We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Too Stuffy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Bit Too Stuffy”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I was given a spacious room - no fault there. I had to pay for WifI - not good when you are paying a few hundred pounds a night.

I just think they try to0 hard to be the hotel they were 50 years ago - everything glistens, a dozen staff everywhere opening doors and saying good morning. Couldn't get a table for breakfast one morning. One coffee cup served at a time, mounds of bread but no rolls, fruit under plastic containers with lids so low it was nearly impossible to get the fruit on my plate. It looked lovely and pristine as does everything there. The lights are so complicated you need a manual. For the people that come back year after year, I am sure they will continue to do so. I'll opt for the Landmark next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Will103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,289
    348
    57
    20
    10
See reviews for
370
754
228
1,124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

When ending a Far East trip, we wanted to revisit the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Hong Kong. Our first stay there was in 1986 and we remembered that it was an exceptional hotel. It still is! From the service, management, concierge and accommodations were impeccable. Even the driver who brought us to the airport and the check-in service at the airport were way above average. Our suite was so spectacular, I could stayed for months. Don't miss the tasting menu at the Man Wah restaurant!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Excellent location and excellent service. Our memeory of Hong Kong will alwqays be associated to our experiunece at The Mandarin Hotel. It was perfect sionce we were collected at the airport by the hotel limousine until we arrived back at the airport three days later.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I very much enjoyed my stay at the Mandarin Oriental from the moment of arrival to the point of departure.

Staff at the hotel are true ambassadors for the hotel who at all times professionally and flawlessly dealt with any request during my stay.

The rooms are sumptuously decorated. Hats off to the interior design team who redesigned the hotel in 2005. Unlike some redesigns where everything looks nice but is impractable, this redesign is well thought out. A desk/seating area by the window allowed me to work and enjoy the view over the harbour during the day before my meetings. The bedroom area included a lovely king size bed where the mattress was the perfect stregth to allow a good night's sleep - why is it that so many other hotels have hard and uncomfortable mattresses!! The bathroom was also very well equipped with one of the best hotel showers I have ever encountered in many years of travelling. The addition of a bathroom TV which could be viewed from both the shower and the bath thanks to a revolving mirror (you have to see it to know what I mean!) was ingenious!

Only two quibbles on the room (both VERY minor):

(1) the shower kit (Hermès Orange verte) is a very strong fragrance which may not for some (myself included).
(2) dividing curtains between the bathroom/bedroom and bedroom/study, whilst tastefully designed, seemed slightly tacky and not in keeping with the rest of the room.

The "big" fault of the hotel is I am afraid room service. As a business traveller who sometimes needs to use room service to save time between meetings, the room service could have been so much better. Breakfast was perfectly fine - a nice dim sum tray and a salmon bagel were very tasty. Dinner was a mixture of good and very disappointing. A starter of onion soup was lovely but the rest of the meal was stone cold upon removal from the heated compartment of the room service trolley. The hotel's handling of the feedback about this on check-out was professional and appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiceyMorris1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at the mandarin oriental on our honeymoon, it was fabulous. We were whisked off the street by the friendliest doorman you've ever met, checked in promptly (even though we were early) and shown to our room where there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us!

We had a harbour room and it was stunning, especially at night. The staff were beyond helpful, recommending restaurants and following up with reservations immediately.

We enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the clipper lounge, the omelettes were to die for and the spread was varied and delicious. We also treated ourselves to dinner at Pierre which was impressive to say the least.

Upon checking out the concierge and front desk continued to assist us, changing money, providing maps and directions and printing our boarding passes, we could not recommend the Mandarin Oriental enough, it is a special place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hungry_little_Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My three night stay for business was exceptional. From the airport pickup to the in-room check-in, I felt warmly served without fuss or pretense. You have service down to an art and the quality of the room, the amenities, and the food and service in the restaurants all were at a very high standard. I particularly enjoyed a meal at The Chinnery on my own one evening after a long day in Macau. The atmosphere was intimate and my choice of a Prawn curry outstanding. I sat at the bar counter with a newspaper and could not have had a more relaxed and enjoyable dinner.

Room Tip: Choose a harbor facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seanmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Everything you need, before you even know it... Very spacious room and bathroom. All the amenities you can wish for. Attention to detail is an understatement...
You'll never have to wait for a cab or will have to ask for anything twice.
This hotel has a story, a soul and most important, normal dimensions! You don't feel overwhelmed by gadgets or bling-bling/kitsch decoration. It's just pure tradition, taste and class. Most beautiful flower arrangements ever.
The spa is expensive but I got a perfect manicure at 8 am sharp: an amazing woman named Rita, delicious nespresso and view on the harbour. What can a woman ask for more to start the day!
Adds the "pleasure" to the business trips!
And very important, if you need to be in Central: location, location, location.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Laetitia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,618 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,154 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing