We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location, awesome staff, even more awesome breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #26 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Awesome location, awesome staff, even more awesome breakfast”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

I stayed at the JW Marriott Hong couple a couple of weeks ago and for those that are interested in "seeing" the property I put up a video review of the hotel on youtube here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a7cfX6duGZA

I also stayed at the Conrad Hong Kong on this trip... and for those that are debating between the JW or the Conrad, I'd highly recommend the JW Marriott. I felt the rooms at the JW were nicer, the staff was more attentive, and the breakfast at the JW was FAR superior to that at the Conrad. Yes, the Conrad has better views of the harbor from the guest rooms, but the JW Marriott also has an excellent view of the harbor from the Concierge Lounge if your room doesn't have one.

The JW Marriott is located on Hong Kong Island within a short walk (<5min) of the Admirality MTR station via underground tunnel. The hotel is also situated directly above the Pacific Place shopping mall. For those that want to do some grocery shopping, there is a grocery store in the basement level of the Pacific Place shopping mall. Overall it's an excellent location for tourists or business travelers.

To get to the hotel from the airport I took the Airport Express train to the final "Hong Kong" stop which takes about 20 minutes from the airport. From the airport train station I took the complimentary Airport Express Shuttle Bus -- H1. The ride on the H1 shuttle took about 7 minutes to reach the JW Marriott... very easy.

Upon arrival at the JW Marriott the bell staff grabbed my luggage and directed me to the check-in desk. Check in was easy and the front desk staff indicated they had booked me in to a "quiet room" per my request, and I was upgraded to the Executive level. Once my check-in paperwork was completed, I was escorted to my room by the staff-member that processed my check-in AND the bell-boy that had my luggage.

The check-in assistant showed off the various bells and whistles in the room, like how the curtains open by the push of a button, while the bell-boy set my luggage up on a stand. After being in the room for about 10 minutes, housekeeping rang the doorbell with a special "welcome gift" of hot-tea and a fruit plate. The housekeeping staff that brought the tea also poured it in to a cup before leaving.

As a Gold/Platinum Marriott Rewards member I was given the option of breakfast in the lounge of the Marriott Cafe. Definitely take breakfast in the Marriott Cafe. It's easily the best Marriott breakfast I've ever had. Not only is the food awesome, and the staff is super attentive and polished.

The room itself was very nice... my words won't do it justice, so just watch the video .

Overall I had an excellent stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone going to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank YellowProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,325
    668
    146
    33
    21
See reviews for
494
418
157
830
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

The JW Marriott may not be the newest hotel and could possibly use a small update, but they deliver a quality overall experience at a super convenient location. Connected to Pacific Place gives you access to first class shopping, restaurants, and easy access to the underground. Additionally, you can easily venture to Wan Chai and points beyond. Service at the hotel is friendly and attentive, as expected of a property of this costs. You can feel sure of a positive experience and enjoyable stay while visiting Hong Kong should you choose this location.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oslo, norway
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

The location was just perfect - in the middle of everything. Shops. restaurants, ferries, the tram to the peak, etc. The hotel staff was very friendly and professional, We were very good taken care of. The view from the hotel room was georgeous - the higher the floor the better. I engjoyed the stay enormously and would have liked to stay longer than the just two nights. The only negative thing I found was the stiff price for gin and tonics.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kikami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suisse
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Upon arrival, a very nice receptionist upgraded us for our wedding anniversary plus pampered us with a bottle of champagne and 3 chocolate mousse. What a start! In the evening, there was a jazz band at the bar who war amazing. The breakfast is the morning is so impressive and delicious. Leaving Hong Kong was sad and leaving this hotel made it harder.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalialb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My husband attend his annual conference in March and we stay for three nights. The room rates was extremely expensive and it didn't include breakfast. The room was regular sized, small in Hong Kong hotel, but it has got this stuffy funny smell so I ended up requesting some air freshener to be sprayed in the room and in the toilet at my first arrival at 9pm and the smell came back at 1am.
The bedding was very comfortable and view view was excellent.
The buffet breakfast selections was fanatasic but it got boring on the 3rd morning.

Room Tip: The sound didn't bother me even though my room is right by the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberrythailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I stayed here for a total of 9 nights in early 2013. This hotel was, a decade ago, probably my favorite Asia-based hotel and it retains some of those early charms, but has grown a little long in the tooth in a few areas. Pros: great location next to Pacific Place mall (food, movies, shopping), to businesses in Wan Chai or Central, and some nice walking/park areas. Amazing bathroom supplies, great water pressure, overall service is good, and rooms are smallish but have good mountain or harbor views. Cons: the buffet breakfast people flow seems congested. Similar to the Conrad Singapore, you can’t help but get bumped or have to wait as a dozen people walk by getting their food. This is a physical layout improvement area. Although the breakfast has good choices, it seems to be ready for more innovation (like their JW omlette). Great live music and drink choices in one of their bars. Overall, the JW still makes good sense because of the location. I like the Conrad next door better, but it's harder to get a good deal there.

Room Tip: Honestly I prefer the mountain views over the Harbor view rooms, which are louder
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I stayed here for the business/leasure visit and it is also very handily located for sightseeing. The area is not full of restaurants but you can get to Central in 20 minutes quite easily via the tube.

The service at the hotel is excellent especially in the club. The views from the room are also very good along with a reasonable size.

I would certainly consider staying here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudyattW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#23 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,238 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,692 reviews
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#26 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hong Kong is a cultural centre renowned for its entertainment, shopping, and cuisine. When looking for exquisite hotels in Hong Kong city centre, JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong is an excellent choice. We offer an ideal location and fantastic amenities for a business or leisure stay. Set atop the world-famous Pacific Place, our Hong Kong hotel with harbor view offers guest rooms complete with breathtaking scenescapes, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 42" flat-panel TV, and free Internet. Guests love to relax and take a dip in our outdoor pool, stay fit at our 24-hour health club, and enjoy dining at one of our 8 award-winning restaurants. JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong offers the finest event facilities to suit a variety of occasions and functions, of varying sizes. Our ballroom, the largest on Hong Kong Island, can accommodate up to 1,100 guests for receptions and events. We welcome you to discover the many rewarding experiences JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong has to offer, for a complete and memorable stay whether you are travelling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hong Kong
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing