hong Kong (longest outdoor covered escalator system in the world) were under $50HK (£4)
Ferry to Kowloon - $2.50HK ( 20 pence )
However...
The Big Bus company runs an open top tour bus all around HK island which is approx 1hr 30 mins long, as we were in a small group we haggled the price from $350 to $300HK p/p (£24) this bus service also allows you free access to 90% of the tourist stops and you can get on and off the bus at your own leisure which runs every half hour, sadly we didnt realise this until our last day which could of saved us time and money.

I would reccommend HK and the Traders hotel to every one
Thank you :-)

Room tip: ask for a view of the bay, a view round the back doesnt see much
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sefuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2012

For value for money, this is the only hotel worth booking in Hong Kong. It is run by the Shangri-la group so you can get your Golden Circle points or Asia Miles, and service is excellent. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the pool on the rooftop and the staff very helpful and efficient.

It is a little way from Central and taxis are not that easy to come by but this is my first choice for the price point in Hong Kong.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank SCCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My husband and i stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Bali. I'd read the reviews on here so was expecting small rooms (I've been to New York so was thinking it'd be comparable to average room sizes there) and a location which perhaps wasn't the best for tourists.

I was nicely surprised though! We upgraded our room to a higher better view and access to the executive lounge and couldn't have been happier. The room was plenty big enough for the two of us for the length of our stay and the view was amazing.

The service from the moment we got out the taxi to the moment we left was of a very high quality. The reception staff were all very helpful and the service in the executive lounge meant we could relax and just enjoy Hong Kong.

The location was fine as well, although as we were on honeymoon we indulged in taxi's everywhere (tip: it's best to have the name of the place you're going written down or on a business card as the taxi drivers rarely understood us). The only reason I haven't given this 5 out of 5 is because we hadn't understood the cost of our upgrade. We were told the figure, but it wasn't clear that was per night, we thought that was the total overall.

Overall i'd reccomend this hotel and use it again if i was to go back to Hong Kong.

Room tip: The upgrade to the traders club rooms are worthwhile. Breakfast was served in the executive lounge overlooking the harbour and was almost empty when we went.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chloe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2012

We stayed here for just two nights as a stop over really. We found the staff so friendly and couldn't do enough for us, all of them, with a ready smile. The rooms although small we're perfectly adequate and immaculate. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept in with crisp white cotton sheets. The room was very modern with all the accessories one would need for a busy traveller. The air con was a bit noisy but you really needed it. We had fab view of the river, full use of the brilliant roof top pool and snacks throughout the day on the 28th floor.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, even though its a bit further out but the tram is almost outside the door and the transport is fantastic. We jumped on and off the buses and trams. It was an adventure in itself.

Date of stay: September 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank anne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews