We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Courtyard Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand City Hotel(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
338 Apartment(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Mia Casa Hotel(Hong Kong)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,853)
Filter reviews
1,853 results
Traveller rating
748
836
199
42
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
748
836
199
42
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstraders hotelwestern districthku mtr stationcafe malaccashangri la groupkennedy townthe club loungerooftop poolharbour viewshuttle bustop floorhk stationhotel is locatedairport expresscentral areaoctopus cardrooms are small
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,464 - 1,469 of 1,853 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We agree with the positive reviews for Hotel Jen. Hotel Jen was an interesting mix - the hotel itself was clean, modern and had all that we needed for a short holiday stay. Its location was in the Western District which was more a local area and so a little distance away from the MTR stations.

There are various ways to get to the hotel - foot, tram, bus, Airport Express Shuttle, hotel shuttle and taxi. Taxi from the Hong Kong Airport Express Station was about $45HKD. A tram ride was $2HKD. The hotel provided an hourly shuttle from the hotel to Central and Admiralty with a few other stops in between, including the Ferry pier. It took us about 45mins to walk to the Central MTR station (with the Sheung Wan station in between). Taxis could be waved down easily around the hotel.

Around the hotel there were lots of small shops, Chinese bakeries and eateries, which provided us an opportunity to get a feel of how locals live (and pay local prices!). There is a ParknShop supermarket around the corner (3mins away). Western food options included MacDonalds and KFC.

The room was clean and modern, and included an LCD TV, safe, hairdryer, internet connection, iron and ironing board - just what we needed for a short stay. The bathroom was a reasonable size. It had a combined bath and shower.

We didn't eat at the hotel. The gym is a typical hotel gym - enough for a simple cardio workout plus weights. There is a roof top pool - about 15m (not heated).

Overall, we would recommend Hotel Jen for people who like a clean, modern hotel without too many frills. While the location is not central, there are plenty of transport options and taxis on the street to make it easy to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleYarYar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2009

We are a firm of architects and were on a study tour of Hong Kong buildings. Our team consisted of 8 people and we stayed at Hotel Jen. Our experience at Hotel Jen was a pleasant one from beginning to end. Ivan and Joyce of management and their staff did all that they could do to ensure that we had an enjoyable stay. 3 of our rooms were upgraded from the mountain view to the harbour view (which was amazing). The hotel is modern and comfortable. We liked the Sky Lounge on the 28th floor with its spectalular views where we had our breakfasts in the mornings and cocktail drinks in the evening. On the last day of our stay we booked out at 10am but were only due to be collected by bus for transfer to the airport at 8pm. Hotel Jen management were very accommodating to us in that they allowed us the use of a room to shower and freshen up before leaving on the bus for the airport. Thanks to all at Hotel Jen for the wonderful stay - we hope to return and visit you again. Mare Malan, South Africa

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mieksm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

This is actually my third stay within a period of three months. I must say that they have consistently kept up to the high standards since my first stay in January. Each and every staff member is helpful and polite. The front desk staff and conceirge are always ready to provide assistance.

Rooms are spacious and well-maintained. Design of the rooms is very sleek, modern and chic-looking. All rooms come with an iron and ironing board which come in handy when you are rushing for a meeting and need your shirt to be pressed in the shortest possible time. There is also a decent-size safe in every room to safekeep all your valuables. Also, the rooms are well-stocked with toiletries and coffee/tea bags. Hotel come with a well-equipped gym and a swimming pool which offers guests a spectacular and lovely harbour view.

The hotel shuttle is very handy and efficient; you can get to Sheung Wan MTR station in less than 8 minutes, Central Ferry Pier in about 10 minutes, and Central/Admiralty in about 20 minutes. For thos taking the Airport Express, the shuttle does make a stop at the Hong Kong Airport Express station for your convenience!

There are two areas this hotel can improve on:
(1) changing of bedlinen should be done based on the choice of the guests instead of having a rigid system of changing the bedlinen only on Tues/Thurs/Sat. Most hotels use the card system where guests can leave a card on the bed to indicate that changing of bedlinen is unnecessary.

(2) the toilets at the gym/swimming pool area should come with shower facilities. If guests were to suntan at the pool, they may find it rather uncomfortable to have to wear their clothes on their oily (as in the use of suntanning oil) body and go back to their rooms to wash up.

Overall, three very nice experiences at the hotel so far and I am anticipating more value for money stays at Hotel Jen in time to come. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone who's heading to Hong Kong!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sgkel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Jen for one night, I wanted to stay at the Wesley Hotel in Admiralty but he was keen to stay at Jen after reading the reviews on tripadviser, we booked at a standard room with double bed through a local travel agent when we checked in all the queen size bed rooms were gone so they gave us two options: have a twin bed room or pay extra and upgrade to mountain view or harbour view room with sky lounge facilities, so we booked a mountain view room the room was small but its HK, breakfast was not bad, in terms of location its a little out of the way but you can make use of the hotel shuttle or take tram or taxi to get around. Make sure you have the chinese address of the hotel as not all taxi drivers know this hotel.

There is macdonalds, kfc, 7-11 and bakery near the hotel. You can take bus 104 (to Kennedy Town) from Kowloon (Mongkok, Yaumatei) and it stop near the hotel, save the hassle of taking MTR to Sheung Wan and then taxi or tram to hotel.

Service was good but for that price there are better options on the island. Overall it was good.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HongkieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I have used Trip Advisor many times in the past for planning trips throughout Europe, North America and Asia, but had not joined or offered my own comments until now. However I was so impressed by my recent stay at the Hotel Jen Hong Kong with my partner that I was moved to join and write this review.

I am an experienced leisure & business traveler & let me start by saying the Jen offers exceptional value in its club rooms certainly worthy of the 4 star rating.

We stayed in a Jen (Club) Room for 5 nights from 12 March and had a simply brilliant stay. We had a really comfortable Harbour View room on 22nd floor that looked just like the photo on the Jen Website (and yes, the windows were clean; albeit the same can’t always be said for the Hong Kong air itself).

Our deal was inclusive of cooked breakfasts in the Sky Lounge (28th Floor), Happy Hour (Free wine Beer, Canapés / Bar Snacks) for 2 hour each day from 6 - 8 pm, $HK100 towards the minibar each day which was also cumulative, and free High Speed Internet (we brought our own laptop PC which was great for fact-finding, keeping friends jealous through frequent Facebook updates &downloading our photos & videos on the run).

The breakfasts were of a very acceptable typical club standard (cereal, fruit, eggs, hash browns, sausages, bacon etc and cold cuts, juices; I only provide this detail because a previous reviewer complained that this wasn't apparently enough!). The wines / beers / snacks on offer during the nightly happy hours were very acceptable (we drank mostly Heineken Beer and a very good Chilean White wine; not dissimilar to lightly oaked Australian Chardonnay). Hong Kong Beer was on offer, but it is certainly not Heineken (or even Tiger for that matter); but hey, trying the local stuff is all part of the experience of travel!

With an already inclusive breakfast and happy hour, we found we couldn't use up our minibar credits even over 5 days; typically the $100 covered 3-4 drinks and Pringles. Indeed our only extras bill for the entire 5 days went to some laundry and Airport Transfer which the Hotel Jen kindly arranged at our request.

We found the service to be excellent and attentive and the details of the offer were clearly explained to us in English at check-in. At any time if we required assistance or further information (e.g. suggestions for local traditional massage, airport transfers, transit times) the staff were polite and helpful without an exception.

A few general considerations need to be factored in to any travel in Hong Kong 1) Hotel rooms are generally smaller than in many other cities, even in Asia (space is at a premium here; just look outside your window!), however the Jen Rooms were quite spacious by HK standards. One thing to consider in the Jen Room is that you walk directly into the ante-area that doubles as the basin area for the bathroom (the shower and WC are contained in separate cubicles directly adjoining this space). There is a sliding screen that can be used to separate this area from the sleeping area, however we personally we found the design to be very functional for 2 persons. 2) English fluency varies through HK, but most staff at the Jen have good to excellent fluency. The hostesses generally spoke excellent English & demonstrated first-class customer service skills. The porters and waiters generally spoke a little less, but they were obliging and very prepared to help if you take your time to explain yourself. 3) The Jen is approximately a 10-15 minute shuttle ride to the main areas of HK Island (e.g. Central) located in the Western Districts which is renown for representing the ‘real’ (i.e. traditional) Hong Kong and is located a few km from the nearest MTR (rail station). This may be a little far out for some compared to staying right in Central (or across the Harbour in Kowloon), however there are regular buses and trams nearby, plus the hotel runs a free shuttle service approximately every hour until around 7pm to the main transport hubs (Macau Ferry, Star Ferry to Kowloon, MTR (underground train). We used the shuttle quite a bit, but if we couldn't be bothered to wait, or were returning later, then we often used taxis which are cheap (around $HK26-30), honest and plentiful. Indeed I don't think we waited more than 2 minutes for a taxi at any time around HK day or night.

In our experience the Hotel Jen was a real “Hidden Gem”. We would definitely recommend it (particularly the inclusive Jen Floor deals) and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Correz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews