We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Faultless hotel”
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights over the HK Seven period. I have to spend most of my time in the hotel due to the poor weather over that weekend. However the experience was just so good and I felt regret when I left for the Airport. This hotel is just perfect in all aspects i.e. Housekeeping, room service, food, Gym, Concierge. It is an indeed my home away from home. Will definitely come back again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hawkdai007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,359
    351
    58
    21
    10
See reviews for
388
775
232
1,147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Here for the 7s and even though it was busy the service was great as always. The rooms are a little small but great location for everything in Hong Kong. Will book for next year. . The captain's bar is a good starting point for a pre game drink very old school but the roof top bar was spectacular. If the weather is good go to the IWC bar the views are amazing.



.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank troystrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I had previously had a bad experience at a Mandarin in Miami, and was weary of having to stay at a Mandarin again.

Totally exceeded my expectations. Staff is fabulous. Rooms are great - extremely well thought out space planning, very comfortable.

Had a 90 minute massage, which was very relaxing. I really liked the spa area and the little pool for walking.

Loved the lounge upstairs, great if you want a small meal - I ordered an appitizer and it was enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It is almost impossible to fault the Mandarin HK - old Man Wah as I learned to call it - but I may be a bit partial as I had special birthday parties there when I was a little girl, growing up in Hong Kong. From the minute I staggered out of the taxi with an overwhelmed 14 month old toddler in tow, after a fairly diabolical flight, we were looked after tremendously for our entire stay. Nothing is too much trouble for the superb staff here, who were all particularly indulgent of a naughty, curious little girl, running round the lobby, waving her room key at anyone who caught her eye. Difficult to single out any individuals but Indira on the concierge desk was brilliant when we had a baby milk sourcing problem. Since the 2007 refurb, the rooms are luxurious and spectacular with almost everything thought of. We loved our view of Statue Square and I.M. Pei's monumental Bank of China. Two tiny quibbles: wi-fi, at least in our room was frustratingly slow and when you are paying HK$160 per day for it, it really should be impeccable. Also slightly surprised that Mandarin charges guests in this day and age? Bit naughty as we all need it, so it should be as much a given as a hair dryer or tv? Also the phone I rented from the business centre was from the Stone Age? Tricky to use and had to reboot several times a day. These need updating! That said the BATS centre staff were wonderful with this Luddite! Many thanks to the Mandarin and especially to housekeeping from little Sidonie for her wonderful bag of gifts. Highly recommended if service is important to you?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeJackson72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have been staying at the Mandarin since the late 1970s and it really and truly represents all that Hong Kong is about -- excellence in quality and service and the best of East and West. From the first time you stay at the hotel, you will notice that virtually every staff member will soon know and address you by your family name. This starts at bellman that greets you, carries on to to the front desk and continues with the concierge and onward.

The property underwent a complete facelift a few years ago. I stayed in a Harbour Room, which afforded wonderful views of Hong Kong Harbour. The room has a small alcove area with a desk that separates from the rest of the room by a drawn curtain. The beds and linens and the most comfortable and cozy you could wish for. The bathroom is absolute luxury with an extra deep tub and separate shower with two adjustable shower heads. Each room has an extra large flat screen TV. The rooms are extremely well appointed and designed, using the best building materials and finishes. There was no expense spared -- fog free mirrors in the bathroom, tv and audio in the bathroom.

I highly appreciate the Mandarin's attention to detail. The desk is fully stocked with office supplies and tech requirements. The closet has comfy slippers and robes. The bath and shower amenities are always top notch and spa quality. The newspapers of my choice are always available and housekeeping is good about shining my shoes every night.

There is never any task that is too difficult for the concierge both when I am staying at the hotel and not.

The hotel is centrally located in the middle of Hong Kong's Central District. It is highly convenient to just about anywhere and taxis are always available.

The Mandarin Oriental is my home away from home in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

very much like home, from the moment you are unloaden and warmly greeted by the staff.
What perhaps strikes you the most is the relaxed comfort........the immediate and warm attention offered to you by the staff whether in reception, restaurants or pool or .........
Will be back yet another time

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichChristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I have stayed at many luxury hotels around the world and I can say that The Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong is perhaps best or certainly one of the best I have experienced. The attention to detail ,the service, the quality of the rooms, the food/drink, the attentiveness of the staff is all first class. The staff are highly professional yet not overbearing or snooty - which you do sometimes find in the top hotels. To add to my high opinion of this hotel, as I had an evening flight they provided me with a courtesy room to change and refresh in...which was a very welcome complimentry service.

This hotel is highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,820 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,958 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing