We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have lost the plot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Grand Old Lady has been renovated to the highest level but she has lost her charm as a great place to stay. She is more Disneyland than Luxury Hotel now.

Our delivery by Rolls Royce from the airport should have felt special. On arrival we were let out of the car and pointed to the entrance. From that moment on it went all wrong. Standing in the middle of a huge lobby/lounge area we had no idea where to go. We found check in, after passing a desk that turned out to be the Concierge but had no notice to that effect.

Our room was superb in every way. Beautifully renovated and state-of-the-art controls via electronic tablets. The bathroom was equally excellent. However we were woken up two nights in a row with lights coming on and strange things happening. Eventually they determined it was a problem with the tablet so high tech can cause problems as well as bring joy!

The hotel is famous for its afternoon tea, which is held in the beautiful and grand lobby. People start lining up at just after 1 p.m. - tea starts at 2 p.m. In order to get to the elevator to our room we had to file past lines of people, the line went towards the outside door on a Saturday. This gives the hotel a "theme" atmosphere and many people now come in as tourists to gawk at the decor.

On arrival we tried to get a massage in the Spa for the next few days. Nothing was available at a decent hour. Needless to say, we checked out on the Sunday and moved to the wonderful Mandarin Oriental Hotel on Hong Kong island. We managed to get a massage at the Spa in no time. A much better experience and a true five star. The Peninsula is a four star in a five star's clothing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 1,664 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Staying at The Peninsula in Hong Kong was a special treat to myself and a wonderful experience I will never forget. Each person from the Hotel goes out of their way to quietly make sure you have The Best Stay. Pay the Extra for the Experience - it is not just a room.
I Recommend a pool swim with breathtaking views and a visit to the amazing Spa. I also had a wonderful dinner at their restaurant, Felix, specifically ordered The Felix Experience Menu - spectacular!
You only live once.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dsuitguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have stayed 4 nights during middle of January, it was excellent experience. Service is top from all aspects and everything was just great. The rooms are well occupied, very high tech but you still feel very comfort, beds are very comfortable and it is great to be back to the hotel after long day in HK area. Try the SPA and get the view from the spa and also from the bar at the top floor.

Room Tip: Get the new rooms in the old building, very well occupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KNIGHT_WEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We had stayed in HK at the start of a 4 week trip and on on our way back were recommended to stay at the Peninsula even if it was for one night. We had their Rolls Royce pick us up. Great experience. The room is lovely. Opulent but modern at the same time. Staff are very helpful. Breakfast and afternoon tea excellent. No longer one of the best positions due to all the building work but very convenient. On our travels it was the best hotel, the best bed and the best breakfast. Mind you I couldn't stay there too long as it is a bit too formal for me.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My husband and I spent 3 nights here at the end of our honeymoon before returning to Chicago. If you aren't happy at the Peninsula, you won't be happy anywhere. It's 5 star all the way.

The location is perfect for jumping on the ferry to Hong Kong island and nothing seemed too far away if you're willing to take the MTR.

The concierge helped us arrange a couple of dinners and made making reservations seamless and the help they offered us with directions and so forth was very helpful as well.

This place is luxury at it's best.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChicagoMichelle2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I love The Peninsula.. Luxury at its finest. The service was impeccable, the food outstanding, the location perfect and Fexix...not to miss! Do yourself a favor and stay at this fantastic property, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gbusiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I loved my stay here... the rooms have been beautifully refurbished and are very modern and contemporary in style. Would reccomend the grand luxury rooms so that you have amazing views of Hong Kong Island. The service and food was top notch. There is a lovely spa, gym and swimming pool - great place to relax after a busy day sightseeing. It is in a great location - walking distance from Star Ferry terminal, main shopping streets. I personally think it is best to stay on Kowloon side so that you have the iconic HKG island views.

Cannot wait to return one day.

Room Tip: Grand Luxury - so you are high enough to have the amazing harbour views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louise353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,145 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 727 in Hong Kong
6,124 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: £434 - £711 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing