We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and New”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Jen Hong Kong
Ranked #63 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2009

Its away from the hustle and bustle of Kowloon and thats its USP rather than its drag. The location is awesome, specially if you are lucky like me to be on the 27th floor with a harbour view room. The rooms and the hotel overall is made afresh and hence is modern in its outlook. The rooms are small as is expected in Hong Kong, but things are well organised. The one thing that could be added is latches to the bathrooms.

The rooftop swimming pool and gym are beautiful. The staff is friendly as expected. Internet is charged here, but its a broadband wifi system.

Hotel Jen is in the Western District on Queens Road West. About 30 mins from anywhere in Hong Kong.

If you are Indian and more specifically Vegetarian, make sure you eat at Wan Chai based Indian Restaurants and not the ones in Kowloon (as is recommended by anyone). The ones in Kowloon are more dingy joints than restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank suranasunil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,374 - 1,380 of 1,779 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2009

Hotel Jen is located just a few kms from Central. I was cautious of booking this hotel because some reviews described it as out of the way. But we found there were trams and buses arriving every few minutes within a block of the hotel. I love the trams because you can watch Hong Kong cruise by from up top while you rattle slowly along.
The hotel has a shuttle bus that loops around the main Island destinations every hour and the drivers are helpful advising where to alight and which way to go to for ferries, buses or shopping.
Best of all, the A10 City Flyer express bus from the airport stops across the street from the hotel (stop 6) and takes just 30 minutes for less than $US7. Buses leave every 30 minutes.
The rooms are small but then this is Hong Kong where that seems to be the norm. But they are modern and spotlessly clean. The hotel is a little quirky but everything is well thought out and it all just works perfectly. We got a Jen harbourview room which costs more but is in the upper floors with a fantastic view over the harbour, and comes with a full breakfast and you also get a minibar allowance of $HK100 a day - enough for a couple of beers - well worth the upgrade. The discount sites like Agoda always seems to have special offers for this hotel.
The breakfast is excellent if you go to the second floor for the full breakfast. There is also continental breakfast on the 28th floor with a great view. But if you have a Jen Harbourview Room, you already have that view from your room so we went for the full breakfast.
The staff were very friendly and helpful without exception like they loved working there.
We were rapt with the place; so much nicer than others I have stayed in in Hong Kong and I will always stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KEMerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2009

Lovely modern hotel, a little way out on HK Island but only a 1 min walk to the nearest tram which will wizz you straight into the centre for a matter of a few pence and of course there is the free courtesy bus.

Make sure you get a club room, free drinks and snacks between 6pm - 8pm and a view that will linger long in the memory.

We had a throughly enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel without a doubt.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank acfdny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2009

This hotel is faultless. Great service in a great location. Within walking distance of the tram but less convenient to the metro it was in an engrossing part of town easily accessible to the rest of the island. As for the service, we were checked into our rooms immediately even though we arrived early. The rooms are clean and make efficient use of space. I will definitely be staying here again and would strongly recommend it to anyone visiting Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank UrbanForm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

This was our second visit to the Hotel Jen and we are going back for a third. Yes it is a bit out of the way but stay here and you get an authentic Hong Kong experience not just the touristy stuff, The tram is 4minutes walk away and is a bargain.
The rooms are modern and clean and the room we requested and were given had a brilliant view of Hong Kong Harbour and was a great spot to people watch.
The only downer for us was the lack of fluent english amongst the staff but we coped and after all who are we to say that the whole world should speak english. We are staying there again in March 2010 and we can't wait.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

While the room is clean, the bathroom is old and the water pressure is extremely poor. The walls are thin, and I could hear the elevators every morning even though my room is the furthest from the elevators. There are large groups of tour that stay in the hotel, which means I get woken up very early in the morning when people leave for their tours early in the morning. I would not recommend staying at this hotel despite the cheap deal.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaddness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Fantastic Hotel. Cheap, clean, great service! In the Western District of Hong Kong. Soem rooms with impressive seaview and cityview.

Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NobiN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sai Wan
Courtyard Hong Kong
Courtyard Hong Kong
#67 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,423 reviews
Sai Wan
Island Pacific Hotel
Island Pacific Hotel
#88 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,805 reviews
Tin Hau
Metropark Hotel Causeway Bay Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#25 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,480 reviews
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
Sheung Wan
Ovolo Noho
Ovolo Noho
#29 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jen Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Address: 508 Queen's Road West, Western District, Hong Kong, China (Formerly Traders Hotel, Hong Kong)
Region: China > Hong Kong > Sai Wan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#54 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#58 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £94 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jen Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jen Hong Kong, offers 283 elegant rooms and suites. From the economical to opulent, each room is characterised by clean lines and functional creativity. These accommodations are enhanced by wireless Internet connections, LCD televisions and sweeping views of Victoria Harbour, Hong Kong city and distant mountains. 3 Rooms caters to disabled guests, and 84 rooms have connecting doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Jen Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jen Hotel Hong Kong
Hotel Jen Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing