We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“An absolute pleasure”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights with my elderly mother, in separate rooms. The rooms were on the same floor close to each other on a high level as requested in our booking. Both rooms were very well appointed although had very different configurations. One was more suited to a business traveller with a large desk whilst the other was more suited to a holiday traveller with a smaller desk and a small couch. As many other reviewers have noted the service is marvellous and the staff are very well trained, professional and very pleasant to deal with. A couple of inquiries required further investigation by the staff and they always got back to us as promised with the information requested. Great location close to metro station, the wonderful Star Ferry and many malls and shops. Very wide choice of restaurants in the hotel with the room service kitchen willing to accommodate food preferences, if possible. All in all a great hotel which rises to my top HK pick due to the marvellous staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMinervaDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,291
    348
    57
    20
    10
See reviews for
370
755
228
1,124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel sets a high bar for service and ambience. Rooms are spacious and well appointed with sweeping views. Staff anticipates your every need. When we asked for ice the first evening, a staff member appeared bearing ice at the same time thereafter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel would get a perfect 10 if it was not for the noisey air conditioning.We stayed in the Oriental Suite and the service included meet and greet at the airport with baggage collection and seeing us to our car (costs extra but worth it!). Also breakfast was included at both the buffet or the a la carte restaurants.
As I have said everything was perfect except for the noisey bloody air conditioning.

Room Tip: A harbour view room is a must. Better still try the Oriental Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have stayed dozens of times at this beautiful hotel and the service is absolutely impeccable. We stayed for the first time with our baby last month and were bowled over by the extra service we received and the care the hotel took to look after us and our son.

All the restaurants are stunning, particularly the Grill and the breakfast buffet. The spa is fabulous, and the hair salon is faultless as well.

We will always come back to the Mandarin - why would we stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in a suite. Nothing was too much trouble. From our arrival at the airport (the meet and greet service is wonderful after a long flight) to the minute we left, we were cosseted and made to feel very welcome. We enjoyed a treatment at the spa and had wonderful meals in the restaurants. We will be back!!

Room Tip: We asked the hotel directly for a room with a harbour view and they were happy to accommodate our wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This place is AMAZING! If you are thinking about going to HK, stay here, you won't regret it. The place is central, the hotel is beautiful and the service is outstanding. Make sure to try out the spa and the Mandarin Bar restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenzi001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
157 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights en route for New Zealand for a holiday in 2013 and were recommended this hotel. It is fantastic in every sense, a great central location, try and book a room at the front as high as you can to get the views of the city.Its very convenient for all the main sights and the interior of the hotel and rooms are just high end 5 star, one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in ! we shall not forget the black satin robes supplied in the rooms, so lovely we bought two from the hotel shop to bring home just to remind us of a wonderful stay!!The breakfast was very good as you would expect and although we didnt have dinner at the hotel, we did spend some time in the wonderful M bar on the 25th floor,astonishing views!! There was also a great cake shop which always seemed very popular.
Be careful not to confuse this hotel with the Landmark Oriental (owned by the same chain) as even the taxi drivers twice dropped us there before we realised it was the wrong one!!

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smith025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,628 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,154 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing