We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Ranked #75 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just back from a work trip to Hong Kong and stayed in a standard room at the Excelsior during my time there. The highlight was definitely the location, smack in Causeway Bay and surrounded by shopping and food options. Service was surprisingly good too and staff were attentive and spoke good English.

The room was on the small side and the furnishing was rather dated with a noisy aircon and piping. That said, it was very clean, had everything I needed and I slept well during my stay.

Recommended if you want an affordable stay at a good location and don't mind an older style hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bweebschan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_ManagerHKG, Public Relations Manager at The Excelsior, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Bweebschan,

Thank you very much for staying with us and glad to know that you have enjoyed our attentive service. We regret to learn that there was some air-conditioning and piping noise that might have disturbed you. Please feel free to contact us prior to your next stay so that we can make prior arrangement accordingly.

Kind regards,
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,071 - 1,077 of 2,681 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed in a superior room with a harbour view. It was a large room with a king sized bed. The bed linen was of a good quality. There was comfortable seating in the room too. The staff were very friendly. The only gripe was the air conditioning wouldn't go below 20°C which is high for Northern Europeans.
Every area of the hotel was very clean and there were plenty of staff on hand to see to every whim of the guests. It is a very central location.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view so you can watch the endless activity on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brackens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is located in Causeway Bay.. next to great shopping.. excellent access to the MTR and short ride away from the airport express... But the rooms are old, views erratic and the place is crowded with tourist groups. Not for a true blue business traveller.

Food was excellent. But they could have catered the requirements of Indian food better as its a Mandarin Oriental group hotel and they could have made arrangements from outside even if they didnt have an India chef. This is Hongkong..

Room Tip: Overlooking the bay or the peak
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OshoKamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_ManagerHKG, Public Relations Manager at The Excelsior, Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear OshoKamat,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We are delighted to share with you that we have carpet refurbishment in some of our guest rooms and we do have an Indian chef in our hotel. Dickens Bar, located in the lower ground floor, offers curry buffet lunch on weekdays and have been very popular for the last 20 years. If you have any other dietary preference, please feel free to contact us prior to your arrival next time and we are happy to cater your needs.

Kind regards,
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stayed at Excelsior for almost 5 days in last week and the experience was very good. The thing that stands out about the Hotel is the location. It is centrally located just next to the MTR station and is a paradise for shoppers as you have a multitude of malls next to it. WTC, SOGO, Times Square are all close by - walking distance. There is an IKEA store next door incase any one is interested in that kind of shopping. The other good thing about the place is that it has enough eating joints around and in wide variety. In the five days, I could locate an Indian, vietnamese, Chinese, Japanese, Mexican, Thai, American dining place and the list can go on . It is endless. Finding a reasonable pub around to have a drink can be a challenge especially if you are looking at a cost effective option, but even that is just 10 min away by walk.

The food at the hotel is very good. For those who are sea food lovers, it offers a wide variety of the same. For the vegetarians and the chickenetarians like me, its is great place as it offers Indian as well as good continental food. Breakfast is very good on the first floor. And the Dickens bar too is great place to be. The roof top bar is an nice quiet place with breathtaking view.

Rooms are excellent. Well lit. Well furnished. Room service was apt and timely.

All in all a great experience.

Room Tip: Take the Harbour facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelpgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

If you are coming to Hong Kong to shop and want to stay on the island, this is the place to be. It is about 5 steps from the World Trade Centre, 2 minutes from SOGO and the MTR, so it is very easy to get around. The staff at reception were incredibly friendly and helpful, concierge were helpful albeit slightly rude, but that's to be expected in HK. I would stay again based on the location

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lacouronne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The service is good, starting with the guy at the front desk. He gave me a surprise upgrade to a harbour view room (although the view is nothing great, but the floor area of the room is larger). My room rate came with buffet breakfast. Upon hearing that I will not be able to eat the buffet breakfast on my last morning as I have to leave the hotel by 6am to catch my early morning flight, he changed the buffet breakfast to room service for me which I could order before and eat in the room or takeaway.
The room was pleasant and had two single beds and a sofa with lots of space on the desk for me to put my laptop to work. They even had a souvenir tin in the shape of the hotel of gummy candies for me to take away. Complimentary drinking water was plentiful (OMG 6 bottles!!)
The buffet breakfast was good and had a wide spread. The room service breakfast was also good although the eggs benedict was a tad salty.
This is my second time staying at this hotel for business and I will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank neminskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Excelsior, Hong Kong is a very decent property. Starting with it's location, It is located in Causeway Bay. You simply come out of your hotel and you are facing World-Trade centre, a mini-mall which is adjacent to this property. You walk hardly 50 - 100 meters and you find yourself in the midst of one of the best street markets and a lots of food joints. The MTR - Mass Transit Railway (Metro of Hong Kong) is just behind the Hotel. Broadway - One of the electronic outlet chain is just behind the Hotel. Fortress - another electronic retail store is also within 200 - 300 meters of Hotel. Take the Exit -1 of Causeway Bay MTR and you will find yourself standing in Matheson Street (A happening place in evening) in front of Times Square, one of the fanciest and elite Mega-Mall of Hong Kong.

Now getting back to the hotel, The rooms are a bit smaller than compared to other countries but then Hong Kong has a limit of expansion, that's why these guys expand vertically, hence it's the city with maximum no. of sky-scrapers. The rooms are comfortable and contains all the essentials plus an iHome dock to complement your iPods and it is an Alarm clock too, an exclusive amenity which I didn't find anywhere else, may be in my forthcoming journeys, I might find it common. The room doesn't offers free Wi-Fi, a set-back, though a minor one. The internet is available for charges in the form of ethernet connection. The closets are ample with electronic safe. The furnitures offer a lot of drawers. Restroom contains all the usual stuff. The lavatory only offers dry usage as there is no Health-Faucet installed, so Indians and other hygiene conscious citizens of their respective country please take note of that.
The breakfast is continental, LAVISH and tasty too. Fruits are organic and fresh. Local cuisines are a temptation, just don't miss them.
Front desk & Concierge are courteous, polite and helping, up to the extent of catering chargeable articles free of cost ( in my particular case, medicines and AA-size batteries for my kids toys).
Overall, I am satisfied and may repeat my stay.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms above 20th floor. The view will be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raj Vardhan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#23 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#95 of 729 in Hong Kong
630 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Address: 281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#34 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#68 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £131 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 869
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Excelsior, Hong Kong offers an unbeatable location for guests wishing to enjoy the city. Nestled in the heart of Causeway Bay’s vibrant shopping area, and overlooking Victoria Harbour, the hotel is only a five-minute drive from the city’s central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The Executive Floors have access to a comfortable private lounge with complimentary benefits. There is also a business centre, and extensive meeting and banquet facilities. The well-equipped wellness area comprises a Fitness Centre, sauna and steam rooms, and a selection of massage and beauty treatments. With six restaurants and bars including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, a contemporary rooftop restaurant and bar with an outdoor terrace, and an all-day dining café, the hotel provides the perfect blend of convenience and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing