We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed with the service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #8 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed with the service.”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Beautiful hotel..I went to the peninsula for afternoon tea. It was extremely busy and we had not booked the lounge. Staff then suggested the verandah which was busy too. They refused to say what the wait may be. They then suggested we try the felix on the 28th floor which is apparently accessed by a different elevator. We had a 2 year old in a buggy and my 67 year old mother and we spent 20 minutes going back and forth to find the elevator we needed.
The felix has mind blowing views but again the service was very poor. Apparently, they can't do cheese sandwiches for vegetarians! Had to ask thrice for a refill of my cup of tea...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Psachdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peninsula_phk, Director of Food and Beverage at The Peninsula Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Psachdev,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us via Tripadvisor. I very much regret to learn that your afternoon tea experience at The Peninsula fell short of your expectations.

We strive to continuously improve the quality of our customer service and will certainly review your valuable comments with our team. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you highlighted in your review.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future when I would be happy to personally ensure that we meet and exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Kevin Tsang
Director of Food and Beverage
Email: kevintsang@peninsula.com
Tel: +852 2696 6690
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,279
    187
    46
    17
    14
See reviews for
333
614
87
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Choosing a big established 5 star city hotel can seem like a safe choice, but so often they're trading on past glories. Too long since the last refurb, dated with the food offering, robotically institutionalised staff, the whiff of naffness seeping from every pore.

Not so at the Peninsula. I'd read about the Peninsula and its fleet of Rolls Royces since I was a kid. I didn't have any recent personal recommendations so I checked out Tripadvisor and it was still highly rated so I took the chance.

I loved that everything worked seamlessly. We were met at the door of the plane by a hotel representative and a buggy, not sure if that's standard. At first I felt this was unecessary (we are not invalids) but by the time we had driven what seemed like a mile through Hong Kong airport I really appreciated it. We were accompanied through customs and baggage reclaim and handed over to another representative who took us to our waiting green Rolls Royce.

Our arrival 30 minutes later at the hotel was followed by further handovers until we were comfortably in our room on the 27th floor overlooking the harbour. The extra cost for a harbour view is so worth it. The room very cleverly uses its approx 550 sq ft to give a separate dressing area, sleeping, sitting and writing areas, a small dining table and luxurious marble bathroom. The room looked newly fitted and appointed with the extreme precision of a luxury yacht. Modern lacquered wood furniture and fabric wall coverings all very high spec. Everything was controlled by electronic pads scattered around, even above the bath. They all worked and were straightforward to use.

Tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi and even free telephone calls if you press the Internet calls button on the phone. We didn't get to try any of the restaurants except for breakfast on the first floor which was exceptionally well laid on with a wide range of choices. Most city hotels in this league have an indoor pool but they're generally quite gloomy. Here they've given a double height space on the 7/8th floor with open glass the whole length of one side onto terraces overlooking the harbour. Clean classical design with white marble columns make this a very pleasant space to spend time in. The hotel is also well placed for dining at several good restaurants in One Peking Tower, shopping on Canton Road, and taking the Star Ferry across to Hong Kong Island. Extremely courteous staff ensured a very happy 3 nights here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MichaelVanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It has been updated recently and the rooms were extremely nice and large. We had a room overlooking the harbor and the view was beautiful. Service was good. The amenities were very good. International tv, wifi, good food. Free long distance, to anywhere, was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Only if you cannot afford, simply the best hotel in Hong Kong . No other hotel can compare. Wifi , shower, bed , pillow , air condition , tv, service , from roof to floor , nothing but the best. Easy to get around , close to MTR. All the best restaurant inside the hotel.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tommyyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

If your travels have you heading to Hong Kong for a stay why not stay at one of the best hotels in Hong Kong? I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and this is one hotel that I look forward to staying at. First of all they have THE best service....no questions about it. The doormen are dressed in white to welcome you to the lobby and the service doesn't stop!! Be sure to get a room that looks over the harbor and you will just be mesmerized by the view. Regarding the rooms...all I can say is a great night's sleep and NO WORRIES. You can safely walk from the hotel to any type of entertainment or food that can be found anywhere in Hong Kong. It is the best hotel that I have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Call the hotel direct for beat rate and room location....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozmann54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were back after two years and had the pleasure of staying in their recently renovated rooms. There is something about the Peninsula Hong Kong that makes it very special, from the moment the impeccable white-dressed doorman welcomes you in the lobby. Service is really the best we have ever experienced (even by normally high Asian standards). The new rooms are fabulous with a very modern decor (and amazing technology) keeping an elegant hint of Asia. And swimming on the 8th floor overlooking HK island is priceless... Still our favourite urban hotel in the world.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank headacheinasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Hotel has everything except affordable restaurants. We were in 22nd floor harbour view and could not have been better. Great view, large room, every amenity to include 3 iPads for controlling all lights, tv, and curtains. Delighted with our stay. Nightly light show was great. Used great fitness room everyday. Pool was excellent. Great location for seeing Hong Kong. All the Rolls and fountain and pi k lighting for breast cancer awareness just makes it special. Plus free international calls with direct VoIP Wifi best of any hotel we have stayed. Amazing

Room Tip: High harbor view are terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarkelovetotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,959 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,823 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Property: The Peninsula Hong Kong
Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing