We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Ranked #71 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The best location in town, less than 100 meters from Times Square and shopping district. Did not try the breakfast due to the numerous options around. Direct free connectivity to the airport. Only bay view rooms will have a view others overlook buildings.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Devang75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,531)
There are newer reviews for The Excelsior, Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 2,533 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Nothing beats this hotel when it comes to location. Bang in the middle of causeway bay. walking distance from atleast 10 malls, including the well know times square mall. 2 mins walk to the causeway bay metro station, which connects to tsim sha tui in 10 mins. Food is good. Service over all is good . Always take a part harbour view or full harbour view room.Book 15th floor or above. Concierge is very good.Very prompt in-room service and house keeping.

Now coming to the sore points, i had to wait for nearly 2 and half hours to get my room on checkin, which is surely not expected from a 5 star hotel. Really a big let down.if you going to stay in this hotel, please check that you get room in time.
Also I was travelling with my small daughter and we wanted a double room which was not available again.
Also unfortunately my daughter fell sick and was running temperature, as my flight was late in the night, i requested the front desk to extend my check out time from 12 to 2pm , even that was not entertained on humanitarian grounds.

If location matters to you , stay here....

Room Tip: Take rooms at 15th floor and above. Part bay view rooms or full bay view rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mformalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We were given a corner unit which is rather big with 1 king-sized bed and 1 single bed for my son. There was plenty of space to put our luggage and additional shopping! It is in the middle of great shopping area so it's bad for the wallet but fun for the soul. The room are clean and service is very good. I like the gym as it is clean too with a staff manning it. No funky smell despite having a good number of people in the gym on two alternative days when I visited it. However, it is not as near the cheap eats that I like as that's nearer Kowloon side. I do love the experience and who like it to be my first choice of stay next time if possible.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Daffy_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Speedy check in, lobby was a bit too busy and noisy with lots of traffic almost all the time. Elevator to room was speedy. Just make sure you take the right ones as elevators were preprogrammed to go to certain floors only. Free water bottles in the room which was a plus as I was so tired and dehydrated after a very long flight. Also a souvenir container of gummy bears...another plus as I was a little hungry too. Bed was very comfortable, so were the pillows. I slept really well. Bathroom was very clean with plushy towels. Flow of shower was excellent. Power point was brilliantly located slightly above table so I could set my electronics and charge them without worrying my cords were not long enough or had to set them on the floor. No odor in room which was a relieve. On the lobby floor was an excellent coffee shop. The pastry there could make anyone fat in a very good way. Hotel was centrally located with walking distance to eating places about 15 minutes walk away. Quite a few banks in the area but I prefer to change money with Money Changer as rates were better and there was no transaction fees. Bank charged HKD$40 for each transaction! Train station was not too far away either. Small eating shops by the bridge HAD GOOD FOOD and very, very affordable. Although trying to get to them during the weekend was a complete nightmare. The maids were off on Saturdays so they packed the entire area under the bridge. They were a nuisance sitting on the ground, standing in groups, some holding signs of some kind... Took me about 40 minutes by cab from the airport at 7 am. No traffic. There was a mailbox to the right of the hotel round the corner and it was green. Love this hotel. Very convenient. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If you heard of The Excelsior good reviews. They're totally true. The hotel has a great rate, and a strategic place for shoppers. Food here also excellent. Concierge is very helpful with directions and bookings. A great place to stay in HK and everything you need seems like in a walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ini_Usep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This is my 3rd time at the Excelsior, Hong Kong. Clearly I like it. There are good and not so good points about the place, but on balance I would always choose to stay there.
First, as a holiday hotel for myself and my family, it is not cheap. There are certainly other hotels that offer adequate accommodation at a lower cost. But the staff at the Excelsior have never failed to provide superb service. You are always made to feel like a welcomed guest. There seems to be nothing they won't do to make your stay excellent. You know you will be comfortable there.
There are some tired aspects to the building; the foyer looks very similar to the way it did in the Revenge of the Pink Panther (filmed there in the 1970s) and the restaurant on the floor above, where we ate breakfast every morning needs a new ceiling pretty desperately (this doesn't detract from a superb buffet breakfast that offers European, American, Chinese, Japanese, Indian - and I suspect many others - cuisine). Contrast those structural deficiencies to slick superfast elevators, well appointed restaurants like the Top Of The Tower and their other Italian, British and Chinese restaurants. The rooms we had were pretty good - well maintained and well serviced daily by house keeping. I like the little touches like the philosophical bookmarks laid out on our books left in the room.
At first I was disappointed that the room air-con didn't seem to go cool enough (we were there in July when it is very hot and humid). However, I came to realise that it was ideal for sleeping in and wasn't overly chilling like you get in many American hotels and buildings. A more comfortable differential between in and out.
The location in Causeway bay is superb. In years gone by the view from the front was probably better, as there is construction of some sort going on in the bay directly in front of the hotel. Nothing the Excelsior can do about that. However, the hotel is a minute walk from a wide variety of shops and most importantly the superb Hong Kong metro system. Absolutely ideal.
To conclude; if I go back to HK again, I'll stay at the Excelsior.

Room Tip: Don't waste money on a room with a view of the bay unless you are loaded and can afford one of t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very convenient to both shopping, being at the heart of the Causeway Bay shopping area and office district with Admiralty and Central just a few MTR stops away. Excellent buffet breakfast with a variety of Chinese, Western, American food and good coffee. Lots of waiters on standby as well. Wonderful view of the marina. Try the unique dimsum restaurant as well as.
Their restaurants give a 20 % discount if you're a guest of the hotel. Excellent staff, in particular Grace from the reception and Emily from the Executive floor. Both gave us a very personalized service! Will definitely go back there with the family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chic813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#21 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,424 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#120 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 721 in Hong Kong
2,741 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#92 of 721 in Hong Kong
305 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Address: 281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#65 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £151 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 869
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom is equipped with a free smartphone with unlimited Internet access, complimentary local and international calls to five countries. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing