We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

As an ex-resident of Hong Kong, it's always nice to go 'home', but also a little strange to have to stay in a hotel. However, if you have to stay in a hotel, you might as well choose the best. I was here on business, just for a couple of nights, but it was a very comfortable stay. Perfect, unobtrusive service, a lovely room and, in general, the high quality that you would expect. I was unfortunate enough to be away from family on my birthday, but at least the hotel made an effort to (partially) compensate, by delivering a birthday 'cake' to my room (in fact, a candle-shaped piece of chocolate, filled with chocolate mousse). May not seem a big deal, but a nice touch.

Rooms are not enormous, but in Central that's not surprising. Unless you turn all the lights on, rooms are also a little dark, but then this seems to be the case in most hotels nowadays. Other than that, a lovely stay and will return to the Mandarin Oriental next time I'm in HK.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,227
    337
    57
    20
    10
See reviews for
357
735
225
1,092
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

With 4 young kids, I have become accustomed to hotels never having the rooms ready.
BUT, the Mandarin Oriental HK has just lifted the bar!
On arrival at the airport (late at night) the hotel had a driver waiting with a van to fit our family of 6 and all the luggage. As we pull up to the hotel, there are 6 people waiting to help, with sleeping kids, luggage, removal of child restraints, everything. We were then escorted immediately to our room, for in room check-in.
In the room everything was done!! 4 single beds made up ready, each with a welcome letter addressed to each child personally. Child sized bath robes & slippers for each, and gifts!! The room was exactly as we had asked, seperate child & adult sleeping quarters, and living area, all interconnected and secure.
It was such a welcome surprise after a long flight to be able to put the kids straight to bed.
We have stayed in many 5 star hotels & resorts since we became a family 11 years ago, and this is the FIRST time everything has been ready on arrival!! Well done! We will definately be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 4tessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I've stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong many times over the years and it is now my default hotel whenever I or our family visit Hong Kong. On one trip, my 14-hour flight arrived quite early in the morning and I got to the hotel around 8 or 9am. I was planning to ask for a shower in their gym (so I could head out to town while waiting for the room) but they had my room already prepared! On one occasion our family of four needed two connecting rooms which we couldn't get confirmation through our travel agent. I emailed the hotel directly, and the reservation manager sorted everything out in no time.

For the hotel itself, the room (usually I stay in their superior room) is beautifully furnished, and well equipped. I like the soundproofing here which keeps the room quiet in the morning (unless there's a big event around the street corners). The mattress and the pillows are exceptionally comfortable they seem to keep us in bed forever. The size of the room is good, not too small, but not so large. I'd say it is adequate for two adults and if necessary, even with one small child. I'd say that the rooms here are cozier than the ones in the Landmark whose emphasis is more on modernity.

I use the fitness here regularly during my stay, and it's well equipped with modern equipment and helpful staff. The spa is also very good if you can schedule it in during your stay. Breakfast buffet (which I had a long time ago) was definitely lacking in taste and freshness, but the a la carte breakfast dishes are quite good. So be sure to 'survey' the breakfast buffet before you sit down.

Around the hotel, there's plenty of shops and restaurants within short walking distances around Central. Even if it rains, it's also possible to walk within the connected buildings. The MRT station is just around the corner, so it doesn't get much better than this in terms of location.

My only gripe here is their wi-fi charge. With this level of hotel and prices, it should have been included.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rennsport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We went to to Man Wah at the top of the Mandarin Oriental for a celebratory meal after a wonderful couple of days in Hong Kong. We decided to go for the tasting menu with wine paring.

Oh my, it is an experience. And most certainly not for the faint hearted. Some of the menu options although sounded simple/normal, were very much out of the ordinary - deep fried eel, abolone, battered sea cucumber, a chicken dish I can hardly describe that was so beautifully presented non of us actually wanted to crack into it.

The tastes were varied and some not to my palette, but with the views over Hong Kong, the beautiful surroundings of the restaurant itself this was all part of the experience - and what an experience.

Room Tip: Get a window seat, the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiGats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong this past April. I love everything about this hotel. Great location, Great Service, Great Dining choices. Had an exceptional dinner at The Grill. Best Dover Sole this side if Dover.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my mother in a suite. It was fabulous. The service was amazing. We found the location excellent to access public transport, with central station metres away and a short walk to the Star ferry. Shopping is just outside your door.
We ate at the buffet breakfast and the a la carte. We found we preferred the menu of the a la carte and was slightly quieter. However the service was just amazing in both.
I can also recommend the oriental massage...the spa was brilliant.
The hotel does have quite a business clientele mid week and certainly a more casual feel at the weekend.
I would recommend the MO and would be really happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Familyof5sydneyZzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monte Carlo
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Truly a leading hotel of the world, the Mandarin is THE place to stay in Hong Kong.
Each and every one of the staff offer magnificent service day or night and no matter what you need they have it. All of the rooms are the last word in luxury.
I stayed in February with my wife, having used the Peninsula for years but the Mandarin was so good we went back in March and I am just packing for another visit there this week.
Should be on everyone's list of where to stay at least once in your life.
Trust me, you wont want to leave.
Enyoy!!

Room Tip: There isnt a bad room in the place but the harbour views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ge0PMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 716 in Hong Kong
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5,452 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing