We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worthwhile upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #64 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, early Oct and had booked room only. The inexpensive upgrade we took gave a better room on the 25th floor with a great view along with breakfast served on the 28th floor, even better view, and an all day facilities for tea/coffe, soft drinks and nibbles. Then to cap it off between 530pm & 7.30pm free cocktails and canopes. It was a a great offer. Very good staff in fact sometimes too good, if you left a plate unattended while you browsed for more they would clear it.
The free shuttle service is very handy and it runs to the airport, great if it ties in with your flight.
Easily accessible by cab or the trams. approx 27p a trip.
I wouldn't hesitate to use it again.

Room Tip: Higher room facing the water give great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

906 - 912 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for six nights en route to UK. Really good value for money. The room was spotless and for Hong Kong had a very reasonable amount of space, ensuite inc. bath as well as shower. The price included free wi-fi in rooms, use of gym and swimming pool and a complimentary hotel bus operates to and from key areas of the city. There were plenty of eating places nearby and making our own way to other parts of the city was easy, either within walking distance or by very cheap and handy trams/buses when time was short. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a 'harbour view' room, which was about level 17, high enough to see over other buildi...
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank MostlyJolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the 4th time and as usual the service is what you come to expect from traders and shangrila. The location is a bit out of the way but its a short taxi or bus to sheng wan MTR and then you can go anywhere. Small rooms but well planned. Will continue to stay here when i next visit HK.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blingwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel_HK_13, General Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Blingwad1,

Many thanks for staying with Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again!

We are pleased to see that you have been enjoying staying in our hotel and continuously choose to stay with us as you come to visit Hong Kong. Your valuable comments are surely our best means to strive steadily to improve our standards.

Thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you in our hotel soon.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Do ask for a room that is on the 15th floor or above,the views are spectacular.
Our rooms were excellent.The service everywhere in the hotel was excellent.
Our every needs were attended to and anticipated.
The canapes and cocktails of an evening are excellent

Room Tip: We were on the 24th floor,views across the harbour were amazing The airconditioning is noisey and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel_HK_13, General Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear chris c,

Thank you for staying with Traders Hotel, Hong Kong on your last visit to Hong Kong.

We are delighted to hear that you find our rooms, service and food from Traders Lounge to be satisfying. We are also aware that you did not like our air-conditioning system. We shall look into this matter and take necessary steps to improve this situation.

In the meantime, should you want to provide more information please contact us via David.Preisig@tradershotels.com.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

It's true the train station is not near but the tram is just a block away and there is a reliable and punctual hotel shuttle which we never found to be full. There is much to love about the hotel, and much is perfect including the powerful shower, comfortable bed, the window seat where I sat and looked down on the the urban canyons, the bathroom scales, slippers and dressing gown, plenty of light, excellent black out curtains, hooks and surfaces, quietness in the room, free shoe shine service, breakfast and canape package at a great price, wonderful efficient staff. More likes: the kettle, brilliant quiet and responsive air con, daily papers left outside room. Recognition of a guest's "special date". The rooftop pool was fun but slightly disappointing, I had been hoping for more spectacular views down from it. Tiny quibbles were: the ghastly music in the breakfast room, tiny 2nd towels as compared to the superb bath towels (women need these smaller towels for their hair!), the glass panel in the bathroom door, the practice of leaving your used cutlery on your place mat when staff clear the breakfast plate.

Room Tip: We were in 2601.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel_HK_13, General Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear fourviolets,

Thank you very much for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your last visit to Hong Kong.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your special date in our hotel and had a pleasant stay. We appreciate your feedback on the music, towel size, and restaurant service. We will surely look into these issues.

In the meantime, should you want to provide us with more information please do not hesitate to contact us via David.Preisig@tradershotels.com.

Thank you again for your valuable comments and we look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Visiting this hotel last week, we were very pleasantly surprised. (Although surprised is not the good word, given the good reviews). The service of the personell was very friendly and attentive. We found the rooms very ergonomical, with an eye for detail. The were spacious enough (for Hong Kong matters) and very modern furnished. The restroom was separate from the shower. Different pillows to choose from, and a lot of other details. Very clean, no complaints whatsoever.
As to the situation a the western side of Hong Kong Island, we thought it was nice and something different, because of a lot of small Chinese shops, and we had a lot of nice tram drives. Tram is nearby, metro is not.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Great location of Hong Kong Island, pretty close to Hong Kong Train station, you can reach to Lantau Island and all other parts of Hong Kong. Great 5 o'clock tea and sushi and other aperratives. Friendly and warm staff, nice view of the city from the top floor and small, cute swimming pool. Definitely suggested, great deal, reasonable room rates.

Room Tip: Pick up Mountain view of city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeyyahBerat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#87 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,829 reviews
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#56 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,452 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,507 reviews
Sheung Wan
Hotel LBP
Hotel LBP
#59 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#59 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £87 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing