We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captains Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Captains Bar”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Fantastic place for a late afternoon/early evening frosty cold beer served in chilled silver tankards .. a real taste of colonial Hong Kong served up in a friendly manner with a quiet buzz of guests relaxing after work.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Adrian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,327
    349
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
377
770
230
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have done a lot of traveling, and this was by far the best hotel experience I've ever had. The service was unbelievable. The rooms were beautiful, the food was amazing, and concierge was extremely helpful, building us an itinerary so that we could see as much as possible in our 36 hours in Hong Kong. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerme_615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stayed here with my wife after a hectic few days at the Hong Kong 7's. it was a fabulous place to relax with exquisite dinning. We entertained our friends at the Man Wah Cantonese restaurant - superb service and food.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiddyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Nothing much to say really. Great location. Great service. Easy and no stress. It is what you would expect from a traditional hotel. They do the basics very very well. As always I hate finding light switches. Seems there is some sort of conspiracy going on. Every hotel seem obliged to do their light system differently. This hotel is no better or worse than any other in this regard.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silhouette2549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

It is the second time I visit the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong with my daughter that is now almost 6y old.
As last time the experience has been just first class...from the arrival at the airport where a buggy was waiting for us as soon as we have left the plain....to the lovely welcome giflts.....to the amazing and truly amazing breakfast buffet, fitness center, swimming pool, etc......
Rooms are spacious and my daughter had a bed just by the window with a curtain to separate the area from our portion of the room. A fantastic solution to provide some privacy to mum and dad and allow the little one to nap when needed. It felt like if we had two rooms!
She also had her bathroom slippers...the cutest things ever.
Business center had immediately provided me with a HK SIM cards for my phone and set it up so that w.up and email were immediately online at a fantastic rate.....we also spet time doing school homeworks there totally pampered by the staff.
The bakery shop is heaven and you must try the rose petal jam.....my daughter just loved it with the hot scones.
Location is excellent, in 2 minutes you are in central station and off to the train for Disneyland....and to avoid any stress just buy the tickets at the concierge desk! They also gave my daughter a little disney present with them!
Concierge service is excellent, they have booked for us all the dinner reservations, pre-ordered the peaking duck and always ensured that the restaurant knew we were dining with a child.
You want change of coins for a bus, just ask again the concierge.....or simply follow their suggestion and get an octopus card!
We have stayed at the Four season a while ago and apart from some crayons at breakfast we have truly not seen much attention to satisfy kids and family needs.
So if you are traveling with family to Hong Kong.....no need to think about it: Mandarin Oriental Central.
Camilla

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Mandarin Oriental HongKong is the first hotel of the group, which is very well maintained and managed, I received a very warm welcome from almost everybody since I got off the taxi and stepped into the hotel, and as I wished, the front desk staff have my check in ready in minute.

Will come back again for the next biz trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinchuan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, when I couldn't get booked in at the Island Shangrila, not as good as the shangrila but still lovely. The staff were very friendly & the rooms immaculate & clean. This is my 2nd favourite hotel in HK.

Room Tip: Great Stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee123359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,737 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,192 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing