We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, reasonable price and performance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #62 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

To compare with other HK hotels, the room space is almost the same as others. I don't feel crowded. There is no MRT nearby. I always take hotel shuttle bus and cable car to go outside. There is a swimming pool at the top floor. It' will be better if there is rest or dressing room. I like this hotel, good for business travelers.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Elijah1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel has been well managed and the staffs are so well trained that I am very impressed. I stayed for 4 nights in October and I have left Hong Kong some 20 years ago and felt the old Hong Kong alive in this area.

Yes, subway is not an option by location and it will be one more year before subway MTR will reach this place but by then the price may well go up a lot. However, I took A10 express bus from airport at the far right and cost me only $34 to get to this hotel in 30 minutes through the western tunnel. You just have to ask driver to let you off at Hill Road.
I took the hotel shuttle everyday to IFC airport express station to transfer to MTR. It took about 10 minutes, as it went along the outside coastal road which avoids all the heavy traffic at Queen Street West. It is 5 minutes to Macau Ferry Terminal and there you can taste the dim sum at Maxim that opens at 7:30 a.m. In the morning. MacDonald is right next to the hotel, and so are plenty of small but good restaurants that are very inexpensive.

I went to Kennedy Town by tram to enjoy the Harbour front with drinks and seafood at Davies Road. It is only 15 minutes by tram and at the terminal too. There are quite a good crowd of expatriates hanging around there.

The only drawback is that the shuttle bus does not operate regular enough, especially during Saturdays and Sundays and evening. I hope they can improve on the service so that guests can be picked up from Hong Kong Airport express terminal during night time.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel and ask for special package on executive floors with breakfast and sea vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelroyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel_HK_13, General Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Travelroyal,

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to provide us with your feedback on your last visit to Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

We are delighted to hear that you found our service staff accommodating, however we are sorry to learn that our current shuttle bus schedule had caused some inconvenience to you. Please rest assured that we will look into this problem immediately and make possible improvement.

In the meantime, should you want to provide more information please contact us via David.Preisig@tradershotels.com.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed four nights and found everything very satisfactory. Excellent value. Service could not have been more friendly efficient and helpful. Rooms clean, modern, attractive, well-fitted though perhaps could benefit from a bit more storage space - and we enjoyed the harbour view (hotel is set back slightly, not front line but nonetheless spectacular view). Not a central location but never a problem as there's a free and frequent shuttle service, and taxis are cheap and numerous. Also the location is quite vibrant and humming and we enjoyed eating out once or twice at local restaurants - though we steered well clear of the nearby snake speciality eater!

Would definitely recommend Trader's Hotel, and would stay here again. Our 'spa' mark is for the gymnasium and roof pool - there's no spa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank somersetlawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was our first trip to Hong Kong, so we really had no idea where to stay. We chose the Traders Hotel as it seemed reasonably priced compared to a lot of options that we looked at, and overall it was a good choice. It is a clean, modern hotel, perhaps more on the "business" end of the spectrum of hotels, but certainly no worse for that. Staff are friendly, helpful and very well-trained. The room we were allocated was small but perfectly adequate for a couple; everything was clean and tidy, and the small bathroom was also perfectly clean and functional.

The location we discovered is a little outside of the centre of Hong Kong island; it's a good 30 minute walk into the centre, and not a particularly interesting one; on the other hand, the hotel runs a shuttle bus every hour or so into the centre, taxis are reasonably cheap (say $6-8 into the centre) and if you're brave enough, buses and the tram are really cheap and very frequent.

Breakfast wasn't included in the booking; taking breakfast in the hotel every morning is expensive - aruond $25 per person, although you can really fill-up if that's what you like to do. Unfortunately we couldn't find anything locally that offered an appetising breakfast, so we went with the expensive hotel option.

Overall this is a good option for business or pleasure; location is the only slight down-side, but it is manageable, and is probably reflected in the more reasonable room rates.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This was our first visit to Traders, Hong Kong. We initially booked a club harbour view room, but were offered a reduced rate for a club suite on check in. We took the suite and were very impressed with the quality of the accommodation. The suite provided ample room to allow our 1 yr old son to scamper around, and with the provision of a very good baby cot we slept very well. The view over the harbour was superb. The staff were incredibly helpful and very friendly. On return to Hong Kong, Traders will certainly be our first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DMAJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel_HK_13, General Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear DMAJ R,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong on your recent travel with your family.

We are delighted to learn that you find our suites accommodating and service staff helpful. Your comments are our most powerful means to continuously improve our standards.

On your next visit to Hong Kong, please let us know if an extra bed or a baby cot is required so that your room can be fully set up upon your arrival.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

On arrival (7am) I was allowed to check into my room early, having just flown over night this was a great bonus.
I was upgraded to a ocean view room and the rest of my stay matched my welcome.
Only negative was the location that meant taxi was the only means of transport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank JC999992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have lost count of how many times we have now stayed at Traders. The good news is that the quality of the product has been a constant. Many of the staff in Trader's Lounge we have known for years and we are delighted to note that staff like Guchi have been promoted. They deserve it. The view from the harbour-view rooms never fails to thrill. Breakfast and the evening drinks and canapes are as generous as ever. The free shuttle service to key points (Macao Ferry, Star Ferry and Hong Kong Central works like clockwork. There is a good tram service 5 minutes away. The Airport bus (A10) stops in sight of the hotel. A taxi from central cost about£2.50 with tip. The further good news is that the MTR extension to the end of the road should be operational within the year.We will be back here in 2014. I have already received a message from the General Manager about our next visit. If you are planning to stay at hotels in the Shangri-La group (which includes Traders) join their loyalty scheme. I am now a Jade member.

Room Tip: Opt for a Trader's Club room. Ask for a floor as close to the Club Lounge and rooftop pool as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel_HK_13, General Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Ruth R,

Thank you very much for your precious time to write about us again and staying with Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again for your recent visit to Hong Kong.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying in our rooms and Club services, and found our staff very helpful. Your comments is the most important means for us to continuously improve our standards. We shall certainly convey your feedback to the concerned people, especially Guchi.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#63 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,406 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#94 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,781 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#32 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,146 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#22 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £96 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing