We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super friendly, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #62 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“super friendly, helpful staff”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Recently stayed at Traders for a week and found it was well located with easy public transportation and taxis always available. The food was excellent and had a choice of western and Asian dishes. The rooms, public areas and pool were very clean and well maintained. The staff, from Josie the director of marketing to the chambermaids and everyone on the front desk were super polite and helpful. A great place to stay!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    763
    180
    40
    26
See reviews for
276
552
206
359
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Courtice, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great rooftop pool very clean and well maintained.........the staff was super friendly and efficient most notable ones where; Josie director of sales, Lucy and Jessie on the front desk, Raymond the bellman, especially Jay who handled my very heavy luggage which probably weighed more than he did.....a great hotel and good value for the money .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Lynne L,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our colleagues accommodating and enjoyed our Rooftop pool. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving. We shall surely revert your comments to our colleagues, especially Josie, Lucy, Jessie and Jay.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Stayed at Traders on our way to Male so it was just one overnight. I have stayed here before and I find it a nice hotel in a good position. You can walk to the nearest MRT station but it does take some time. The best thing is to make sure you have an octopus card (public transport) and take th iconic hong kong tram to central station and from there you can commute anywhere. I see the western extension to the MRT is almost finished and the new station is right outside the front door - hopefully the won't hike the rates too much. The rooms are small but smart and always clean and neat. Staff are helpful and friendly. They seem to be doing some work on the front desk at the moment so check in and out is being done at a table - short term I hope.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasper G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Kasper G,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our colleagues accommodating and our guestrooms clean and neat. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Traders HK not only boast of great rooms, clean swimming pool with a fantastic view , good location, 'trendy' gym, good food BUT most of all great staff, beginning from their always-ready-to-help porter to a general manager who reads your mail; listen to your concerns; and ready to give in to your requests. It was a nice experience in Traders HK....I can always trade those 'other-good-hotel' experiences with a stay at Traders HK.

Room Tip: Get the room above the 12th and facing the harbour; swim early so you can have the pool all by yours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frndshpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear frndshpc,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our colleagues accommodating, our rooms impressive, swimming pool clean with nice view. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I staid for businss in Hong Kong for a few days and was looking for a property that wasn't far from the business centre, yet in a more authentic HK area. The Traders offered both. I booked a club room and was happy with it. My only caveat is that the matresses were too firm which I found a bit uncomfortable.

I used several options to go to the office at Central, ie walking to the MTR (25 mins), the tram to Central (30 mins & fun), and the hotel bus. All worked fine.

In comparison to some other Traders I have stayed at, this property is a bit more basic but still very enjoyable. Staff were very friendly and it presented excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Western District (or Shek Tong Tsui) almost opposite to a future MTR (Mass Transit Railway) station and amidst all kinds of eateries including McDonald and many Chinese restaurants. Although it's currently not near any operating MTR, it's very close to stations of trams, buses and mini-buses. The rooms are clean and the front desk staff are young, energetic and helpful in both English and Chinese (Mandarin and Cantonese). The washrooms at the end of the lobby level are smelly but at least cleaner than the public street washrooms. However, there's a doorman in uniform of age at least sixty-something who's not very friendly especially to the local and Chinese-looking visitors although he's almost always enthusiastic in helping the Western visitors; his eyesight was often more than suspicious as if he wanted to cross-examine why the visitor was there.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CityJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear CityJudge,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, and found our colleagues helpdul and our rooms clean. We are however disheartened to find our Lobby washrooms and service of our doorman not up to your expectation. Please rest assured that we are seriously looking into this issue, and improvement plans are currently in place to remedy these situation.

In the meantime, should you want to provide more information, please contact us via david.preisig@tradershotels.com. We thank you very much for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anguilla
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Traders Hotel is located in a fairly central area smack dab in the path of public buses, cars, pedestrians and just a stones throw away from a tram stop. However the staff will not tell you that your best bet is to take a tram to Central and or Hong Kong Station and avoid traffic and expenses. Instead they may (as they did with me for the better part of the week I stayed, gladly offered to get a taxi, even when none was forthcoming and I complained about delays). Having said that, the hotel does have a shuttle - which I took twice. The shuttles are still subject to the same traffic jams as taxis and you are also well advised to pay keen attention to the hotel's shuttle schedule as the times are not always consistent.

Having said that the hotel is really not far from everywhere else in Hong Kong Island. You get a great deal for the service and offerings they provide. Their executive club lounge offers breakfast and light snacks at other designated times of day. The breakfast is acceptable to good. I've had way worse but I've also had significantly better. It is not something you will likely complain about but it is not particularly inspiring either. The lounge staff are attentive and helpful. The cleaning staff were particularly pleasant and polite.

The rooms are relatively spacious by HK standards. They offer bedroom slippers and complimentary water and tea in the rooms, in addition to toothbrush, toothpaste, comb and free clothes press for those upgrading to executive club status. The rooftop pool is functional and nicely located with scenic harbour, city and mountain views. All at a fair price.

Traders by Shangri La is no 5 star hotel as it's famous Shangri La parent is, but in my opinion it's a good 3.5 star hotel with 4 to 4.5 star amenities. No one helped to lug my baggage upstairs to reception but then neither did anyone rush me to checkout and leave the hotel the minute checkout time arrived.

Overall Traders makes sense. There is a clear market for this type of modern take on a fairly priced business hotel with green-eco ethic and where the traveler does not have to sacrifice comfort for the luxury of not having an eye gouged out by high priced hoteliers.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenn_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Kenn_P,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you found our colleagues at the Traders Lounge and housekeeping staff accommodating, and our Rooftop pool functional with nice views. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#59 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#98 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Quarry Bay
EAST Hong Kong
EAST Hong Kong
#34 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#112 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,090 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing