We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Ranked #74 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 30 October 2007

We stayed here on the first leg of our honeymoon in October. The room was nicely furnished and comfortable with a great view of the harbour, though there was a bit of a musty smell, but it wasn't too bad. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was a very good selection for breakfast. This is a good standard hotel, but the best thing about it is the location, which is perfect. You are on Kowloon, walkable to Nathan Road and the Peninsula, a short taxi to the Temple Street night market and right by the Star Ferry terminal to go and explore Hong Kong Island. This is the hotel's real plus point.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dillpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,329
    950
    292
    97
    47
See reviews for
648
741
157
742
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Have been staying here for a few years. Other then the excellent location this hotel has to offer, there is not much else. Rooms need to be redone, especially the bathrooms. Electrical plugs do not accommodate North American or European plugs, something that most modern hotels have now days. Staff is also not up to par to most so called 4 or 5 star hotels. The large insect I found in my room finally made me realize that this was my last stay at this establishment. There are so many other choices in Kowloon.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bathrooms
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank PDX16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2007

We stayed at this hotel for 11 nights during Sept. There were 6 of us, 4 adults and 2 children and we were given rooms at the end of a corridoor which were enormous! I think we may have been upgraded because they were like a small suite each, with a separate lounge area, bedroom, and dressing room. One had a delightful harbour view, the other didn't, but to be honest we maybe looked at the view once or twice.

We did not experience any of the negatives aired here. Maybe we were just lucky, but our beds were so comfortable, we all slept like logs. The pillows are just devine! We never heard any noise from construction work at all! The staff were all wonderful, so polite and conscientious.

The only downside to the location is that it is a bit of a walk to the train station, but it is not THAT far. It can just be a bit of a pain when you have been out all day and are tired to then have a 10 minute walk back from the train. But for everything else, the loaction is the best. The shopping centre underneath is huge! Even after 11 days we were still discovering sections we had never seen before.

We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthTraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2007

The Marco Polo is on Kowloon - the mainland - overlooking Hong Kong island and right on the waterfront. Make sure you ask for a harbour view room because the views are absolutely spectacular. It's also perfectly positioned right next to the Star Ferry terminal, so getting across to Hong Kong takes no time by ferry (the only way to do the crossing!) The hotel has all the amenities you'd expect and our room was a good size, with plenty of storage and a functional if somewhat uninspiring bathroom (the shower is over the bath) and generous sink area (which is outside the bathroom). But the bed was as hard as nails, so be warned! We ate in the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner one evening - lots of choice and all of it delicious. The hotel also links directly into a vast shopping centre, so it's dangerously easy to make and carry back your purchases!

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveladventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

We stayed at the Marco Polo Hong Kong for a week from 10th Sept this year. The hotel was fine, nice & clean and the staff were OK. We'd read some reviews about the staff and to be honest things didn't sound good but we didn't experience anything like that. We found them all to be pleasant enough.
My big problem with the hotel was the noise. We stayed a week and it felt like we had no sleep the whole time we were there. There was building work at the hotel, which we were warned about, but it did finish at 5pm every day so it wasn't a problem as we were never in the room during the day anyway but what our tour agent didn't tell us was they were doing building work next door (Marco Polo is part of a big complex called Harbour City and this is where the noise came from). They hammered, drilled and loaded skips and did what ever it is builders do, all night, every night apart from Sunday. We did complain on several occasions but the hotel staff said there was nothing they could about it. We thought we might get a chance to change to a quieter room but the only way they would move us was if we upgraded and paid extra so in that respect they were a bit unhelpful. All in all the hotel was OK and I would stay there again because the location really couldn't be any better but I would make sure that there is no building work going on first!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Noise throughout the night
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Rentgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We spent 2 nights at the Marco Polo Prince enroute from Ireland to Australia. Our room was a good size and comfortably accomodated 2 adults and 2 children.
We had no complaints, and 2 points of commendation:
(a) Location - within the "Harbour City" shopping centre - which not only meant good shopping (!) but also it was possible to walk indoors almost all the way to the Star Ferry - thereby avoiding the humidity and rain of Hong Kong.
(b) The Spice Market Restaurant - within the Hotel - is excellent. We booked in advance (after breakfast that morning) for an evening meal. It was a superb "oriental spice" buffet meal. The variety of food was excellent, and there was plenty for the children and adults to enjoy! We really enjoyed it.

  • Liked — The Location and its restaurant "The Spice Market"
  • Disliked — View from Bedroom window
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BettyBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights. The location is great. Rooms are bigger than the other hotels we've stayed but the bathroom needs update. The services from the staffs were unacceptable for the name and reputation that the hotel carried. The staffs were racially discrimenated. They are actually nicer to foreigners (white people) than to their natives. When the staffs were spoken to Chinese they rather replied in English. So we were forced to speak English to them rather than in native tongues in order to get a better service. We find this pathetic. Marco Polo should train their staffs better. The staffs needs to learn how to greet their guests and to put a smile on their faces. Now is that very hard for a 5 stars hotel?

  • Liked — None
  • Disliked — the Staffs
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Izzy619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
#37 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,213 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#44 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,159 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,630 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel

Property: Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Address: No.3 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel has recently completed a comprehensive hotel exterior upgrading programme, all rooms are now available to provide exemplary standard of service and ensuring high level of customer satisfaction. Overlooking the spectacular Victoria Harbour, the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel is located along Canton Road in Tsim Sha Tsui, at the heart of the city’s busiest commercial, shopping and business hub. The Star Ferry and Hong Kong’s cruise terminal are at your footstep, while shopping is right next door with the hotel forming part of Harbour City – Hong Kong’s largest shopping complex. Guests enjoy easy access to the area's major tourist attractions like Kowloon Park, Hong Kong Museum of Art, Hong Kong Space Museum and Hong Kong Cultural Centre. After an exciting day of sightseeing or business meetings, settle into one of the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel’s 665 guestrooms and suites while staying connected via the complimentary Wi-Fi internet service, and the complimentary handy smartphone which is now fully up and running throughout the hotel. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local and international calls (10 designated countries including Australia, China, Germany , Japan, Korea, Singapore, Taiwan, the Philippines, the UK and the USA), Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Catch up with the latest blockbuster from the wide selection of movies while enjoying the hotel’s In-room Dining service. For guests preferring the exclusive comfort and personalised service of The Continental Club, our designated guest floors come with unparalleled benefits that have become hallmarks of the Marco Polo hospitality. In addition, Canton Lounge offers a repertoire of benefits from a daily breakfast buffet, afternoon tea, all-day coffee and tea service with evening drinks featuring wines and bespoke canapes with special rate. In a city known as the ‘Culinary Capital of Asia’, the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel features three of Hong Kong’s most renowned restaurants and bars, to include Cucina which features Italian open kitchen, all-day international cuisine at Cafe Marco, and the Rum Bar at Lobby Lounge – conferred the Guinness World Record for “Bar with the World’s Largest Selection of Commercially Available Rums.” Whether you are looking to plan your dream wedding or the perfect corporate meeting, our 14 state-of-the-art function rooms will meet your every need. The built-in audio-visual facilities of the function rooms on sixth level provide the ideal setting for small- to medium-sized events. The Centenary Ballroom at lobby level is the perfect balance between elegance and intelligent architecture, where clients can transfer even the biggest display materials easily due to the ballroom’s unique lobby level access. Take a dip in our pool to unwind after a long day out, or do a quick workout at the gym. Better still, indulge in some retail therapy at the adjacent Harbour City shopping mall which is the ultimate destination for shopping, dining and entertainment with over 450 shops that feature the world’s leading brands. Staying at the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel gives you the perfect blend of warm Asian hospitality and a central location with its convenient access to Kowloon and Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Hongkong
Marco Polo Hotel Hong Kong
Marco Polo Hongkong Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing