We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible hotel - best place to stay visiting Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible hotel - best place to stay visiting Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

The Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong is an iconic hotel conveniently located in the heart of Central. *Incredible* staff and attention to detail makes staying here well worth the expense! Will stay again for sure!

Room Tip: If you can, splurge for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,228
    337
    57
    20
    10
See reviews for
357
735
225
1,093
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I consider the Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong to be the standard bearer for what a hotel in the centre of a metropolitan city should be. I have stayed here at least 10 times over the last few years when in Hong Kong and it has never disappointed. The attention to detail and service is just amazing and my hats off to the Mandarin Oriental group for being able to deliver this high level of service, so consistently.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

We recently spent 2 nights in the Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong. It may sound cliche but I want to say that their staff really made the difference.

We received well delivered attentive service that is refreshing from the very professional but brisk delivery shown by many of its competitors in the region. The warmth and the attentiveness shown by the staff from the welcoming receptionist to the farewell from the doorman simply ease the travel tension away and made our stay a very happy memory.

Our room was subtly luxurious and coupled with a tremendously successful dinner in the Chinese Restaurant with my in-laws calls for a return trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terneuzen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Really the best luxury hotel in Hong Kong. Everything is this hotel is great, professional staff (fast check in and check out), very nice rooms, great beds and pillows, large bathrooms, separate shower. Excellent choice of bars, and restaurants (Michelin star), access to shopping area, centrally located in Central Business District. Great hotel for both business and pleasure!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

Unbeatable in understated elegance. However it's only when you become demanding after a long flight exhausted and need things done does this hotel kick into high gear. Suit pressed back in an hour done. Tea in room within 15 min done. Shoes shined and back ASAP otherwise I worry as I travel with one pair done. Room service within 30 min done. The only thing they did not do was tuck me in, but I bet if I asked it would get done. Top marks again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Manydaysaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Excellent position, classy and elegant interiors and exceptionally courteous and well trained staff. I stayed for 5 nights and they did not put a foot wrong. Outstanding and memorable. I would certainly be pleased to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pardos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel was an excellent surprise in Hong Kong, where i stayed 3 nights.
The service was careful and enjoyable.
There were many extras that filled you with small moments of joy during the stay, as the cold eye mask, the CDs for room ambiance and the roll-on lavender perfume for your bed linen. And the jasmin tea in the room at arrival with a superbe cover that prevents the teapot from going cold.
The hotel that has thought of what a traveler needs when away from home, as different plugs and plug adapters (by default in the room), offering to print your boarding card before you even thought about it.
The shower and bath tub were original and very modern.
The gym was large enough and (again) with the extras that make you come back (the fruit, the water, the magazines).

The only minus was in-room dinner. Didn't like it both times that I had to stay in (Niçoise salad rarely seen this bad and the nasi goreng had to be better). Low quality when everything else is of higher standard.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187147Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,453 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing