We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good deal in the midst of priciness” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #66 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good deal in the midst of priciness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2009

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Jen twice during our visits to Hong Kong. We thought the room we had was pretty nice, especially considering how expensive rooms in HK are and that we got this for a pretty good rate ($700 HKD/nt). Rooms are really tiny, but they all are in HK. Everything else was nice, very clean and comfortable. We are not big swimmers, but spent some time at the rooftop pool for the view and just because it was a really neat idea!

Not all taxi drivers know where the hotel is... we had to ask several when we first got there before someone knew. It's a good idea to get a business card from the hotel and keep it with you.

We would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank audjie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    605
    731
    173
    40
    26
See reviews for
263
530
197
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

Booked through the Agoda website for $50 US a night. Great view of the harbor, I was on the 27th floor. As many have said in previous review this property is a little far from the MTR, however the Tram takes you to the MTR for 2HKD and it is a fun ride, kind of old school. The room was nice, not large but not as small as some have said. The free breakfast was nice and the mini bar credit is a cool idea. Not sure about the internet, I just used my iPod from some of the local bars.

Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank BSniego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed here as a treat at the end of our backpacking China trip. We were not disappointed. The rooms were modern and comfortable, the staff were really friendly and the extra touches really set this place apart.
The rooftop pool was so amazing to swim in at sunset as the views over the island were amazing and the water was nice and warm. Just below the rooftop pool is the bar area and each evening we were there the hotel offered free drinks and snacks to the guests between 6pm - 8pm. I asked management and they say that they alsways do this so... what more can you want! So each day after walking around Hong Kong we would return to the hotel for a 5 o clock swim and then a couple of beers served aside sushi, cheese platters and spring rolls. the view from the bar are great although perhaps not the best vantage point for the light show nonetheless stunning.
Hotel Jen has laods of trams running near it and a good market just down the road. the breakfast served here is totally great with a friendly omlette chef on hand to cook your omlette fresh to order!
When we return to Hong Kong we will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlesinsomnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

If you're looking for a hotel on the island, this is the one! Although not in the city (the hotel is located in the western district which is mainly residential) the hotel offers all the amenities of a five star city hotel. Only one block from the Island tram line, park 'n shop, McDonalds and Watsons all across the street, and the price, UNbeatable!
We paid a little extra for a Jen room which had the most spectacular views of the harbour, along with access to the Jen lounge for evening drinks and nibbles AND breakfast in the mornings AND unlimited in room internet!
Check in was smooth and faultless, our bags were even brought to our room (definitely not what I expect from a 'four' star hotel).
Rooms were superbly clean, bathroom immaculate and modern, and a sweet little day bed by the window to take in the harbour view! Again, what more could you ask for! We even received a complimentary fruit plate on our second day!
The only fault would be that the hotel is not close by an MTR station. One is being built next door, however currently the closest is Sheung Wan which is a 15 minute tram ride, or $25 (cheap as chips) taxi ride away.
Everything is modern, clean and user friendly. Complimentary amenities are more than I've found in Sofitel or Sheraton and again, the views fantastic. The pool and gym are on the roof, with views of the harbour and mountains.
If you're staying in the western district, or even on the island, go past Ramada or Harbour plaza, this hotel is the one to stay at!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank syd_traveller_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Lakes, Arizona
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

Our tour group of 13 stayed at the Hotel Jen in September, this hotel is on the HK Island side of the city. We were lucky and had a Jen room with a view of the bay and a little larger room than our other friends, the rooms were fine, clean and modern furniture, restaurant was great for breakfast. They have a free shuttle several times a day to the Train Terminal, Start Ferry, Stanley Market. Great Value.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DINKS521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in September and it's my first time travelling alone. the hotel is really nice and cozy... clean and modern deco. It's a real bargain i paid HKD850 per nite for the room with habour view & breakfast.. the room is well-maintained with good amenities not the usual tiny HK hotel ... totally enjoyed the stay...

The only minus point is the location but as mentioned by the rest of the travellers, there will be a new MTR station near the hotel..

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yaya_tansg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

This is a few you can find in Hong Kong... low budget with quality~ I stayed in the standard room... Althought the room is a little bit small but the layout and style is great~ with this price I cannot believe I can have the startard like this... specially the ice-making machine located at every 3-4 floors...
I would stay agin and again~

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolzero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#60 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#92 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
Dorsett Wanchai, Hong Kong
#109 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quarry Bay
EAST Hong Kong
EAST Hong Kong
#29 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Sheung Wan
Butterfly on Waterfront
Butterfly on Waterfront
#79 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Property: Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#55 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#63 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag and Hotelopia so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing