We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not my hotel next time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Hong Kong North Point
Ranked #160 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not my hotel next time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2007

I stayed in this hotel 4 weeks on July 2006.

The rooms ARE small, so that only place you can put your luggages are under the bed. Otherways you can't move in room. The picture do not tell you thruth.

My room carpet was really dirty (what ever dropped into it) and I asked to change room but the other room floow was as dirty as first one. Not really nice at all.

Staff was nice and helpfull. Breakfast not worth of money at all.

Use this hotel only if you are travelling with low budget as possible.
Been in HK many times and I know rooms are usually smalla but this is bit too small. No cold box or good place for your clothes so you have to keep them in you luggage.

Vesa from Finland

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Vesa-Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    1,122
    818
    205
    102
See reviews for
335
716
625
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
new york, ny
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

the room is small but so are most rooms in hong kong that are of the same class. i travelled solo so i found the room to be quite acceptable. the place was neat and the view was quite nice, overlooking the highway and water. the location was great, on the same block of north point station if you get off the right exit. it was strange that reception was on the first floor while the entrance was on the ground floor and there is no security when you enter but it is quite safe. the room may be tight with two travellers but i believe it's worth the price.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank judy1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2007

I stayed in Ibis North Point for 3 nights in August 2007. I stayed in Ibis in Vienna and Milan and I thought that Ibis Hong Kong should be alike. But It proved to be a horrific experience for me and I wouldn't advise anyone to try this hotel. It should be declassified, shut down and renovated. And it is not about the size of the room (given the case, it should be clearly indicated on sites) but about the stains and spots which are everywhere, on the corridors carpets, on the tiles from the bathroom, on the blankets on beds etc. And if you take a look to the wall paper colour you freeze. It has various tones of grey to black. The first room I entered smelled of urine, like the closet never being washed with detergent. I had to ask for the second, which was as dirty as the previous one but without that particular smell. Unfortunately it was to late for me to change the hotel because I had already given it as meeting point to some friends. In brief, the hotel is much dirtier than words could describe it and any dollar you pay for a room there is waisted.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — It is very dirty.
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Bucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2007

This is a nice clean hotel especially if you are on a tight budget.
Rooms are small with very little room to move around, but i think for one person is fine. I had my gf living with me and we managed to get through the 4 days without much dramas because most of the time, we're out shopping, seeing friends and enjoying the place.(you suppose do that in HK anyway)

Showerhead had very good pressure( a plus for me) and location is very convenient to North Point MTR(2 minutes walk) and bus terminal is across the road. Airport connection to hotel by bus is very simple, catch the A11 and ride all the way to the end.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EC_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2007

I stayed at the hotel a short while ago. I'm not sure what all of the negative reviews are for to be honest... some people expect to sleep in a suite when they are only paying around 450HK$ per night! Get real! The Ibis website does state the rooms are 'compact'.

For the price, I was very happy with what I got for my money. Hong Kong is expensive for accommodation, and I did not want to break the bank so to speak.

My room was spotlessly clean, and serviced daily.

The hotel is located just a 10 seconds walk away from the North Point metro station, so you can be in Central within a matter of minutes thanks fo the highly efficient sytem.

Also, the A10 shuttle bus from Hong Kong International Airport terminates right opposite the hotel. Really practical when you have luggage. :o)

I have stayed in more expensive hotels in Hong Kong, but for double the price, the only difference that I got in return for my money was a larger room. The customer service, room servicing was of equal standard to higher graded hotels.

I have stayed in many Ibis hotels in Europe, and this hotel did reach the standards of the chain.

In summary, I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a cheap stay, that is well connected to Hong Kong's transport infrastructure. I am going to HK again in early 2008 and have already booked my room at the Ibis!

  • Liked — Price and location next to the metro station and airport bus terminus.
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAZZAWAZZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelvedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2007

Stayed here for ten days and it was well worth it. Right on the Island line MTR Route so getting around was really easy. Oppisite ferry piers to Hung Hom & Kowloon City. Central Mtr ins about 20 minutes from here. Rooms are smallish but then space is at a premium in Hong Kong. Rooms serviced every day, fresh towels etc. Resturant in hotel is amazing, excellent food at amazing prices, highly reccomended. Next door is great Chinese resturant called "You Me You Me" try it, great food. Dont use the hotel laundry service, its a rip off. Next to hotel in the alley way is a small laundry who will do a plastic bag full of laundry in three hours for 25HKD, open from 8am to 9pm. Hotel has internet service etc. Good all round place to stay, east access into Hong Kong centre, most main tourist places only 30 mins away max.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2007

We chose to stay here against the advice of previous reviews as the room rate was so cheap. Please do not make the same mistake. This hotel is awful, from start to finish.
We checked in with only one word from the receptionist demanding our passports - and that was it, she didn't even tell us our room number!
The room is extremely small - pretty much the same size as the small double bed. Absolutely no room for moving around or for storage. I know Hotel Ibis is a budget chain, but the rooms here are a LOT smaller than other Hotel Ibis we have stayed in. Please do not underestimate this point.

In addition, the room was dirty - hairs in the bed and a strong smell of urine throughout the room and the corridor outside. The average wait for a lift was literally 5 minutes, which was frustrating at times.

On the up side, it is pretty much next door to North Point MTR station and convenient for the trams down to Central.

Checking out was horrendous - one person on the desk, and a long queue led to a wait of nearly 40 minutes! Didn't even receive an apology for the delay.

Really, really bad hotel - overall, probably the worst I have ever stayed in. Please, please avoid.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank crispy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Sheung Wan
Ibis Hong Kong Central & Sheung Wan Hotel
iclub Fortress Hill Hotel
#105 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quarry Bay
Harbour Plaza North Point
Harbour Plaza North Point
#113 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Jordan / Yau Ma Tei
Silka Seaview Hotel
Silka Seaview Hotel
#173 of 718 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Tin Hau
Butterfly on Victoria
Butterfly on Victoria
#63 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Hong Kong North Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hong Kong North Point

Property: Ibis Hong Kong North Point
Address: No.138 Java Road, North Point, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > North Point
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Hong Kong North Point 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Hong Kong North point is located in the heart of North Point area. All forms of transportation are easily accessible with the Mass Transit Railway next door, bus, tram and ferry stops nearby.Make yourself at home… Inviting, modern, spacious and comfortable, with a cosy bed and a functional bathroom. Your choice from our comfort standard room or breath taking Harborview room. Your room has everything that you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Ibis Hong Kong North Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Century Hotel
Ibis Hong Kong North Point
Hong Kong Ibis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing