We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serious Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #8 of 717 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Serious Luxury”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Peninsula is a historic building on the Kowloon side of HK. It stands for elegance and old money glamour. A seriously seductive place to stay, get married, or for an overpriced high tea. Beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loudecruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,277
    187
    46
    17
    14
See reviews for
332
614
87
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manama
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The hotel is over 85 years old and does a very good job combining the modern with the traditional. Everything here was spotless, high tech, and luxurious; but, we found the service somewhat lacking when it came to face to face communication. All our email communications prior to arrival, including those requesting the Rolls Royce pick up service and short notice lunch reservation at a popular restaurant, were dealt with promptly and with a great attitude. However, when we arrived at the hotel after a long flight, we felt we could have been greeted in a warmer, friendlier manner. The check in process was a bit slow and the staff seemed less than eager to help us along. This was not true of the staff at check out though. On the plus side, the wifi in the Rolls Royce was a nice touch and much appreciated. We were having a nice time in the car until our driver burped and filled the car with a pungent garlicky smell. Although you can probably blame this one on cultural differences, it was still an unpleasant experience for us.

We had breakfast in the Verandah, which we preferred over the lobby restaurant. The breakfast spread was not as extensive as other luxury hotels we've been to, but it served the purpose just fine.

We did ask for the shopping arcade discount vouchers upon check in, and were presented with an expired voucher for the chocolate shop. We didn't bother to go back and ask for another one, even though we purchased some delicious (and expensive!) chocolates. The rest of the shopping arcade was also really nice, offering numerous clothing and jewelry luxury brands.

The pool area in the tower section of the hotel was gorgeous, offering a great view of the harbor. We were here 18 years ago and don't remember the street view of the harbor being obstructed by the building across the street back then. It is now! We could see the harbor clearly though from the pool on the 8th floor. The pool was really nice, the kind of pool you'd want to swim in even if you're not particularly into swimming in hotel pools.

If you'd like to experience the best the city has to offer, then the Peninsula is it. The locals are very proud of the hotel. And, the VIPs prefer to stay here, although they like to be picked up from the airport and transported to the hotel by helicopter. Come here if you can afford it. It's practically a tourist destination and must see when in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzziesPiddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stay in a room in the front. We got a upgrade to a fanatic suite at 82 m2. Free IP telefon and a complementy dinner. The pick up service with one of the hotells fifteen Rolls-Royce Phantoms was like a royal welcome. The best hotel we evner have visit!,

Room Tip: Choose a room with Wien to Hong Kong Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larsen1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I have been to Hong Kong more than 50 times but mainly for business so never stayed at The Peninsula. I had been to Felix for dinner but staying there is a completely different experience.

From check in to check out, it was magnificent. I'm really sorry I never got the name of the lady who checked us in because she was like something from of a film set. Calm, friendly, informative and very professional. The sort of person that made you smile, feel valued and relaxed.

We had Harbour View Rooms and I think it is the best room I have ever had. The technology (for a change) worked flawlessly and I could sit all day and look at the boats in the harbour and the magnificent skyline of the island. The rooms themselves are bright but with deep dark wood and beautifully appointed.

The service throughout was probably the highest standard I have experienced in 30 years of travelling. Given its reputation I was slightly worried that it would not live up to my expectations. I shouldn't have worried. It was magnificent.

We ate at Felix on the Saturday night. Definitely worth doing and you must get a window seat. Great food and wine list.

I do have two small grips though! I know the afternoon tea is an institution in itself but this makes the entrance and the lobby very crowded and somehow disorganised. Once you get past that everything changes. The other is that in Felix, both the bar and restaurant, the windows have blinds. Why? One of the best views in the world don't need blinds! Management - please address this!

That being said I offer my congratulations to the management and team. Keep up the excellent work and I look forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: You must go for a Harbour View Room. Magnificent. I promise it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iainm638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Top of the top. It exceeded all our expactations. Amazing service. Incredible rooms with outstanding views. All the top technology you can dream in a hotel room and even more. We didn't want to leave. Hard to go somewhere else than Pennisulas in Asia

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank senmez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I always love it when I go to Hong Kong, that means staying at the Peninsula and it has never ever disappointed us.

The new rooms are sensational. Using an IPad to control your rooms lighting, temperature etc is just so easy. The VOIP phone allows you to phone home for free, a very handy saving on ones mobile account.

The food and service were as usual superb. We enjoyed a Spa on the morning we were to rejoin the Queen Mary 2 and took a bit longer than planned. Not a problem for the hotel, but then again this hotel never seems to have problems only very satisfied guests.

Until the next time, we can't wait.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Massai7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

If this isn't the best hotel in the world, I'd like to see what is! From the moment you enter it's opulent lobby you can tell this is going to be something oh so special - and it does not disappoint. From the impeccable service to the fine dining, it's a class above all others. And it's the little things that it does so well, as if they should be taken for granted. If you ever travel to Hong Kong, you must experience at least one night here - you will certainly not regret it, and will probably remember it for a long time!

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms have the best view (the clue is in the name).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,954 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 717 in Hong Kong
3,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 717 in Hong Kong
5,815 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Property: The Peninsula Hong Kong
Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing