We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the line”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Top of the line”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The Mandarin remains the best so far. I have stayed in many hotels before, but this one differentiates itself from every other hotel by their service. The service is so attentive that I almost felt like the only guest in the hotel.

Rooms- Updated rooms and newly renovated bathroom. I recommend the harbour view rooms, they mark up is worth the price.

Location - You are in central HK. Prime location

Service - Best in the world.

Food - Excellent food all around

Amenities - Well maintained gym and excellent barber shop. I have not tried the spa nor the pool but I heard that they are a treat.

Cons- The only con I would have against the hotel is that there is no proper lounge in the hotel that serves coffee and tea. I had a guest come over and there was not a place for a us to sit and talk. There is a cafe, but it is closer to the mall and always fully booked. 5 star hotels usually have their own lounges for proper sofa's etc.

Room Tip: Harbour view room. Make sure you stay on any of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mowaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,357
    351
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
388
775
231
1,147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel has great service and comfortable rooms with plenty of space. The location is good and the food options very good. Great location for business and shopping, though we took a short ride to Times Square to shop.

Room Tip: there are rooms with a view of the harbour. ask for them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I visited this 5 star hotel in May 2014 and it is a quality establishment as befits this grade of hotel and exudes that grand feeling as soon as you walk through the door.Reception staff are very friendly but businesslike at the same time.The quality of the furniture and furnishings is very high and you get the feeling that you will be pampered here.The menu is extensive and the restaurant is well designed and comfortable.It is well worth a visit if you happen to be in the business district.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I always enjoy staying at the Mandarin Oriental when I am in Hong Kong. The rooms are great, the staff is very attentive, the location is fabulous, and the breakfast buffet is lavish. I just hope they don't build something large across the street that will block the view of the harbour.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had the pleasure of visiting this spectacular hotel at the beginning of May. Well worth a stay. The view from room was good and room itself the best I have stayed in.
I had a few days there and enjoyed the beautiful tea, dining experience and lunch in a few of their restaunts.
Had a famous shave and swim on top floor too.
The only thing I can critise on is the Wifi. Its not free which I think is a bit much concidering the cost of a room there. However this does not influence the overall enjoyment we had there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pj m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The most consistent in service, cleanliness and professionalism. From years past till today it has kept its standards, everything there is to say about this hotel is excellence. Despite competition both in Hong Kong side or Kowloon it leads the way in service, professionalism, attention to detail.

When I booked online I requested Concierge to assist in my restaurant reservations, within minutes they had a response in detail.

Checking in is very personalized, a person escorts you to your room to make sure your needs are met. You will always come across a staff very professionally groomed and ready to assist. Other hotels do this in this league but here it is not stiff, it is warm and natural.

The room is the cleanest and comfortable. Irish linens, oriental and modern interior blended very well. Bathroom is maintained excellent, the toiletries are Hermes. Water is always at hand, shoe service, everything they do is a notch up.

The location is great, connecting to Prince, Landmark and IFC by arcades. Great for a rainy or hot day.

Restaurants are the best in HK especially the Man Wah. I will describe that experience in a separate review that it deserves.

The least feature is not being met at the Hong Kong station when you take the Airport Express. Four Seasons has a van to meet you and bring you around the corner. Here at Mandarin you're on your own and if taking a cab is adversarial rather than a car then this is the least feature.

Room Tip: There is a choice of a separate enclosed water closet set apart from the sink and tub. This is an i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I had to spend a weekend in HK conducting interviews but the experience was marred by me feeling under the weather. So, spending the time having a flu on business is never a welcoming experience. So, I was particularly thankful for having the royal treatment in The Mandarin Oriental. I am usually bias towards its sister hotel, The Landmark Mandarin, but due to an art convention, most of the rooms were full. Settling for what I thought was second best, I was prepared for less impeccable service. Boy, was I wrong! Although this is a busier hotel, there was nothing for one to find fault with! The staff was extremely professional, room service was very prompt (I had to eat in because I wasn't well) and the food - was very tasty in spite of my bland tongue.

I had to take most of my meals inside the hotel as I conducted my interviews - from the Grill and Pierre's to Cafe Causette and The Clipper Lounge - nothing short of amazing by way of service and food quality. And really the staff was caring without intruding, and I was surprised many remembered my preference although I was there for only 4 nights!

In all, this is a world-class gem of a hotel - and bears true testimony to the quality that is truly befitting of its name. If you want to feel royal, I will highly recommend you coming for a stay!

Room Tip: Corner suites are very spacious ... with a fantastic bathroom, massive wardrobe space, and a great l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LenaYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 717 in Hong Kong
5,815 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,954 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 717 in Hong Kong
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Mandarin Oriental, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing