We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'm a fan - luxury at its best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“I'm a fan - luxury at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This. Place. Is. Divine.

DIVINE!

Hotel was so fantastic that we had a hard time leaving to tour the city and go to work. Amazing service anywhere you go. Rooms have great amenities, and the turn down service includes a little treat from the spa every night.

Tried several of the restaurants and they were all delicious. Breakfast buffet was so fantastic we went twice. Bar on the 25th floor has a great view of the light show over the harbor.

You DEFINITELY want to make an appointment at the spa. How can you possibly stay here and not enjoy the best spa in Hong Kong! Best massage ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bean_Burrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,196
    332
    56
    20
    10
See reviews for
346
726
223
1,082
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is one of the best hotels in Hong Kong. I have been traveling to Hong Kong for over 12 years, and staying at this property almost most of the time. Great property, facilities and staff are very professional. Shopping is also great on Hong Kong side of the island, lots of good shops, it won't disappoint you.

Room Tip: Harbour facing rooms are excellent choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stay here last 2 months ago. I like this place and the service is good...... We also enjoyed our trip in Hong Kong.... We like the room for its cleanliness and the location is good.



We'll coming back next time...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Land of Earthquakes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I visited this hotel for the Cigar Divan Lounge located on the lobby level. The hotel's service and decor was very nice. There are some fake Indian fortune tellers lurking close to the property and I ran into one of them right behind the hotel. I was VERY surprised that they didn't have any security guard/employee or cameras watching behind the hotel.

After I returned to the US, I emailed the hotel about my experience and an employee replied to me that I viewed as "too bad, it wasn't on our property, basically even though the hotel is located on the entire block, they weren't responsible if you get robbed or killed when you step out the front door. But do come again to our property even if our security is very poor."

I didn't have any problems when I visited the Ritz Carlton in Kowloon district. They had so many guards and employees in and around the hotel/mall that it made guests and visitors feel safe and secure.

If it wasn't for the Cigar Divan Lounge, I wouldn't even visit this hotel. It's not very safe for tourists once you leave the hotel. Especially with the Indian scammers right at the doorsteps of the hotel and proximity in Central district.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ndsleep612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Two words best describe the MO chain:Consistently Excellent.

My wife and our young family have stayed at a number of MO hotels, but this was the first time for us at the "mother-ship" property in HK . We only had one night and without kids meant I chose to make it a good one and booked an "Oriental Suite" . The price was steep no question. But wow, you were sure looked after by the HK MO staff.

Included in the tariff (at least at this time) is airport transfers. All is efficiently confirmed weeks ahead. The excellent MO service starts literally the very second you got off the plane. A MO representative meets you at the air bridge takes your carry on luggage for you and that is the last time you have to worry about your things.

You are whisked through immigration by the MO rep and then once you point out you bags, the rep collects them from the turnstile for you and you are then taken through customs. All swift and without any effort. Once out of the customs hall another MO rep takes your bags and radio's to the car. As you get to the curb side the MO S Class is pulling alongside. The back doors are opened you hop and are offered a drink and asked what music you would like, if any. The free way and bridge from Lantau drift silently by. About 30 mins later you arriving at the MO front door being greeted by name.

You are then ushered up to the Oriental Suite for an in room check in.
A tray of chocolate coated strawberries and a bottle of decent Bordeaux are sitting on the sitting room coffee table with compliments of the management.

The Oriental Suites are on the corners of the building - the one we had was exactly as requested over looking Chater Square, the I M Pei designed China Bank Building, the HSBC Building and with partial harbour views. It is literally 3 to 4 normal rooms in size. You can get lost in the dressing and bathroom! A stand alone deep bath in the middle of the bath room is in stark contrast to the dark brown marble on all walls and floors. His and hers vanities on either side of the bathroom and a double walk in shower. Incredible attention to detail and design. The pictures on the MO website of the suite do not do the rooms justice.

We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but rather asked concierge to see if he can get us a table in the China Club, David Tang's private members club atop the old 1930's bank of china building across the road. Yes no problem and a table for two is confirmed 5 minutes later. I was informed there was a dress code in the Club that required a jacket and it is quickly arranged for me to borrow one (we had come from a beach holiday in Vietnam so a jacket was not part of my packing).

It is a friday night and when the lift doors open to the China Club we could have been stepping into the 1930's with a swinging full house and an jazz band blasting away. All art deco and looking back over the square to the MO itself. Certainly could not have got in without the concierge's help and had a terrific Chinese meal. The contemporary art collection throughout the Club was amazing.

Back to the hotel, super comfortable bed - albeit in a bed room, that because of the design of the building was on the corner but which had no windows. In fact it was beautifully kitted out and was perfectly silent and dark. It didn't matter at all that there was no window.

Breakfast in the Clipper lounge was good but not excellent. Why - because the MO Singapore and MO Tokyo have raised the bar so high it is almost impossible to surpass.

Check out is 2pm and our flight to Sydney is not until 11pm. I ask can we come back to change before the flight - No problems says the MO staff -we are told to simply leave our bags in the room and came back about 7pm ready to get the car back to the airport. When we arrive back the front desk are sorry to say that the suite has been booked but that our bags have been moved to another (mere normal) room and we are handed a key and informed that the car will be ready in an hour. Go up to the "normal" room - luggage is already there - have a shower and change ready for a night flight. We get a call that the porter is ready and by the time that we get down to the car the baggage is already in the boot. Glide away. Is that the end - no.

At the airport another MO representative is awaiting in uniform (greets us by name) and takes our bags and guides us to the Cathay check-in. We are efficiently processed and the accompanied to the customs gate by the MO representative were we are wished a pleasant flight with the hope that we will visit the MO again soon.

The position of the hotel in Central cannot be beaten. The next closest - the Four Seasons is a couple of blocks away from the action. The MO is a solid reliable hotel who has had 50 years to get service right and they truly over deliver on that front. It is simply amazing that staff you have spoken with only once know you by name whenever you see them. This is something that happens at other MO hotels as well.

A superb hotel and cannot recommend it and other MO's highly enough. I believe that you can book the airport transfer service no matter what room type you book, except with a suite at this time it is included in the price

Room Tip: Oriental Suites over deliver on size and what you get from them. Book the airport collection service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPC030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stay 3 days.
Room is comportable. clean.
location is good. near to station.

people are so kind.

It just Mandarin.

I orderd room service. it was include bread, jam, 2 juices. delicious.(expensive)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wawach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Mandarin Oriental is a legendary hotel for good reason. I stayed here for three nights on business. The staff are extremely professional, friendly and helpful - being passed your towel as you get out of the pool is just one of the lovely little touches that make you feel special. The room was genuinely one of the nicest I have stayed in - a calming and wonderful ambience. If you have a chance/an excuse to treat yourself then the spa is a must.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,368 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Travelbag so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing