We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed with the renovation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #9 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Impressed with the renovation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

This was my 2nd stay at the Peninsula Hong Kong. My first stay there was about 7 or 8 years ago. The hotel itself has undergone a major renovation. Although, outside it has preserved the same elegant image, inside every room has changed entirely. Everything in the room is computerized. Hotel uses ipad to control lighting, sound system, TV, curtain and all sort of entertainment. There are 3 ipads in our room, they are within your reach. I have to say it's very convenient. Room layout is very well comparted. There is a door between the closet (which serves as an entrance) and the bedroom making us feel a sense of privacy. Bathroom uses space efficiently. Though it is small, we didn't feel cramped when we were using it at the same time. Bed is soft and comfortable. Window protect us from hearing the noise from the road outside. Though we were staying on low floor, we didn't hear a single honking from outside traffic (which I think was very unusual in Hong Kong). Location is very convenient, close to major shopping arcades and brandname shops. For breakfast, we decided not to eat at the buffet. We had it at the pool. View of the bay was great. There were only two of us. Staff were attentive however food were slow. Front desk was very helpful. We got a upgrade offer at check-in to a better room category on a smoking floor. Staff took us to the room to see if we would want it. We decided not to take the offer because somehow the gadgets in that room didn't function and the room (practically entire floor) was filled with cigarette smell. We were happy with the room we reserved.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank OrawanK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    159
    37
    14
    13
See reviews for
308
536
76
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

I think what makes this hotel the best there is in Hong Kong, and one of the best in the world is it's staff and service. Whatever you want, the minute you want it.
So refined, excellent top notch restaurants, very good location. My hubby and I LOVED IT!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pilivds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We had high expectations as do most when staying at what it reputedly the best hotel in the world. Overall we had a good 2 night stay but it was not to as high a standard as it could have been.

+ve

*we got the Rolls Royce pickup from the airport. It costs around £120 and is a must - you will struggle to get a better airport transfer and it feels very special. The car floats along and even has wifi. If you go for it, you get ushered from the moment you get off the plane, through security and you feel like royalty.
*the location of the hotel is excellent for shopping and has a great vantage point for seeing the light show that's on at 8pm every night.
*Our room was recently refurbed (except the bathroom). The tech in the room was crazy - there's a tablet on each side of the bed to control everything from lights to curtains to aircon. You can book restaurants and much more through this too.

-ve

*We didn't feel like we were treated differently from passers by. For example, the Peninsula is a bit of a tourist destination and therefore is very busy but they treat you the same as someone not staying in the hotel. We struggled to book the restaurants we wanted.
*Breakfast in the lobby is over-crowded and impersonal. Everyone wants to experience it so it's busy and feels like the waiters are just going through the motions with tea cups not being put down on saucers correctly or cutlery feeling like it's being thrown at you. It's the detail that counts for a place with this reputation and it was completely lacking. Top tip though and once I mention this, it may spoil it. The pool bar has nobody in it and you can each breakfast there. The second day we ate there and it's on the 8th floor overlooking HK island. The food is identical to the lobby. Very peaceful and pretty amazing actually. They warn that the food may take longer as it comes from the main kitchen but it doesn't.
*we found the concierge pretty awful. I mentioned we couldn't get into the restaurants but it was also the spa. Not their fault but their line is '[alternative] would be better, yes'. It's frustrating to hear that time and time again as it clearly would not be better or I would have asked for it first time round. It's a language thing but should be addressed.
*we were looking for stuff to do and directed to the big bhudda - well worth doing but I have no idea why the concierge didn't tell us we could book online and queue jump. Instead we wasted nearly 2 hours queuing, which is crazy.

We'd stay here again but just think it can be better. It has a huge reputation but for us even some of the basics were lacking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JJMatrixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peninsula_phk, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Hong Kong, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear JJMatrixx

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula Hong Kong during your visit to Hong Kong in October 2013.

We were very pleased to read that your overall stay with us was enjoyable, and that our Rolls-Royce and in-room technology met your expectations. We were also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at the Pool.

However, were concerned to read of your comment regarding our Lobby being over-crowded and impersonal as well as for the shortcomings of our Concierge services. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the unpleasant experience and inconvenience caused to you.

I do regret that your visit was tarnished and I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us as it helps us identify areas of improvements in our service delivery.

Thank you once again staying at The Peninsula, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong.

With best wishes for a happy and prosperous Year of the Horse.


Xavier Pougnard
Resident Manager
Phone: +852 2696 6565
Email: xavierpougnard@peninsula.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Have to agree with all the comments I have read, exquisite hotel with amazing service and rooms but unfortunately it is 1:30am and I am still awake due to the thumping noise reverberating through the hotel coming from the attached Felix bar. Kind of takes away from the luxury experience.
Other than that, no complaints.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Wilcoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peninsula_phk, Resident Manager at The Peninsula Hong Kong, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Mr Wilcoh

Thank you very much for staying at The Peninsula during your recent visit to Hong Kong.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our services and facilities met your expectations.

However, we were saddened to learn of the noise disturbance from Felix. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the unpleasant experience and inconvenience caused to you. Rest assured that we will look into possible remedial actions.
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong.

With best wishes for a happy and prosperous Year of the Horse,

Xavier Pougnard
Resident Manager
Email : xavierpougnard@peninsula.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Where do I start - the pick up was top class in the green Phantom Royce Royce. We were offered chilled Evian from the car's mini fridge, and had a great chat to our driver, who did a quick intro to the HK shopping and dining out precincts as we passed them. Check in was a bit tedious as we had to wait in line - you would think that a 5 star hotel will have their own personalised check in at the room rather than standing in line for 20 mins. We only had a deluxe room, so it was quite small but sufficient, as we also had our toddler's bed at the foot of our bed. The refurbished room was modern yet still exuded old world charm, so it was done tastefully and beautifully. Our daughter even received the Peninsula bear together with their famous truffles as a gift, and everything, from her bedsheets to bathrobe to even her slippers bore the Peninsula bear motif, which was really cute.

Our room package included the famous Peninsula Champagne High Tea - and we were really lucky that we were guests of the hotel, as we made a booking for the high tea when we checked in. Apparently anyone else other than guests of the hotel have to line up - and boy the queues could be more than an hour's wait, so we were told by the concierge. The high tea was not to be faulted, service was exceptional, and mostly, my fussy eater daughter enjoyed sharing the high tea platter with us, which was great to see!

The gorgeous heated pool was another plus for us - even though it was indoor, it opened out to a big terrace so you can essentially see outdoors at the Kowloon harbour, and you can even sit out at the terrace having your lunch or a snack.

The buffet breakfast was absolutely top notch - done with so much class and such service, that i could sit there all day! There was nearly a waiter per 2 tables, so you never need to look around, once you start looking up from your meal, and turn your head, a waiter would literally be by your side, but done so discreetly that it wasn't a bother at all!

Lastly, for those who were not told by their check in staff, when you go shopping in the hotel's Peninsula boutique downstairs, make sure you let them know you are a guest of the hotel, and bring your voucher to entitle you to a 20% off your shopping! We were only told by the staff at the boutique, we weren't given the voucher, so we quickly went back up to concierge to request for ours - give us a great saving on some quality souvenirs!

I would definitely recommend the Peninsula for a special occasion as it is without doubt one of the top hotels in the world!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DeDeChooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

You should stay at this hotel....it was an awesome experience. When we reached there we were treated like royalty with their services such as the 'Welcome Drink' and the 'Complimentary American Breakfast', they also had a great SPA Their rooms were amazing...It is considered as one of the Grand Luxury Hotels out here and their check out time can be as late as upto 04pm which was a plus point for our connecting flight back home

Room Tip: Well it all depends if you like the ocean view or just the sunny side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VIPER836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Obviously I'm not the first one to recognise The Peninsula Hong Kong as one of the top hotels worldwide. It's consistently rated by the leading travel magazines as THE PLACE to stay and I can only confirm that. What makes this hotel truly stand out is its impeccable service. Yes, sure, the rooms are great but the same can be said about many other hotels. But The Peninsula is second to none when it comes to attention to detail by its staff. It also boasts one of the best locations in Hong Kong, amazing restaurants, stunning views of Victoria Harbour and the best afternoon tea you'll ever experience (although it's getting a bit crowded). Nevertheless, their hot chocolate is worth the wait.

Room Tip: Go for the Harbour View Rooms. Definitely worth the extra spend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelTastic4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,704 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,360 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 713 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Property: The Peninsula Hong Kong
Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Travelbag, Ebookers and Destinology so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing