We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scam”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Scam”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Selling a package and not living up to it saying said package is subject to availability only, when you check in is really below a fine hotel Like this. After even emailing them to confirm the package, without reply from the hotel, they still did not honor it but admitting both receiving the email and the package they offered, strangely it was not available but if we would have paid another 2700 HK dollar said package would have been available. STRANGE. Front desk even arguing instead of apologising, never again. This package is no longer on the web page of MOHK so I guess us criticising them selling something they had no plans to honor is no more which is good for future travellers, I guess in Europe it would be called a scam selling something you do not intent to honor. Fantastic room and nice hotel but the whole stay was ruined by the fromt office and the offer they did not honor which sad to say was prepaid else we would have walked out.

Room Tip: DO NOT PREPAY, make sure you get what you reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBMNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,298
    349
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
372
758
228
1,126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
River Vale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
217 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

In my humble opinion this is finest hotel in the world. I’ve stayed at the Mandarin at least a dozen times over last ten years and have never ever been disappointed. The consistency in service and quality is astounding in today’s environment. The room lay out and amenities are phenomenal. From the double head shower, super comfortable bed and pillows, massive wall mounted TV to the master lighting bedside control panel. There is a valet closet accessible from the hallway to pick up dry cleaning or deliver packages/paper. They thought of everything, even the art in the hallways. They refurbished all the rooms a few years ago, but keep the essence and ambience of the hotel in tact.

After a long flight, I know regardless of the time of day or night, my check in will start with a big “welcome back”. A two-minute check-in and then I’m walked up to my room with my bags no more than 2 minutes behind. I’m offered some complimentary tea to relax and also opt for room service. I ordered the Mandarin club that arrived in 30 minutes and was terrific as usual. In the corner, my iron and starch that they always place in the room to freshen up my shirts.

What ever you feel like for breakfast. A spectacular buffet or the Mandarin Café that services the most amazing breakfast I’ve ever had. The Mandarin cake shop has pastries and fresh coffee if you want something light to go. The other food options – Man Wah and the Grill – excellent. There is nothing better than happy hour at the Captains Bar off the lobby. The hotel location is walking distance to everything you need in central.

I’ve stayed at many 5 star hotels and from top to bottom this the finest. Service, location, amenities, and people – you feel like part of the family. The Mandarin staff do all the small things that make the stay here so enjoyable and a special experience. I can go on all day with story after story about how the MO raises the bar. Bottom line, this is the benchmark that no other hotel has ever been able to equal during all my travels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

There is always a worry when you spend a lot of money on a hotel (in this case around £500 a night), that you will be let down. Not with the Mandarin Oriental! Every part of my stay there was wonderful: from the airport pickup (highly recommended after a long flight), to my room on the 20th floor overlooking the harbour, the in-room check in, champagne on ice waiting, fantastic housekeeping and the general friendliness of the staff. If you are looking for luxury in Hong Kong this hotel is just perfect. I guess if I had to come up with one criticism it would be the fact that they charge for wifi - a bit cheeky given their charges. But otherwise, one of the most fabulous places I have stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSixx96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shinjuku, Japan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

One of the Best hotel with amazing service and great care. They are really exceptional in every sense.

A hotel with great reputation and reknowned for luxury hotel ticking all the boxes.

It is an old buidling but they have done the great job with room refurbishment and well maintained. Really happy with the decor, layout, amenities, designs and everything is consistent across all the MO hotels. Simple but more than good enough!

Welcome tea and welcome gift as usual. Nice amenities with different items such as mini perfume, mist and eye pack on each day during my 4 day stay. Comfortable beds helping us to get a perfect night sleep. Nice sofa by the window. Good art collections. Spacious bathroom with separate walk in shower and bathtub with white and black color match.

Pool is a bit small but we enjoyed the spa and massage. The spa facility at Four Seasons or Peninsula is much better than MO but good therapists with great skills.

Traditional hotel with great service and care for their guests. Simply amazing in every sense.

A must stay hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NamidA88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

All the superlatives that have been mentioned in past reviews are accurate. I highly recommend the "meet and greet" limo service from the airport. Having never been to Hong Kong before, we were guided seamlessly from the arrival gate through customs and immigration out to a waiting Mercedes limousine, never having to touch our bags until we arrived at our room where a representative from the hotel checked us in from inside our room. No waiting in line at the reception desk. We celebrated my wife's birthday at the Mandarin Grill & Bar and it lived up to it's Michelin rating. We also dined at their Man Wah restaurant and found it to be very good as well. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Try to get breakfast included in your room rate. Otherwise it's a bit expensive at $HK 677 for two. The hotel is located within easy walking distance to high end shopping, the subway and the ferries. Most of it can be accessed by covered or enclosed walkways. We look forward to coming back to the Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong again someday.

Room Tip: Book a room with a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerS40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

a great hotel to stay in - nothing was a problem, service was amazing, room was fabulous, top floor bar and its staff were lovely as were the staff in the downstairs bar. A gift was left every night in the room - always some wonderful aromatherapy product, a face revitalising spray, some gorgeous aromatherapy balms, a jet lag roll on the list goes on. Bed was comfortable, bathroom was good, situated in the middle of wonderful shopping and easy to get to wherever you wanted to be - all in all a very very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maree M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stay dates 16-19 October : To Celebrate the 50 yrs of Mandarin Oriental (M.O) Hong Kong
We had heard of the legendary M.O. level of service from other travellers...... , but experiencing it 1st hand was quite a revelation. Right from entry level , no check in ,straight to the room where the staff took down our details ! Right from the 1st day, we felt at home and there was
a familiarity level with the staff.( which is rare in big hotels). Location: Walking distance from Central Station( 3 stops to Kowloon) , from Lan Kwai Fong ( night hangout area), from the Ferry terminal for Kowloon. Restaurant Lunch & Dinner: Exceptional .Room was large and full of all the modern gadgets. Bottomline : If you can afford it ...... it's a no brainer ..........go for the M.O in Hong Kong.........it's the ultimate thing.............the experience will stay with you for a long while after........

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LITTLEINTERNATIONAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,641 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,162 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing