We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous luxurious hotel right in the heart of the financial district”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous luxurious hotel right in the heart of the financial district”
Reviewed 18 October 2008

One of the nicest hotels we have stayed in. Service was excellent right from the time the doorman allowed us out of the limo. This hotel has a really good "Captains Bar" off the lobby in the hotel My husband particularly enjoyed his pint of Guinness in the silver tankard - there was a real buzz in the place with many local business men dropping in for a drink. Lots of very upper class Englishmen seem to favour this bar ! We got an upgrade to the 19th floor which overlooked the city and had views of the harbour - absolutely stunning and well worth the extra money. The bathroom was particularly nice and the bed was extremely comfy with nice bed linen. The hotel also boasts a wonderful spa with swimming pool - excellent. We dined in the Chinese restaurant on the top floor and had a cocktail or two in their very stylish "M" bar before dinner. You can access all the designer shops from the skywalk and need never have to go outside ! Great location right in the heart of everything. This hotel has been refurbished recently and is really worth a visit.

  • Liked — Beautiful room with fabulous bathroom and great view
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ferdi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,296
    349
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
372
757
228
1,125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

My husband, who is hard to please, thought this was possibly the best hotel he had ever stayed in.

The lobby is pretty typical posh hotel of the low, dark and shiny variety. And the suite (with great views) was perhaps what one would expect - though if it didn't immediately overwhelm, neither did it disappoint.

But from there, things just got better. The service was absolutely immaculate - and the quality was not only superb, but consistent.

Loved the black silk 'loungey' dressing gowns as well as the usual bathroom towelling ones. The design of everything - from the red slippers to the shoe horn was fantastic.

Everything worked perfectly and had clearly been thought through - computer set ups with every kind of (neatly labelled and bagged) lead provided, super comfy beds and linen with huge choice of pillows ... as many Hermes bathroom bits as you could possibly use, topped up every time we left the room,... decent range of satellite channels on huge flat screen tvs... shoe shine service that left even 'comfy shoes' gleaming only minutes after they were left out.

We looked at and decided against the obviously popular with the locals brunch area - but the cafe and adjoining chocolate/cake/savouries shop were fantastic. Porridge was brilliant as were tarts and quiches. The Cantonese restaurant on the top floor was high quality with a great wine list. And the Shangai pedicure speciality is not to be missed.

The concierge desk were brilliant - and the location is really central (and straight into the malls when it rains).

Had it been hotter we may have missed an outdoor swimming pool. But we were genuinely sad to move on after our 4 day stay. (Though we did purchase the silk dressing gowns!)

Many thanks for a hotel that consistently exceeded service expectation.

  • Liked — thought that had gone into every aspect to create superlative comfort/service/efficiency
  • Disliked — no outdoor pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AECGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We had booked to stay for one week at the Mandarin as a special holiday, a treat for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. Having booked with Virgin Holidays we had tried to double check every detail, we arrived at HK airport and found no transfer vehicle, as allocated in Virgin's documents, available and no answer from Virgin's office or emergency contact numbers. Having emptied all my pay-as-you-go phone credit attempting to sort the situation out, we noticed that the Mandarin have a desk at the airport and they kindly arranged our transport free of charge. When we arrived at the Hotel to finally check in, we found Virgin had also not booked our 7 night stay! The Hotel responded wonderfully, booking us into a room and then taking copies of all documentation so they could contact Virgin direct. The next day we were advised that the situation had been resolved, we were upgraded to a Harbour View room, the hotel staff moved all our belongings ensuring everything went in exactly the right location. The room was amazing, every detail was catered for: incredibly flexible lighting and multi-media options, an amazing bathroom, room cleaned twice daily plus turn-back service, fresh fruit, newspaper (discreetly delivered into a special compartment to avoid disturbing us), comprehensive stationery and toiletries, even a box of leads to allow us to connect any appliance to the Denon amplifier and TV connections. The service we received was perfect, attentiive but not intimidating or ingratiating, no cues for tips, and a genuine warmth although I am certain we were far from the wealthiest or most influential guests present! Having had a far from auspicous start to our much longed for holiday the Mandarin did everything possible to make our stay enjoyable. Buffet Breakfast was wonderful, room service meals were good value and delivered and cleared away with efficiency, the room was serviced and cleaned to an exemplory standard. Our view across the lights of the harbour was breathtaking. We will never forget this exhilarating and vibrant city and culture, and we will certainly never forget the standard of service and comfort that the Mandarin provided.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank FozzyCannock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

WE went to the Mandarin as the first stop of our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a Harbour view room which was fantastic.

I have stayed in many 5 star hotels but this was just that extra special. All of the tiny details had been thought about, to the point of having 2 different robes in several sizes, not just a bog standard one size terry cloth robe.

Staff everywhere across the hotel were friendly polite and very welcoming and concierge were great.

Would recommend it to anyone, anyday!

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chapperette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

Stayed for a few nights in a Harbour View Premier Room and it was definitely one of the best room I ever stayed in.

Room was immaculately clean, spacious and the view from the room was excellent. Each side of the bed has a remote to control the mood lighting systems.

The bathroom was amazing and the bath tub was huge. There is even a TV in bathroom! The hotel provides Hermes toiletries which was excellent. The hotel is also generous with the bottled water and have it placed everywhere.

I also like the fact that the room has a separate cabinet for them to insert the mails, newspapers and toiletries without disturbing you.

I am also pretty impressed by the stationary provided in the room. The hotel considers every detail to ensure that you have an excellent stay.

In the evening time, the chamber maid will also prepare the room by laying out the beautiful slippers and play nice music in the room. Additional CDs are also provided in the room if you prefer other musics.

If you hope to try out local food, just turn left after exiting the main lobby and walk straight. There is a famous Wan Tun noodle shop 10-15 mins away.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ysouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

True to its Oriental tradition, Mandarin Oriental's service had been consistently exceptional. Not only did they ensure that my stay was pleasant, they took note of every detail making my Oriental experience a memorable one.

My preferred tunes had been programed to greet me every time I entered my room. Their staff made sure that the fruit basket contained all the tropical fruits I loved.

Restaurants at the penthouse provided an enchanting ambience for quiet dinners.

Spa services relaxed every single inch of stress from Hong Kong's hustle and bustle.

Best of all, they returned a personal item that I had left in my room during my previous stay in this property.

  • Liked — The Oriental Tradition
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank thephantomtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
166 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

The Mandarin Oriental hotel (this is the original one and it recently in the last year completed a renovation - this is not the newer Landmark Center location two blocks away) was flawless. From the moment the uniformed agent met me outside customs and whisked me away to the hotel in a large, new Black Mercedes sedan to check in to the remainder of my stay, it was perfect in every way. Even though checking in at 3am (delayed flights due to weather in China), the hotel staff was ready for me. The room was a harbor view room complete with binoculars to look across the harbor from Central. Hermes toiletries abound. The bath area was incredible, complete with soaking tub and a FULL range of toiletries for all needs (nails, teeth, shaving and much more). Beds were very comfortable. VERY ample supply of free bottled water. State of the art flat screen TVs. Very large in room safe. Terry cloth and silk roabs as choice. Slippers that actually fit large feet like mine. The health club on the 24th floor was amazing too. Very large. Nice facilities overall. Breakfast was included in my rate at their buffet on the mezzanine level was first rate. Car service back to the airport was also flawless, except for a small wait for my pick up due to heavy traffic near the hotel. Once at the airport, a uniformed valet took me all through the process right up to security. Very nice. I cant wait to go back!

  • Liked — Service and location; amenities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCworldtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,638 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,159 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing