We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bodalla, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental early November 2013. We had a Harbour Room booked and on arrival were upgraded to a suite room. The Suite was a nicer room, but we were a bit disappointed with our new view of a building, rather than the harbor view that we were looking forward to. We asked about the harbor view and were told that the room we were upgraded to was a better room, and no harbor view rooms were available. Even though two days before I had received an email confirming the harbor view room. Apart from that, the room was very nice. The breakfast at the restaurant was also good and the location was great. It was and easy walk to the ferry, only 10 minutes. Fast free internet was available in the room along with nearly everything you could ever need. Bathroom was very nice, shower, spa bath and even a television. I would recommend the Mandarin Oriental to others for a very nice room in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,359
    351
    58
    21
    10
See reviews for
388
775
232
1,147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

As expected the service and facilities are top class at the MO in HK.

I find it unfortunate that they elect to charge a fee for in-room wi-fi. It's such a ubiquitous requirement now that, especially in a 5 Star hotel such as this, charging for it makes me feel less wanted as a guest. At HKD3250 a night it should be free.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank NurseRoodaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

In every major city, new hotels start up every year, each nicer, grander and technologically more advanced. Given that, it seems that the Mandarin Oriental wouldn't stand a chance, it being one of the oldest hotels in Hong Kong (this year marks its 50th anniversary!). And yet, even after trying the newer Ritz Carlton in Kowloon and the Four Seasons in the IFC, I find myself coming back again to the Mandarin.

I'll be the first to say its rooms are not the biggest, the lobby not the grandest, the gadgets not the latest. But what more than makes up for that is its truly exceptional service and the wonderful attention to detail of every staff. It is as if their main KPI was to exceed every guest's expectations.

Some examples: Even though I asked for two newspapers (WSJ and FT), I got 3 every morning (including the South China Morning Post) and on one morning even 4 (the International New York Times). When I had dinner at the Cafe with my wife and daughter, straightaway, drawing pens appeared, with colouring books. When the waiter noticed that my wife didn't eat much of her veggie burger, he immediately enquired and the item was discreetly removed from the bill. Seeing an iPad on my desk, a microfibre cloth appeared the next day. When I took that with me, another appeared. Room service food generally arrived comfortably before the estimated time, and always delicious.

If I had to nitpick, I'd say the gym has room for improvement. The Four Seasons is the benchmark here, with great harbour views and free flow of customised juices and coffees. On my first evening, I went for a 10k run on the treadmill. The overeager attendant kept walking back and forth behind me, visible in the reflection, which was distracting. To make matters worse, as I was getting into the home stretch, he started talking to me!! No, no and no! The gym needs to take a leaf from the cafe's book: Usually, the waiters are nowhere to be seen but the moment you need anything, they miraculously appear - same thing should apply to the gym.

On the final day, a car brought us to the airport. A hotel staff was there ready to take all our luggage from the car to the check in counter. I was flying economy but it sure felt like first class!

The Hong Kong hotel market must be one of the most competitive in the world (much like everything else in Hong Kong). To be able to stand out so consistently amongst formiddable opposition is truly amazing.

So yes, I am a fan!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eskicorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I stayed there for 2 nights, for the first time. I chose it because I have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Singapore several times, which I think is great. The Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong lived up to its reputation. A wonderful hotel. Outstanding staff. The only minor issue concerns the restaurants. Their reputation is so high, that many non-hotel guests seem to eat there. My restaurant of choice was booked out, but the concierge went to great lengths to find me a spot (successfully). You should try to make a restaurant booking before you arrive in Hong Kong. Overall, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingAlbatross9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our dinner in December 2012 prior to our midnight departure from Hong Kong was the best way to end our visit. We had originally planned to come for tea but arrived much later and ended up with the dinner buffet. It was outstanding and the best buffets I have ever had. The sushi was so fresh and they had some items that I had never seen before. The hot items were delicious and they had a huge assortment. The desserts were delectable and beautiful to look at. I am looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Selling a package and not living up to it saying said package is subject to availability only, when you check in is really below a fine hotel Like this. After even emailing them to confirm the package, without reply from the hotel, they still did not honor it but admitting both receiving the email and the package they offered, strangely it was not available but if we would have paid another 2700 HK dollar said package would have been available. STRANGE. Front desk even arguing instead of apologising, never again. This package is no longer on the web page of MOHK so I guess us criticising them selling something they had no plans to honor is no more which is good for future travellers, I guess in Europe it would be called a scam selling something you do not intent to honor. Fantastic room and nice hotel but the whole stay was ruined by the fromt office and the offer they did not honor which sad to say was prepaid else we would have walked out.

Room Tip: DO NOT PREPAY, make sure you get what you reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBMNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Vale, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

In my humble opinion this is finest hotel in the world. I’ve stayed at the Mandarin at least a dozen times over last ten years and have never ever been disappointed. The consistency in service and quality is astounding in today’s environment. The room lay out and amenities are phenomenal. From the double head shower, super comfortable bed and pillows, massive wall mounted TV to the master lighting bedside control panel. There is a valet closet accessible from the hallway to pick up dry cleaning or deliver packages/paper. They thought of everything, even the art in the hallways. They refurbished all the rooms a few years ago, but keep the essence and ambience of the hotel in tact.

After a long flight, I know regardless of the time of day or night, my check in will start with a big “welcome back”. A two-minute check-in and then I’m walked up to my room with my bags no more than 2 minutes behind. I’m offered some complimentary tea to relax and also opt for room service. I ordered the Mandarin club that arrived in 30 minutes and was terrific as usual. In the corner, my iron and starch that they always place in the room to freshen up my shirts.

What ever you feel like for breakfast. A spectacular buffet or the Mandarin Café that services the most amazing breakfast I’ve ever had. The Mandarin cake shop has pastries and fresh coffee if you want something light to go. The other food options – Man Wah and the Grill – excellent. There is nothing better than happy hour at the Captains Bar off the lobby. The hotel location is walking distance to everything you need in central.

I’ve stayed at many 5 star hotels and from top to bottom this the finest. Service, location, amenities, and people – you feel like part of the family. The Mandarin staff do all the small things that make the stay here so enjoyable and a special experience. I can go on all day with story after story about how the MO raises the bar. Bottom line, this is the benchmark that no other hotel has ever been able to equal during all my travels.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,820 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,958 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing