We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #8 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Simply the best in Hong Kong”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Only if you cannot afford, simply the best hotel in Hong Kong . No other hotel can compare. Wifi , shower, bed , pillow , air condition , tv, service , from roof to floor , nothing but the best. Easy to get around , close to MTR. All the best restaurant inside the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tommyyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    187
    46
    17
    14
See reviews for
332
614
87
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

If your travels have you heading to Hong Kong for a stay why not stay at one of the best hotels in Hong Kong? I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and this is one hotel that I look forward to staying at. First of all they have THE best service....no questions about it. The doormen are dressed in white to welcome you to the lobby and the service doesn't stop!! Be sure to get a room that looks over the harbor and you will just be mesmerized by the view. Regarding the rooms...all I can say is a great night's sleep and NO WORRIES. You can safely walk from the hotel to any type of entertainment or food that can be found anywhere in Hong Kong. It is the best hotel that I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct for beat rate and room location....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozmann54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were back after two years and had the pleasure of staying in their recently renovated rooms. There is something about the Peninsula Hong Kong that makes it very special, from the moment the impeccable white-dressed doorman welcomes you in the lobby. Service is really the best we have ever experienced (even by normally high Asian standards). The new rooms are fabulous with a very modern decor (and amazing technology) keeping an elegant hint of Asia. And swimming on the 8th floor overlooking HK island is priceless... Still our favourite urban hotel in the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headacheinasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Hotel has everything except affordable restaurants. We were in 22nd floor harbour view and could not have been better. Great view, large room, every amenity to include 3 iPads for controlling all lights, tv, and curtains. Delighted with our stay. Nightly light show was great. Used great fitness room everyday. Pool was excellent. Great location for seeing Hong Kong. All the Rolls and fountain and pi k lighting for breast cancer awareness just makes it special. Plus free international calls with direct VoIP Wifi best of any hotel we have stayed. Amazing

Room Tip: High harbor view are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkelovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Whether you choose to stay at The Peninsula or not, it should be one of the places in Hong Kong to visit.

Despite being the oldest hotel in HK, this is its 85th year, you'd be forgiven for mistaking it for being the newest!

They have renovated all the rooms, with all mod cons imaginable. My standard sized room had no less than three cordless phones, which through VOIP, meant all calls including international, were FREE! Word of warnng though, remember to activate the VOIP system, otherwise you will be charged!

Aside from the cordless phones, there were also three tablets, which controlled the curtains, drapes, Air Con, the 3D TV, Blu-ray player, as well as enabling me to order room service as well!

As if that's not enough, there's also an HDTV in the bathroom!

The room is also equipped with a coffee maker, nail dryer, power charger, etc.

On a day that I wanted privacy, in order to contact me to do housekeeping, a note was discreetly put nder my door. OK nothing special.

But I was also sent a message via the tablet - fair enough.

What was most surprising was a fax was sent to me! Yes I had an all in one fax, printer, photocopier and scanner in my room!

What more can they provide? They even had 3D glasses and cordless headphones!

If you're into gadgets, definately check out (in!) The Peninsula!

Room Tip: The most basic room does not have a good view, ie either overlooks Nathan Road, Middle Road or Kowlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HKTrav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Rolls Royce from airport, what's not to like?

Check-staff were like automatons: if you went off their pre-program they could not understand English . Lobby area is a massive restaurant with no soft furnishings or areas to relax. This hotel is a destination for Hong Kong residents, so they obviously discourage casual visitors but, in so doing, they have turned it into a mausoleum.

There is no joy in this hotel, from the staff or from the patrons, smiles are in short supply . It is simply a massive money-generating machine, and the prices throughout reflect this. The staff are clearly not empowered, to the point they seem fearful.

The room was outstanding; possibly the most technologically functional room we have seen. iPad devices control lights, climate, curtains, audio/tv,access all hotel facilities, messaging, weather info etc! The room has concealed espresso machine, fax, nail drier, drop down mirrors, portable phones with VoIP . Huge bed and double basin bathroom with bath and separate shower. A/c was one of the most effective ever. 8 or 9 restaurants of various genres, plus a cocktail bar. Apart from the spa/pool,
there is nowhere to relax in the hotel during the day except your room.

It is a functional business hotel with an iconic status. Standards are high but I would not suggest staying here more than 2 nights: it is hardly a home from home!

Truly a hotel of contrasts that will suit some people but not others. Glad we went but won't be returning.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peninsula_phk, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Hong Kong, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Nic,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

We were pleased to read that our newly renovated rooms and in-room technology met your expectations.

However, we were very concerned to learn of your comments and unpleasant experience regarding our services and would like to apologise for falling short of your expectations.

We very much regret that your visit was tarnished and would like to thank you once again for sharing your disappointment with us as it is only through such valuable comments that we are indeed able to improve our standards.

We do hope that despite the issues during your last visit, you will give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in The Peninsula Hong Kong.

Best regards,
Xavier Pougnard
Resident Manager
Phone: +852 2696 6565
Email: xavierpougnard@peninsula.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake Village, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I love The Peninsula Hong Kong! Aside from the fact that it's rooms are some of the most luxurious that I have ever stayed in and the service is top notch, I love having tea at the hotel. Even on business trips when I have been staying at other hotels, I have always made it a point to have tea at The Peninsula. There's no better place in Hong Kong that I have discovered. I also love the location of the hotel. I usually stay on the Hong Kong-side for business, so when traveling for leisure, I enjoy staying in Kowloon. The proximity to IFC, the various markets and some of the best restaurants in the city makes staying at The Peninsula an easy choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,952 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 717 in Hong Kong
5,814 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Property: The Peninsula Hong Kong
Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing