We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Hotel”
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my wife for a week and it was by all standards the best hotel I ever experienced from the airport reception to the concierge service to the restaurant staff who were guessing whenever I or my wife needed anything and immediately providing it although the restaurant was full..
I definitely recommend strongly

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Farid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,359
    351
    58
    21
    10
See reviews for
388
775
232
1,147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This is my 2nd stay at MO after MO Geneva. Nothing out of expectation, its still the top rated hotel for me. It's location is fantastic central if just behind the hotel and MTR station is just a stone throw from the back door. My check in is well served with tailgate to my room. I have been directed to a smoking room but soon be diverted to a non-smoking room without hassle.

The room is so well maintain even they are 50 years old and it takes me an hour to explore the room amenities. Such a nice place to view even I am placed in a deluxe room. I feel so relax staying here without interruption.

Thanks to all the staffs who is so passion to their works and how they maintain the room. GREAT!!!

Room Tip: Choose high floor if you prefer a silent night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinnii P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The MO is actually a pretty small building which one realizes looking at all the skyscrapers around it when taking the ferry to Kowloon. It's celebrating its 50th anniversary this year. Congratulatons!

The hotel is a 10-minute walk through covered walkways from the airport train's terminus at Hong Kong Station. You need fo walk some minor stairs up and down to finally arrive at the hotel. Not a big deal--except on a Sunday when I was leaving and tracked back to the station and had to fight my way through thousands of women standing in the area. Turns out that every Sunday the foreign domestic workers of Hong Kong congregate in the area to chat, exchange goods, and do money transfers. I would have appreciated a warning from the concierge who had sent me on my way.

Check-in and -out were extremely fast. I had two or three staff working on getting all of this done in a minute. Looked like they knew what they were doing. The lady showing me my room was very welcoming; she also arranged for a pot of jasmin tea to be brought to my room right away, courtesy of the hotel. The room had lots of wood paneling--the one that was popular in the 1960s. The same holds true for the heavy carpet in the hallway. But all of this worked very well in creating a warm feeling in the living quarters. The room itself was very spacious and had everything a traveler needs, including CD player, excellent TV (with many sports channels), efficient wifi (against fee), and large windows with great views. The bathroom had a bathtub and shower, with great water pressure.

It was good to be back in Hong Kong after 15 years.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

The Mandarin Hotel HK is outstanding in every way a hotel can be. Attention to detail, fantastic service at every turn. Each staff member clearly takes pride in the service culture. Room fittings and linen top of the line, maintenance superb.......amazing since they are celebrating their 50th anniversary this year 2013. Most hotels get tired well before this, and shortcuts in upgrades and upkeep are all too visible even at the top chains.

Rarely have I seen room service staff show up at 530am with breakfast so well turned out, in crisp starched uniforms. And the toast is actually still warm, the eggs Benedict as good as they come anywhere.

Highly recommended....the rooms, service, the M Bar upstairs, airport limo, extensive breakfast buffet....even tried their terrific champagne brunch on a prior visit last year.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights. Everything was just perfect and beyond your expectation. The room was very comfortable and clean and the staff were very helpful and attentive. I was assigned a harbour view room and I enjoyed then night view of Victoria Harbour very much via the telescope provided by the hotel.

I wished that I could have stated there longer. 100 out of 100,

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hawkdai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
462 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have stayed 4 times at the Mandarin and each time this hotel has exceeded my expectations.
From a service point it really can not get any better. The staff is just from a diferent planet..
The rooms are not the most modern ones but very functional. The fact that they have now Nespresso machines in the rooms is fantastic.

Room Tip: The suites on the 22nd floor are faboulos
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go100go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This. Place. Is. Divine.

DIVINE!

Hotel was so fantastic that we had a hard time leaving to tour the city and go to work. Amazing service anywhere you go. Rooms have great amenities, and the turn down service includes a little treat from the spa every night.

Tried several of the restaurants and they were all delicious. Breakfast buffet was so fantastic we went twice. Bar on the 25th floor has a great view of the light show over the harbor.

You DEFINITELY want to make an appointment at the spa. How can you possibly stay here and not enjoy the best spa in Hong Kong! Best massage ever.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bean_Burrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,820 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,957 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Mandarin Oriental, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing