We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the most classy and convenient hotel in Hong Kong.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Minato-ku, Tokyo
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Still the most classy and convenient hotel in Hong Kong.”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Still a Great Hotel and a great flagship hotel for the firm. All the services were first class and the dining facilities meet most tastes. For business the location is almost perfect (you can do 1 hour business meetings on a budget of 1.5 hours and still be on time to the next meeting in Central. Also a great tourist hotel with easy access to the ferry terminal and harbor tours.

I was very fortunate on this stay (out of more than 20 prior stays) to be given a harbor view room. On my other stays (as a corporate "discount" client) I was give a non-view room and I must say that I missed out on a lot as a result. The harbor view is wonderful and gives you a sense for the "old Hong Kong" as the Mandarin is one of the few commercial buildings left from the 1960s in Central. If you have the chance, try to get a harbor view room on an upper floor. Soon the view will be blocked by high rise buildings to be constructed on reclaimed land between the hotel and the Star Ferry terminal. So, enjoy it while you can.

I also agree with the "classy" comment. Expect to feel underdressed as many of the elite clients are in the .001%.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbor view room. You will not regret it, especially if you stay a few days. The harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abacae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,296
    349
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
372
757
228
1,125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

From the moment I stepped into the hotel, I was made to feel welcome - from the doorman to the reception staff - there was immediate friendliness and desire to ensure that my stay would be faultless - and it was. I was upgraded to a harbour view room (the binoculars in the room were a nice touch) which was very spacious, beautifully appointed and had an excellent work area. Breakfast in the Clipper Lounge had a fantastic array of choices - both European / American and Chinese. Even after check-out, when I came back from a meeting to collect my luggage before going to the airport, I was given a room to change and freshen up in. This is a hotel to better any I have stayed in due in large part to the great staff.

Room Tip: A harbour view room (giving a view of Kowloon) adds to the wow factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Can not fault this hotel. Everything was of a very high standard as you expect of this brand. Received upgrade to Oriental Suite, great views, ice ready in room on arrival, good food, and lovely bar at top of hotel with great views. We stayed for 3 days, and wish it was longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greybat007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

They don't miss much at this hotel. The redone rooms are very nice and there are many restaurants to choose from. The only negative is the food at breakfast. It is good but mostly cold and not as good as it should be. Also, it is subtle but the Mandarin gets a classy clientele...mind you, if you use the word classy...you have no class and don't know what it is!

Room Tip: Figure a way to get Barbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JSHongKong, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Jim B,

Thank you very much for sharing your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong and regret to hear that you are disappointed by our breakfast.

Please accept our sincere apologies and may we invite you to email us at mohkg-guestcomments@mohg.com that we may contact you directly. May we ask if you had breakfast in Clipper Lounge or Cafe Causette?

We assure you that your constructive feedback will be taken seriously and corrective action taken as appropriate. We also hope to provide you with a satisfactory response upon full investigation.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Aqua Chiu
Social Media & E-Commerce Manager
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We just finished a four night stay here and it was perfect. From the airport meet & greet, check in at the room,service in the restaurants and concierge, it is just flawless. We travel extensively around the world and this is one of the best hotels anywhere. Do not hesitate to book the Mandarin, it is fantastic !!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Std63nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I have been staying at the Mandarin-Oriental off and on for nearly a decade, and never get tired of it. There are many superb hotels in Hong Kong, but non of them compare to the understated extraordinary service a guest receives at the Mandarin-Oriental. I note understated because I have had the sense at other top hotels in Hong Kong that the staff are trying too hard to please. At the Mandarin-Oriental, superb service appears to come naturally. An example of this service was a member of staff seeing me clean my glasses with a tissue. When I returned to my room later in the day, I found a microfiber cloth awaiting me. Add to this level of service, the best location in Hong Kong, iconic restaurants and bars, exquisite fitness facilities and spa, and rooms and common areas that define comfort. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: There is no need for all the rooms are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We just adore it here - between us this was our 30th stay! Incomparable service and attention to detail, down to baby proofing our room with corner protectors and electrical plug covers. We will continue to come back over and over again to our home away from home.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,635 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,160 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing