We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Ranked #75 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Basic, at best”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I recently stayed here on a business trip, and the best thing I can say about this hotel is that it is basic at best. It is a typical three star hotel, but nothing beyond that. Wi-fi is charged daily (aren't we past this? Isn't internet free?) and the check-in process was very frustrating. I had to wait five hours from my arrival until a room was ready. When I finally got to my room, I really wasn't impressed: This was a very typical room, in a typical hotel. There wasn't anything worth paying an extra dime for at all.

The walls were *paper* thin at night. I could hear someone peeing in the next room - not exactly pleasant.

The restaurants in the hotel were good, and the service in them was excellent. Besides that, there was nothing of note. The concierge staff did not speak English very well, and did not seem to understand my questions. The cleaning staff did not speak English at all, so even trying to say "No, we do not need cleaning" could not be understood. If I had my choice, I would stay at a different hotel in Hong Kong going forward for work, as there are so many great options available.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PR_ManagerHKG, Public Relations Manager at The Excelsior, Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Hannah V,

We are sorry to learn about your disappointment. We would like to share with you that if you book a published rate on our hotel website and create a profile, you will be able to enjoy complimentary high speed internet during your stay with us.


Your feedback is important and we very much hope you would consider coming back. I am confident you can enjoy the excellent standards of services with which we are generally associated. If this is the case please do no hesitate to contact me personally so I can make the necessary arrangement.



Kind regards,
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    1,131
    367
    59
    27
See reviews for
432
490
165
978
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I arrived into HK very late for this stay, and was happy to be on the 29th floor - what a fabulous view of HK at night.

This hotel was lovely, a large king bed and lounge suite, a small but workable desk and a decent size bathroom.

The food at the hotel was nice, although I was only there for some room service and breakfast it was of a high standard.

Some little nice touches in the room such as a tin money box of the hotel filled with lollies (great to take home to the kids) and nice toiletaries.

The location was good, had some time for a walk, so quick market shopping and generally got the HK vibe!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The best location in town, less than 100 meters from Times Square and shopping district. Did not try the breakfast due to the numerous options around. Direct free connectivity to the airport. Only bay view rooms will have a view others overlook buildings.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Devang75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Nothing beats this hotel when it comes to location. Bang in the middle of causeway bay. walking distance from atleast 10 malls, including the well know times square mall. 2 mins walk to the causeway bay metro station, which connects to tsim sha tui in 10 mins. Food is good. Service over all is good . Always take a part harbour view or full harbour view room.Book 15th floor or above. Concierge is very good.Very prompt in-room service and house keeping.

Now coming to the sore points, i had to wait for nearly 2 and half hours to get my room on checkin, which is surely not expected from a 5 star hotel. Really a big let down.if you going to stay in this hotel, please check that you get room in time.
Also I was travelling with my small daughter and we wanted a double room which was not available again.
Also unfortunately my daughter fell sick and was running temperature, as my flight was late in the night, i requested the front desk to extend my check out time from 12 to 2pm , even that was not entertained on humanitarian grounds.

If location matters to you , stay here....

Room Tip: Take rooms at 15th floor and above. Part bay view rooms or full bay view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mformalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We were given a corner unit which is rather big with 1 king-sized bed and 1 single bed for my son. There was plenty of space to put our luggage and additional shopping! It is in the middle of great shopping area so it's bad for the wallet but fun for the soul. The room are clean and service is very good. I like the gym as it is clean too with a staff manning it. No funky smell despite having a good number of people in the gym on two alternative days when I visited it. However, it is not as near the cheap eats that I like as that's nearer Kowloon side. I do love the experience and who like it to be my first choice of stay next time if possible.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Daffy_ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Speedy check in, lobby was a bit too busy and noisy with lots of traffic almost all the time. Elevator to room was speedy. Just make sure you take the right ones as elevators were preprogrammed to go to certain floors only. Free water bottles in the room which was a plus as I was so tired and dehydrated after a very long flight. Also a souvenir container of gummy bears...another plus as I was a little hungry too. Bed was very comfortable, so were the pillows. I slept really well. Bathroom was very clean with plushy towels. Flow of shower was excellent. Power point was brilliantly located slightly above table so I could set my electronics and charge them without worrying my cords were not long enough or had to set them on the floor. No odor in room which was a relieve. On the lobby floor was an excellent coffee shop. The pastry there could make anyone fat in a very good way. Hotel was centrally located with walking distance to eating places about 15 minutes walk away. Quite a few banks in the area but I prefer to change money with Money Changer as rates were better and there was no transaction fees. Bank charged HKD$40 for each transaction! Train station was not too far away either. Small eating shops by the bridge HAD GOOD FOOD and very, very affordable. Although trying to get to them during the weekend was a complete nightmare. The maids were off on Saturdays so they packed the entire area under the bridge. They were a nuisance sitting on the ground, standing in groups, some holding signs of some kind... Took me about 40 minutes by cab from the airport at 7 am. No traffic. There was a mailbox to the right of the hotel round the corner and it was green. Love this hotel. Very convenient. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

If you heard of The Excelsior good reviews. They're totally true. The hotel has a great rate, and a strategic place for shoppers. Food here also excellent. Concierge is very helpful with directions and bookings. A great place to stay in HK and everything you need seems like in a walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ini_Usep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#120 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,247 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#21 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,393 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#69 of 718 in Hong Kong
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Property: The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Address: No.281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#69 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom is equipped with a free smartphone with unlimited Internet access, complimentary local and international calls to five countries. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Mandarin Oriental, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing