We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious treat.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #9 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A luxurious treat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We ended our Hong Kong stay by treating us to a couple of nights in a Peninsula Hotel suite with harbour view. The newly refurbished rooms are a high-tech wonder with digital flat panels controlling all room service and audiovisual functions. A complimentary espresso machine, wine cooler, and nail dryer are among the less common accessories to be found.The ambiance of the foyer with live classical music wafting down from the balconey is a hallmark of the Peninsula.
The breakfast buffet is excellent. One does however have to pay a high price for such luxury.

Room Tip: The harbour view suite on the 4th floor was flawless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,189
    164
    40
    15
    14
See reviews for
315
560
81
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Peninsula has been one of the great Hong Kong hotels since it opened in 1928. Famous for it's high standards and fleet of dark green Rolls Royces we wondered whether it still deserved it's reputation. It has undergone a major refurbishment since we last visited (but did not stay) at the hotel and it combines traditional style in the public spaces with up to the minute modern rooms with lights, curtains, temperature, TV all controlled from an iPad-like tablet. Messages are faxed to the room and there is free wifi and international telephone calls. Breakfast were sumptuous. Swimming pool and Spa were also top notch. The queue of people not staying at the hotel for afternoon tea is mildly irritating but not enough to detract from a great and memorable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwm531gbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the deluxe suite harbour view suite which has the right combination of everything that you need for a home away from home....

The attention to details in all part of the suite deserve a high applause.
The Peninsula seems to have a goal to fulfil every little things that a guest might need by preparing all the details you can ever think of during your stay one step ahead of you. Everything that you need is all there before you even look for it or before you think you need it: the pen located next to laundry bag, the nail dryer machine for your last minute nail polish, the welcome chinese tea and the tea set to give you a taste of HongKong's tradition, the complimentary mini cooper with a chauffeur for suite's guests to take you around the city.

Privacy is another thing that this hotel seems wants to offer to their guests by providing a valet box in each room which minimise disturbance from the door bell to the availability of portable note books for ordering or sourcing information during your stay: tv channel, in-room dining to a simple extra towels etc.

I also adore the complimentary amenities from Oscar de la renta, if I am not mistaken, The Peninsula's chain is the only one in the world that collaborate with Oscar de la renta for their amenities, which I can say is a good move as it enhances the image and increase the level of guest's satisfaction knowing that excellent products are provided during the stay.

I went to inspect the standard room as well during my stay, and yes as expected all rooms have all the same products and services as the suite and the only difference is the room size which is obviously will be smaller than a suite.

Location wise is a big plus too. The shopping arcade of big brands are within the building from LV, Goyard, Hermes, Chanel, etc which is so convenient. For cheaper options, you can just literarily take a step out of the hotel's side entrances and you'll find jordan street and nathan stree that full of shops, supermarket, local eateries, mtr station of east tsim sha tsui. For tourist's attraction, across the hotel is the avenue of the stars and if you want to take the ferry to macau, the terminal is just 5 minutes walk.

Another plus point is the level of professionalism and friendliness of the staff at The Peninsula which is the result of long service duration of each staff that creates such a high sense of belonging thus gives their very best in assisting guests ( many of the staff that assisted us while our stay have been part of the Peninsula for years... We were even told one staff has been working there for the past 57 years... ( Talking about loyalty and love your work)

If you are willing to spend and you are not on a budget, this is a perfect place to stay in HK for a tourist ( first comers or regular travellers), for business travellers as the location is so accessible and for honeymooners as the building is classic, elegant and modern at the same time.
Don't forget to book their RollsRoyce limo service if you have the extra money to spend... It is another wow experience from The Peninsula.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y3KA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

For my stay in Hong Kong I chose The Peninsula because I was there another couple of times and, moreover I was coming from The Peninsula in Tokyo and I was interested to compare the two hotels..
The first surprise: the unexpected pick up at the airport with a luxurious trip from the airport to the Hotel with a spectacular green rolls-royce ( not the one in the James Bond film "Gldfinger" but its nephew ...)
Hong Kong is still spectacular and the Hotel is a superb "old LAdy" in this futuristic city.
Service is spectacular and the rooms are so wide and clean.
Judgement: Strongly suggested

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
191 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The Grand Old Lady has been renovated to the highest level but she has lost her charm as a great place to stay. She is more Disneyland than Luxury Hotel now.

Our delivery by Rolls Royce from the airport should have felt special. On arrival we were let out of the car and pointed to the entrance. From that moment on it went all wrong. Standing in the middle of a huge lobby/lounge area we had no idea where to go. We found check in, after passing a desk that turned out to be the Concierge but had no notice to that effect.

Our room was superb in every way. Beautifully renovated and state-of-the-art controls via electronic tablets. The bathroom was equally excellent. However we were woken up two nights in a row with lights coming on and strange things happening. Eventually they determined it was a problem with the tablet so high tech can cause problems as well as bring joy!

The hotel is famous for its afternoon tea, which is held in the beautiful and grand lobby. People start lining up at just after 1 p.m. - tea starts at 2 p.m. In order to get to the elevator to our room we had to file past lines of people, the line went towards the outside door on a Saturday. This gives the hotel a "theme" atmosphere and many people now come in as tourists to gawk at the decor.

On arrival we tried to get a massage in the Spa for the next few days. Nothing was available at a decent hour. Needless to say, we checked out on the Sunday and moved to the wonderful Mandarin Oriental Hotel on Hong Kong island. We managed to get a massage at the Spa in no time. A much better experience and a true five star. The Peninsula is a four star in a five star's clothing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank casden8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Staying at The Peninsula in Hong Kong was a special treat to myself and a wonderful experience I will never forget. Each person from the Hotel goes out of their way to quietly make sure you have The Best Stay. Pay the Extra for the Experience - it is not just a room.
I Recommend a pool swim with breathtaking views and a visit to the amazing Spa. I also had a wonderful dinner at their restaurant, Felix, specifically ordered The Felix Experience Menu - spectacular!
You only live once.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dsuitguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We have stayed 4 nights during middle of January, it was excellent experience. Service is top from all aspects and everything was just great. The rooms are well occupied, very high tech but you still feel very comfort, beds are very comfortable and it is great to be back to the hotel after long day in HK area. Try the SPA and get the view from the spa and also from the bar at the top floor.

Room Tip: Get the new rooms in the old building, very well occupied.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNIGHT_WEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Property: The Peninsula Hong Kong
Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing