We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #28 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Mustihaveone
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stay here several times a year on business trips (most recently in June) - we have a corporate rate with complimentary wifi. I love that it is centrally located, on top of a mall with dining and supermarket options (Great Food Hall, a 5 minute walk through the mall, without having to step outdoor at all) and the service and rooms are great. I usually get the smaller room with a king bed, being a single business traveler, and occasionally have had my wife with me too and it is perfectly fine - not luxuriously large, but fine. Nice views, great bed and amenities, lovely shower / bath area.

Cons: not many. Pacific Place is not exactly central, though close enough and if you are unlucky, you could suffer waiting for cabs, especially as this hotel is ups small hill and near 3-4 others which makes getting cabs difficult sometimes. But you do have Admiralty right underneath if you are happy to take the train.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mustihaveone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,283
    655
    143
    32
    20
See reviews for
478
404
153
813
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel is a gorgeous property full of some of the most friendly staff I have ever experienced anywhere in the world. The entire staff is eager to assist and will make anyone feel like a superstar. The breakfast and lunch buffet are excellent and the hotel decor and layout is superb. It exudes luxury and class. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable, and clean. We used their conference facilities as I was attending a business conference for the week and they did a wonderful job setting them up for us (smaller room) and made sure we had fresh drinks, snacks, and candy throughout the meetings. They opened and closed the doors for us and helped usher us around to the restrooms and around the hotel as needed.

The location if very convenient as the property is connected to the Admiralty Station on the MTR via a large office and shopping complex (super luxury shopping mall w/ all the world famous designers). The MTR pretty much allows you to get anywhere in Hong Kong and I used it often - you can take the Airport Express train to and from the property with only one interchange at the Hong Kong Station - no taxis needed if you do it right.

Properties like this one are why people love Marriott - nice work!

Room Tip: It might be hard - but try to get a room facing the Harbor if you can,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the JW for two nights due to flight cancellation and it was a delightful experience. Even though I wanted to get home my stay at this hotel made it easier to accept the delay on getting home. I was in room 918, it was cozy and clean with a pleasant view. There's access to a mall from the hound floor where I did a bit of shopping. The food is DELICIOUS!! And the overall hospitality of the staff is one of the best I've experienced in Asia. There was an incident with an item of mine accidentally being dropped (it was a very cheap nail brush) it broke, I really didn't mind at all. I got a thousand apologies from the house keeping manager and the person responsible in person as well a new brush and a complimentary gift from the hotel. Just goes to show how out of their way they'll go for their customers. I would recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Hong Kong and I will definitely be staying there again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank prettybird17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed at the JW Marriott at Pacific Place on Hong Kong Island for 12 nights. We had just the most wonderful stay as a family, and with our experience of JWM's luxury, facilities, location and service – there is no doubt we would always go back there when in Hong Kong. It was absolutely fantastic.

Location: The hotel is located just above Pacific Place, which is a huge, glittery, high-end luxury mall with every top name in there – including major designer brands, Harvey Nichols, convenience stores, banks, electronics, food court, the grEat supermarket-cum-food court (do check it out) and more. It is also well connected to the Admiralty MTR subway station (a one minute underground walk).

The hotel is also just across from United Centre which has a very good mini supermarket – Fusion, and is home to Metropol dim sum restaurant (yes, they still have the old fashioned carts going around) – which is old world charm and crowded noisy dim sum every day. But really good.

The location is really great – you could walk to Central or take the ding ding tram (always HK$2.30) and to the ferry piers. It was hot when we went, so we took the trams, but you could very easily walk in better seasons – all the way to WanChai if you'd like. Hong Kong park is five minutes away (use the front lobby to exit and follow signs). Hong Kong Peak tram station is walkable, really, as well.

Getting there: JWM is either a short taxi ride from Hong Kong station (HK$40) or you could take the free Airport Express shuttle that takes you to the hotel every 20 minutes or so. The Airport Express ($100 per person or we paid $210 for three at the MTR service desk) is a great way to get from the airport to JWM (via Hong Kong station which is a floor above Central station on the MTR). There are a couple of other top luxury hotels next to JWM including the Conrad and Shangrila next door. The doormen and attendants are courteous and helpful, and the concierge is always willing to help.

If you are looking for a wonderfully quiet, luxurious setting, you cannot beat this. It faces beautiful Hong Kong Harbor on one side and the mountains in the back.

Check in took just under five minutes – we did arrive just past midnight, and naturally there were just a couple of other people checking in. The front desk was courteous and quick, and the service was effortless. High speed elevators took us to our room – which we were very lucky with because we had a corner room with views on both sides.

Our room was fabulous. It was fairly a good size (around 400 sqft) with large windows, two double beds with the most incredibly comfortable mattresses and top quality pillows and linen. The air conditioning worked like a charm, the double layer drapes were electronically controlled from a bedside panel, it had all the latest gadgetry including an iPod dock-able Bose sound system, a large LCD TV (sadly no HD channels at all), a working station – a large desk space with phone, free wireless and wired internet connections (wifi all around the hotel was complimentary). There was plenty of storage and clothes hanging space in the closet (including an umbrella for those rainy days), chest of draws in the room and one bedside, complimentary fruits every day as well as unlimited bottled water. And the housekeeping – cleaning and bed turning service was impeccable. For luxury, size and in-room experience: 5 out of 5!

The bathroom was a good size with a power shower stall with glass door, a separate tub if you like a bath after a long day, super quality Aromatherapy Associates amenities – everything you could imagine and more, hair dryer, shaving mirror, the works. And the bathroom is cleaned and tidied up daily – and everything re-stocked. Again 5 star.

Food ordered via room service was more or less quick, and the food was superb and fairly reasonable for 5-star in-room food. JWM has several restaurants, and our dinner at the Fish Bazar – al fresco by the swimming pool – was absolutely outstanding. The fish was fresh, done right, and the accompanying wine was a perfect combination on a drizzly night. A touch of more green (veggies) would have delighted us, but as the poet, philosopher and Rolling Stone, Mick Jagger once sang "You can't always get what you want…"

If you wake up early enough, the hotel lobby has absolutely the best coffee free for you - made in a high tech Jura machine, or you could opt for a delicate tea from many options. Take a few breaths of morning air as you walk out – the setting is amazing as you look down on the main street and Pacific Place.

This review would be incomplete without two mentions. The swimming pool is smallish compared to some large resort pools, but has plenty of ambiance and drama – specially in the evenings. It's gorgeous in the evening, and it stays open until 10pm. The gym is world class and has every thing a fitness nut would want, or for just keeping fit on a business or holiday trip. It does have a jacuzzi as well.

If you can get a harbor facing room the views are spectacular, specially if you have a high floor. We did and were blessed with either mild sunshiny mornings, brightly lit evenings and nights, boats and ferries floating by the harbor, views of Kowloon across the bay, or we were lucky to watch drizzles sweeping across the Hong Kong skyline to the tune of thunder and streaks of magic lightning.

Before you start thinking this is an all-Pros and no-Cons review, here's one little niggle: Even though I have a Marriott membership, I did not get credit for my long stay (12 nights is a lot of room credit lost) because we had booked through our airline. And, no, we did not get a free upgrade like a lot of people have mentioned on TripAdvisor, but were very happy with our room. So, next time we would probably book with Marriott direct – because surely we would be back to Hong Kong, and surely it would definitely be the JW Marriott. Five star all round!

Room Tip: High floors are best, and get a harbor view room even if you have to pay for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel is part of the Pacific Place complex which includes offices, an upscale shopping mall and 3 other hotels (Conrad, Island Shangri-La and the Upper House). From the airport, the hotel is easily accessible by taking the airport express train to Hong Kong Station and then taking the free shuttle bus to the hotel.

The staff members were all friendly by Hong Kong standard and were very helpful when needed. The room is small but thanks to the many glass windows, it actually felt a bit more spacious than it should be. The beds were ultra-soft and comfortable, and I had a wonderful 4 nights sleep at the hotel. The rate we reserved were inclusive of buffet breakfast which consists of a wide array of food with a good mixture of Asian and Western fares. The quality of the breakfast were average and they were a little bit on the oily side.

But what gave this hotel its fourth dot is its fantastic location. The most obvious convenience is of course staying right above a shopping mall. Sure the stuff they sell are a little upscale but a little window shopping and day dreaming wouldn't hurt. The basement of the mall also houses a massive supermarket with a wide variety ready-to-eat foods, kind of like a less sophisticated version of a Japanese Depachika. Admiralty Station is the closest station to the hotel and although it is not directly below the hotel, it is a no-sweat walk among the underground pedestrian walkway. The hotel is also right next to Hong Kong Park which can be easily reached through a series of escalators from the shopping mall. It is a nice respite from the bustling city and has multiple playgrounds for the different age groups. It also has an impressive conservatory housing many types of birds. Walk to the west end of the park and you will reach the Peak Tram station.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Publius28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Conveniently located and always perfectly presented, the JW is my choice for HK business stays every time.
Rooms are always impeccably maintained and cleaned as are the communal areas of the hotel. The gym is also one of, if not, the best hotel gym that I've ever had the pleasure of using. Nothing bad to say about this place at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Digs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay, especially with the great harbour view executive room we were upgraded to... Amazing in all senses... Greatly recommended, without mentioning the direct access to the mall and subway, and the very central location...loved it

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahdi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#23 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,148 reviews
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,987 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
West Kowloon
W Hong Kong
W Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong
Address: Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Admiralty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#18 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 602
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hong Kong is a cultural centre renowned for its entertainment, shopping, and cuisine. When looking for exquisite hotels in Hong Kong city centre, JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong is an excellent choice. We offer an ideal location and fantastic amenities for a business or leisure stay. Set atop the world-famous Pacific Place, our Hong Kong hotel with harbor view offers guest rooms complete with breathtaking scenescapes, contemporary furnishings, luxurious bedding, 42" flat-panel TV, and free Internet. Guests love to relax and take a dip in our outdoor pool, stay fit at our 24-hour health club, and enjoy dining at one of our 8 award-winning restaurants. JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong offers the finest event facilities to suit a variety of occasions and functions, of varying sizes. Our ballroom, the largest on Hong Kong Island, can accommodate up to 1,100 guests for receptions and events. We welcome you to discover the many rewarding experiences JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong has to offer, for a complete and memorable stay whether you are travelling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Hong Kong
Marriott Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marriott
JW Marriott Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing