We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back at Traders our favourite place to stay in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #60 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back at Traders our favourite place to stay in Hong Kong”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed at traders on several occasions and have always reviewed it as excellent. On this occasion we made our booking directly through the hotel rather than through the agent which arranged our flights. This enabled us to be precise about the floor and room we preferred. This was ready for us on our arrival. It was a pleasure to see so many of the hotel staff we have met on earlier occasions. They progress to higher positions but are still there to help us throughout our stay. An hotel which retains its staff is to recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Ruth R,

Welcome back to Traders Hotel, Hong Kong!

We are delighted to hear from you again, and learn that you enjoyed staying with us. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving. We shall surely relate your comments to our colleagues.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    778
    182
    40
    26
See reviews for
288
561
208
370
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived the hotel at 1:30 am and were sent to a smelly room with a shabby bathroom. We booked the room on May 2, 2014 and made full payment then. We specifically requested non-smoking room and told the hotel we were about to arrive at midnight. People at the front desk didn't say a word before we got into the elevator and found out by ourselves that our room is on a smoking floor. We returned to the front desk and requested to be changed to another room. The manager, Ms Wendy Leung, without even checking the booking system, told us this is the last room available. Wendy then very "nicely" sent a cleaning lady with an air fresher spray to the room. We tried to understand, ok, the hotel was not obliged to meet our requests. BUT, we got angry when we got into the room and saw the bathroom. That is not a bathroom of a four-starred hotel. Imagine a sink and a toilet seat of a public toilet of an old building. That's what we have there. We returned to the front desk again. Ms Wendy Leung, again, told us there was nothing they can do. That was the one last room. She also emphasized that the room was indeed what we booked. It must be some information on Agoda which misled us. We had no idea if she herself even believed what she said, but we found her not making any sense at all. It is NOT a guest room of a four-starred hotel and we are NOT fools. We don’t care whether it is the last room or not. All we want is a room that meets four-starred hotel room standard and fair services of a Shangri-La managed hotel. It is the hotel's responsibility to manage its bookings. Why its guests should bear with the consequences of their mismanagement. We would like to write to and call the general manager of the hotel and find out whether the room we stayed is a real guest room or just a employee rest room that Traders sells to its guests sometimes when they run out of rooms. Oh BTW, there were four mosquitos in the room. Remember to bring your own mosquito repellents, otherwise Ms. Leung will send a cleaning lady to spray your room again when you are about to sleep. In our case, we didn't let her in.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get room 404 or any other employee rest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jenah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago. This were our second stay at Traders HK, we took family as we had a fantastic experience with other family last year. We stayed in a Club Harbour view room. No one greeted us immediately on arrival at the hotel, we got to the lift and a staff member came over and took our suitcases, said they would be taken to our rooms. We were checked in by Cherry in the Club Lounge, really friendly and efficient. We then went to the rooms which are nice, very clean and a nice size. We waited for our suitcases for 30 minutes, no sign of them so called guest services and then again and eventually 90 minutes later they appeared, very slow!!!
We chose the Club rooms as the staff were fantastic before, they made us and our family's stay very special and so this is the reason we returned, they could not do enough for us.
After two nights we were so disappointed and let down by the service in the Club Lounge, staff were ignoring guests and stood chatting around the desk, we had to ask for drinks, tables were not being emptied, not at all like the trip we had previously when they could not do enough for us. I completed the online feedback advising them of our disappointment and TBH did not think it would make a difference to our trip. Well they did immediately make a difference, Guchi who had not been in the Club Lounge the past two nights made up for the poor service over the rest of our stay. She advised us that the other staff were training. Thanks to Guchi the service improved drastically over night, she really looked after us all. My family left the hotel with lovely memories and there stay in HK!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoriaholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Victoriaholly,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are disheartened to learn that you did not find our colleagues accommodating and luggage delivery efficient. Please rest assure that we are seriously looking into the above mentioned problems, and improvement plans and currently in place to remedy this situation.

In the meantime, should you want to provide more information, please contact us via David.Preisig@tradershotels.com. Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The rooms in this hotel are modern and pleasantly furnished with clean lines and neutral colours. The standard rooms are small, but not uncomfortably cramped by general Hong Kong standards. Our interconnecting rooms each had a window seat, which provided convenient extra surface space to lay out our things. The bathroom has good shelf space, though one negative is that it has a frosted glass door and shapes behind the frosted glass are vaguely discernable if you stand near enough. But only the most modest persons are likely to find this to be a deal breaker. It is a reasonably priced hotel, perhaps partly due to its location in the Western District, away from more central parts of Hong Kong Island. This means that the surrounding areas are authentically local, with small shops and cafes ('cha chaan teng') where one can eat an interesting breakfast or have a snack or meal throughout the day or night, and even buy a takeaway midnight snack. A regular scheduled shuttle runs to the MTR. We did not take the tram, but saw it running nearby. There is a small rooftop swimming pool and terrace, which is a great amenity for a hotel of this class in crowded Hong Kong, so I hesitate to mention that the hotel building just clears the not especially attractive tops of the neighbouring tall buildings which are quite close in the foreground of the harbour view.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyFairD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I was speaking at a 4 day conference at HG University and could not have been happier with the choice. I took a convenient (pre-booked) airport shuttle arriving at Traders just before 8:00 am. As Crystal was checking me in I realized I forgot my back pack on the bus, after a long 21 hour flight from New York. Crystal called the shuttle, they confirmed the back pack and dropped it off on the next trip in. Crystal arranged for a room by 9:30 as my back pack arrived. The only disappointment is the lobby, one flight up off the street and decorated in stark white tile and glass. It is shared with a small, moderately used bar. Clerks check you in from in front of the counter so it is a bit more impersonal than most and comfortable but not inviting, but a mild disappointment. The room was small like most HK hotel rooms: stylish, very clean, nice size closet, two little drawers a problem if you travel with a companion. The bathroom was well laid out, bed very comfortable, nice variety of lighting, and a sweet angular window nook with a chair. My room was on the 14th floor back, which looked out on neighboring buildings enough distance away to provide some light and privacy. They had a special deal at approximately $50 a day that gives you access to a member lounge on the 28th floor as well as some business related amenities. I highly recommend it if you plan on conducting business or staying with a spouse/partner. The view from the lounge/breakfast room is stunning and laid out in a very dignified casual way. One flight up on the roof is a fitness room and large rectangular pool both with stunning views of the islands and waterways (pool robes in your room). Malacca Restaurant on the 2nd floor is equally stylish with a mixture of Malaysian and Singaporean cuisine and a nice breakfast buffet. Dinner/breakfast are moderately priced and delicious. The staff all speak English and are friendly and accommodating. Free hotel shuttle service takes you to Central Station for trains to HK Airport and access to the heart of Hong Kong shopping. Traders is also convenient to Victoria Peak. I had a lovely stay and would gladly go back..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank r_dickens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear r_dickens1,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, find our colleagues helpful and breakfast and meals at Cafe Malacca impressive. We are also aware of the layout of our reception counter. Please note that the counter is a brand new concept and we are going through a testing period. We are fine-tuning the check-in process to provide better service and higher efficiency.

In the meantime, should you want to provide more information, please contact us via David.Preisig@tradershotels.com. Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The hotel is convenient and the rooms are so efficient organized. The people at the reception are great, especially the duty managers take good care.
Internet is fast, enough plugs for electronical instruments, view to the harbor is good, car parking service is perfect.
To be improved: The reception desk. The staff has to run around, better than then island solution before, but it is not convienient. A certain distance to the customer is not a disadvantage.
I just like it and it is one of the best solutions to stay in HK for business.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Uwe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Uwe H,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong again for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, find our colleagues accommodating and Internet connection steady and efficient. We are also aware your feedback towards the design of our reception counter. We are fine-tuning our new check-in counter to provide higher efficiency and convenience for guests.

In the meantime, should you want to provide more information, please contact us via David.Preisig@tradershotels.com. Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in the executive Traders Club Room.
On arrival we were greeted and checked in by a member of staff, some guests have stated in their reviews they didn't like this concept however I actually like the open relaxed feeling of checking in, as this breaks down any barriers of having a reception desk separating the guest from the staff member.
We were swiftly checked in and our room was very clean and had large amounts of toiletries, iron, tea/coffee and bottled water. I also loved the fact you have an empty fridge as I placed my water and soft drink in this which I had purchased from the local seven eleven.
The rooms are compact however this is the same for all hotels in Hong Kong as land is rented at a premium, however the room was kept very clean and was comfortable. (Thanks Housekeeping)
It is a good idea to pay the extra for Club room as you have access to breakfast and evening cocktails which are included in the package.
I made use of the Club lounge the staff were excellent and I wanted to say a big thank you to Guchi, who was the best member of staff who knew me by name what I had for breakfast and also what I drank during the evening she was amazing.
The area the hotel situated in is in a populated locals area and there are lots of food shops and restaurants close by which are reasonably priced as well.
I would recommend making use of the hotels complementary transport service which runs to the MTR central station every hour, you can even check-in to your flight at central station.
Overall could not fault the hotel had an enjoyable and relaxing stay, staff were great would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Adelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traders_Hotel-HK, Manager at Hotel Jen Hong Kong, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Adelguy,

Thank you for choosing Traders Hotel, Hong Kong for your current visit to Hong Kong, and your time to write about us.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed staying with us, find our reception counter impressive, colleagues accommodating and our hotel amenities impressive. Your feedback is one of our best means to continuously improving. We shall surely relate your encouraging feedback to our colleagues, especially Guchi.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you soon again at Traders Hotel, Hong Kong.

Sincerely

David Preisig
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#59 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,339 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#97 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,700 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
The Cityview Hong Kong
The Cityview Hong Kong
#85 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,303 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#48 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing