We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food at cafe malacca abit pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #61 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Had a buffet for dinner at cafe malacca, the sushi and the indonesian keropok that i had was very nice, and also the mihun with crab, but would suggest the chief to take out the crab meat instead for ease of dine. Overall experience was good, there's some restaurant below and MacDonald and 7-11 is just nearby. Distance is 10-20 minutes from the city. Taxi charges starting at 22hkd and increases according to time. From mongkok to traders hotel was about 120hkd. Tram line that we took at Cheung wan was fast and cheap at only 12hkd to mongkok. Overall experience was good :)

Room Tip: Suggest free mini bar that includes snacks, and affordable soft drinks like beer and coke for the fr...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Fee808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,733)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jen Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

701 - 707 of 1,733 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Excellent hotel. Amenities and staff of a high quality, helpful with local knowledge and tips and always willing to go the extra for guests. A little outside the centre but the free shuttle bus and tramway on the doorstep makes it an ideal spot to relax in. Wonderful view of the bay and the roof top pool also gives an amazing scenic panorama - well worth the upgrade

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank KeithP469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear KeithP469,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, find our colleagues accommodating and our hotel amenities impressive. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving. We shall surely revert your comments to our colleagues.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have stayed here several times over the years every time I have stop-over in HK, since it open as hotel Jen, then the Trader's.
Love the room with Harbor View.
Other than steady increased price, this place is excellent.

Room Tip: The room near the lifts has better view than two sides in my experience, but not as quiet as rooms f...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lighthouse321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Good hotel with nice and clean, well set-up rooms, good price, good location. The hotel check-in and check-out situation is not good. Guests arrive and don't know where to wait for service. Staff have their backs to guests whilst using computers. It's confusing and inefficient which is a shame because everything else about this hotel was really good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Helen D,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are disheartened to learn that you did not find our reception counter functional. Please rest assure that we are seriously looking into the functionality of this mock-up counter, and improvement plans and currently in place to remedy this situation.

In the meantime, should you want to provide more information, please contact us via David.Preisig@tradershotels.com. Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Can't fault the hotel or the staff but the location is not the best if you want to rely on public transport. There are trams and buses nearby but you need to use these to get to the metro to buy your octopus card. Taxis are relatively inexpensive so probably the best alternative unless you want to sample what the locals do or you just like trams etc.
The hotel is spotless and the staff wonderful, especially on the 28th floor. We paid extra to use this facility which gives you breakfast, tea and coffee and cakes all day and drinks and canapés in the early evening. Shame we had to go sightseeing!
We did not use the buses as there is no route map or timetables and we only had two days.

Room Tip: Level 22 and above for a good view of the harbour and Kowloon night lights
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ros C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Ros C,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our colleagues especially those on Traders Lounge accommodating and our hotel clean. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving. We shall surely revert your comments to our colleagues. Complimentary shuttle bus schedule and the route map are available in guestroom drawers as well as all our digital boards at your convenience.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We travelled as a familiy of 4 and stayed in early April in the Traders. we had upgraded to 2 adjoining Traders Club Harbour View rooms. The Traders is not a really central location, but we used the courtesy shuttle to the central station each day, only a 10 minute ride. Also the Tram connections are 100m away and the Metro a short Taxi drive. Access to Kowloon and the Airport are easy. In fact we really enjoyed a more normal Hong Kong suburb , friendly and not rushed.
The upgrade was worth it for the use of the club lounge, with happy hour snacks and small dishes , excellent after a day on the move. Breakfast and service was excellent, no faults. will return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Traders Club Harbour View Room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hi_Text_Ricardinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Hi_Text_Ricardinho,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us and found our colleagues accommodating. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Arrived Sunday evening 25th of May, room is comfortable and functional, staff are very good and helpful, away from the tourist area, shuttle bus available .Will come back again and stay at Traders Queens west rd Hong Kong. Would recommend this hotel, if you wish to be away from the Tourist hub and very affordable rates and clean room, plus great Malay food restaurant Malacca second floor.

Room Tip: Do not go there if you wish to near Central or Causeway Bay
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citizengastronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Citizengastronaut,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, found our room comfortable, colleagues accommodating and food at Cafe Malacca impressive. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving.

Thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#62 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,372 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#87 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Mong Kok
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
Metropark Hotel Kowloon
#114 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,745 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#47 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#57 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#72 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £89 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing