We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holt, just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
South East England
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful holt, just perfect”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here on a short business trip arriving very late and leaving early but the staff couldn't have even more helpful to a weary traveller. The rooms are beautifully appointed, with separate office and lounge area and a bathroom to die for. Breakfast in the cafe was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orchardsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,328
    350
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
377
771
230
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It was my first time to stay in this hotel for my favorite hotel was full, and I stayed for three nights.
The professional staffs are all well-educated and civilized,they are so polite that you may enjoy your every minute there.
the check in was swift and I was offered an upgrading suite,then my delightly staying in Mandarin started.the room is spacious and there is everything you may need,and the remedy balm collection impressed me so much,so nice,you may enjoy and be moved by those small attentions to you so much.as long as you pick up the telephone you may find your name displayed on the telephone screen and the operator is always polite and kind.the bathroom is large and well arranged.
the swimming pool is small but nice and I like the spa room and the fitness centre so much, guys there are friendly and fruits were free.woderful breafast.
location of the hotel is great, it is really a good choice if you want to have a great shopping.
However if you came back late at night, it was better for you go back to your room directly,there is only one restroom sharing with the bar in the hall,you maybe followed by the staff in the hall and asked to leave if you wanted to use the restroom there even you were client of the hotel, take care,or all of your wonderful experience would be ruined there.
And at the same time it was my first hotel the internet surfing was charged separately,but if you did a reservation on the website of Mandarin, the internet was free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin_zhangys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Staying at the renowned Mandarin Oriental for business trip was really an excellent choice. Business center was always available when we need a small conference room. Room service for late night supper or early breakfast was always efficient and food was great. I loved returning to my room with the turned down service and the small pampering gift on bed after a long days meeting. The view from my room was great, location was always walking distance to our major meetings and that was very convenient. Looking forward to our next business trip and hopefully enjoy the very thoughtful services again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugsivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had the most pleasant stay at the Mandarin Oriental. The staff is extremely helpful. The rooms are spacious and have everything you need. The bed is great. The room cleaners are beyond amazing. Everything was wonderful! I was really sad to leave the hotel! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesFromMakati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Just came back from another Business trip in Asia. I have had the opportunity to stay at the Mandarin Oriental and once again i have been delighted by the experience. It is not only a great hotel but it is also a place driven by small attentions to clients. I love the eye rest mask or the sleeping perfume waiting on the bed each night for example. I have tried many hotels in HK and Tokyo and Mandarin Oriental is definitely my benchmark. Very impressed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bfjLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I haven't stayed at the Mandarin for ten years and I am beyond impressed. Coffee machines, shopping bags, plugs everywhere, lights on a remote control: all the things that make hotels impersonal and/or complex have been dealt with. From the lovely welcome at check in through the porters and the cleaners, the staff are universally friendly. The rooms are opulent and well designed and the facilities are incredible. Perfection.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Such a pity for such a super hotel, for which one pays real Top $, that there is a "Penny Pinching Policy" in operation.

I stayed in the Mandarin for 5 days in May .......everything you'd expect from a World Class 5* hotel with a great reputation.

However the whole experience was spoilt by the fact that one has to pay for the internet - would you believe it .......in a 5 star + hotel ! The charge was not high, but that's not the point,.The fact that as a well paying guest, you have to pay to use their Internet. I call this "Penny Pinching" which for such an hotel, utterly incomprehensible.

The General Manager gave me a "hog-wash" of a reply when I wrote about my feelings. ( hi tech Internet speeds etc. . .....can have up to 6 electronic devises connected at the same time, etc. etc.)....... completely besides the point !

The best for their global reputation ( Corporate Head Office please note) is to offer Internet included in their room rates ( as do their biggest competitors in Hong Kong ) as part of the normal service of a first class hotel.

Shame on them !! I hope they think again and reverse their PPP !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ANother2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,740 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,192 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Agoda, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing